We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,508)
Filter reviews
1,508 results
Traveler rating
1,290
189
17
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,290
189
17
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom casitatreasure boxsmall hotelcharcoal grillprivate patiohigh rise hotelssnorkeling gearboutique hotelbeach chairssmall poolthe ritzrum punchhome away from homeexplore the islandarashi beachrental carfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
1,051 - 1,056 of 1,508 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

On our first visit to Aruba we stayed at the Westin. It was fine. On this trip, after reading some reviews we chose to stay at the Boardwalk. It is fantastic!! Staff and owners are smart and knowledgable and even better, they are nice. They advised us on beaching, snorkeling, and kept us on track with great restaurants.We did our food shopping at Superfoods on the way from the airport. Good prices. Good selection. Several nights we cooked fresh fish on the weber grill at our casita. Our casita had a nice size refrigerator, stove cook top, and microwave. After dinner we walked 5 steps and sipped wine poolside. (That would be a ten minute wait for an elevator and 3 minute walk at the Westin). The pool is on the small side but it is very pretty and all that we needed. It is surrounded by lovely palm trees. The hotel has a arrangement with the Moomba beach club which is right on the hi-rise beach strip. You can walk from the Boardwalk and be on the beach in 10-15 minutes. We rented a car so it took us 2 minutes (tons of parking) to get to Moomba. Once you are there you can get beach chairs from them at no charge. The food at the restaurant is decent, not outstanding but we made up for that by waiting for happy hour. Sipping cocktails and dipping in the ocean. We only went to Moomba beach club one day but you could just go to that beach every day and be happy. With the help of Stephanie, Kimberly, and Thom we chose to adventure and snorkel at several amazing places using our car as a home base. They gave us folding beach chairs, beach towels and small coolers. We supplied the Balashi beer and peanut butter and jelly. If you stay here be sure to pick their brains for advice... they are awesome. We will make this an annual trip!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacfmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear jacfmac,

Thank you for this awesome review and we cannot wait to have you stay with us again! Glad that you enjoyed your grill and sipping by the pool. We are all happy we could be of assistance organizing you touring the island. Next time we will let you in on many more exciting adventurous places our beautiful island has to offer J.

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel manager & owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Boardwalk is "hors concours"! Casitas plenty of space, very clean, new, good decoration and with all facilities. A very nice pool and a reception desk ready to attend you (thanks Thom once more for the card and the wine bottle ; - ))
I recommend and will be back soon, probably for a longer period...

Room Tip: Ask for Casita 07 if you are with children. It is in front of the pool and you may see the kids through the glass panels while eating some Dutch Red Prima Donna Red and drinking a glass of Chilean wine with your wife.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ElvisPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear ElvisPs,

We are glad that your family and you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your nice words and positive feedback. Thom was flattered to read your review, we all always loves to make our guests feel special. Since we just recently renovated, it’s great to hear that you like our new décor. We would love to see you and your kids back with us. The longer the better.

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel manager & owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have two kids and really don't like to have the four of us stuck in a single hotel room for a week. We're always looking for a two bedroom set-up to make us all more comfortable. The Boardwalk is a great solution to this problem. The two bedrooms at the Boardwalk are fairly large units. They have a living area and small kitchen, which makes for an easier time with meals. There are also decks/patios for each unit, with tables