We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here as a couple, would probably come back with our child. It was clean and updated. Nothing too fancy, but service and price made it almost perfect. Only complaints were that the wifi was spotty inside and it's a little bit of a walk to the beach for some people.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malujerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear malujerry,

We truly thank you for taking the time to review us here. It is always great to receive positive feedback like this. Thank you for letting us know about the wifi, we have checked and updated the system and the wifi connection is steady now. We are glad you had a great time on Aruba and at Boardwalk Hotel and we sure do hope to be able to welcome you back (perhaps with your child) with us soon.

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel manager & owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

A cross between a hostel and your sisters home, where you can relax, toss down a few adult beverages and swap travel deals and tricks. Bright , clean and Honest where
you aren't ignored nor judged for odd requests or tastes

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Terri B,

Thank you for posting a lovely review on TripAdvisor. It is great to read such a positive and unique description about the Boardwalk Hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your vacation on Aruba and that your stay with us added to that. We are always glad to serve to your (odd) requests ☺. We hope to be able to welcome you back with us soon.

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel manager & owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Myself and my mother stayed at the Boardwalk hotel for 3 nights while in Aruba. We were pleasantly surprised by the Boarkwalk's casitas which are situated near the high rise hotels, but are a little more tucked away offering a more peaceful and quiet environment. Palm Beach, situated behind the high ride hotels, is just a 5 minute walk away. Guests of Boardwalk are able to use the chairs and facilities of Moomba Beach Bar and Restaurant for free. Guests of Boardwalk also receive 10% off food at the restaurant. The food at Moomba is a great price and very tasty if you are looking for lunch at the beach.

Each of the Boardwalk's casitas have a fridge, private indoor cooking facilities, and outdoor grills. This is a great feature if you do not want to dine out for every meal. There is a large grocery store, Superfoods, where you can purchase food and drinks located just a short bus ride away. The bus stops near the Boardwalk and costs $2.30USD per trip. All you need to do is tell the bus driver where you are going and he'll let you off nearby.

The staff at Boardwalk are very friendly and helpful. The pool is small, but serves the purpose. The casitas are clean and bright.

We would definitely recommend staying at the Boardwalk Hotel if you are travelling to Aruba and are looking for a more unique experience than the impersonal all-inclusive packages offered by the large hotel chains.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MY0ung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear MY0ung,

Thank you so much for your detailed review of your stay at Boardwalk Hotel and the helpful tips with regards to Moomba beach club and gourmet style supermarket Superfood. At the Boardwalk we try to create the most authentic Caribbean vacation experience, and to offer an intimate, unique and personalized environment to unwind in. It is always great to hear our guests appreciate this. We really value your kind words and are glad that you were able to make good use of all kitchen and grill and promotions at Moomba beach offered by us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sunny greetings,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel manager & owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for 2,5 weeks at the Boardwalk hotel with our three kids of 10, 9 and 3 years old. They simply loved the pool which a fair amount of undeep water, a big enough deeper part to swim and make tricks and the little bubble bath. When we had morning or afternoon tea at the hotel, we sat down at the kiosk, where we studied the lizards and swung in the hammock. The casitas where spacey, tidy and had airco in all rooms. The fully equipped kitchen was completed with a weber BBQ on your veranda. The beds our comfortable and each bathroom has a walk-inn rain shower. Every casita has a huge outside facility with table and chairs and a hammock. there is a garden with beautiful trees where you walk around on boardwalks, hence the name. The staff is the best: very friendly and helpful. Whenever we went to the lobby with a question, or to borrow snorkel gear, cool box, towels etc., we ended up talking with Stephanie and Tom the stagair and the kids fed Lola the cat and played with Lola the dog. On our late arrival Kimberly came especially from home (twice!) and even surprised us with toys to play with for the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamReus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear FamReus,

Thank you for choosing Boardwalk for your family getaway and thank you for sharing your experience with the traveling TripAdvisor community. We appreciate your kind words and detailed description of our amenities immensely. It is a true pleasure to read that Boardwalk delivered upon your expectations and that your kids enjoyed the gardens and swimming pool. We cater to families and couples alike and love to make sure everyone has a good time. Hence, we had to offer beach toys to our smallest guests ☺. Once again, thank you for your review. We really hope to be able to welcome your family and you back with us very soon!

Sunny greetings,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel manager & owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Boardwalk Aruba. We loved the location, the efficiency of the staff and the colorful casita. We stayed in casita 23 which was great- we loved being on the 2nd floor and had a direct view of the (smallish) pool. We love the ocean so we actually never even used the pool. We had a 10 day stay and explored the whole island with a rental car (didnt get a jeep as we wanted bc they were out the day we wanted to rent one. Air conditioning in the casita was lovely. The free use of beach towels, snorkel gear and chairs plus a cooler was really helpful for long days at the beach. This was our vacation so all we did was go to the beach and cook out and try a few restaurants. It was the perfect setting. Stefanie and Thom were always helpful with recommendations and directions. We dont like the all inclusive thing preferring to do things on our own so this was perfect for us- the grill was great and the Super Food near by was large and enabled us to food shop and cook whatever we wanted. Highly recommend Boardwalk. Look forward to being back!

Room Tip: Casita 23 is lovely and the only room with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Monicahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Monicahy,

Thank you very much for highly recommending Boardwalk on TripAdvisor. It is fantastic to read how you enjoyed Aruba’s beautiful beaches and outdoor lifestyle! Also very glad you enjoyed the charcoal grill on your own patioWe hope to be able to welcome you back with us very soon.

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel manager & owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a wonderful time! The Boardwalk is quiet and private, but close to everything. It was so nice having a kitchen, and the pool was just steps away. With a private entrance and our own patio, it quickly felt like a home away from home. Our unit was modern and clean with all the conveniences. The staff was exceptionally pleasant and so helpful in helping us to get the most out of our vacation in Aruba. They offered to make calls to arrange for a jeep, gave us some fabulous restaurant recommendations and even mailed our postcards for us!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithktagg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear smithktagg7,

We are so happy you went with the Boardwalk too! And ever happier to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your family and you feel at home. Glad you enjoyed your restaurant recommendations! We are real foodies and always try to stay on top of the local restaurant scene. Many greetings from Aruba and hopefully until soon again!

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Kimberly & Stephanie Rooijakkers
Hotel managers & owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed here for a girls trip and had an amazing time. The hotel is at the end of the high rise district and close to the beach. Most restaraunts are about a ten minute walk down the beach. The staff here is extremely helpful! On the first day there, Stephanie helped plan everything from restaurants to local bars, snorkeling trips,helping us with a car rental. I would definately recommend renting a car for a day or two. It was super inexpensive and gave us a chance to explore the island. We checked in with Stephanie and we had our rental car in less than 10 minutes. I will definately be back to stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessierebels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Jessierebels,

Thank you so much for your very positive review on here. We are very happy to hear that your girlfriends and you enjoyed your vacation on Aruba and your stay with us. Stephanie is happy that she was able to help you plan your holiday and help you discover the best Aruba has to offer. Although it is not necessary to rent a car (we are walking distance from everything Palm Beach has to offer) it is always so much fun to explore the island’s North shore, Arikok national park, snorkel spots, restaurants. We hope to welcome you girls back with us very soon,

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel manager & owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,187 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,563 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
875 reviews
4.2 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $242 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel offers 14 spacious casitas spread out in the peaceful gardens of a historic coconut plantation. The hotel is located just a 3 minutes walk from popular Palm Beach where you can enjoy our NEW cozy beach area, providing shade and lounge chairs. All 14 casitas are tastefully decorated in fresh Caribbean colors and feature a large living room, fully equipped kitchen, modern bathroom, separate bedroom(s), private patio equipped with your own hammock and BBQ grill, TV, full air conditioning and free WIFI. Daily breakfast service is available. Other perks and privileges include daily housekeeping services, complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, cool box and snorkel gear. The owners of the hotel, fun twin sisters, offer concierge services and excellent recommendations, providing you with the local scoop. The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel with palm-fringed gardens and cozy swimming pool offers the ultimate setting for a relaxing and romantic vacation in Aruba. Couples of all ages as well as young families will truly enjoy this hidden gem in Palm Beach, Aruba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing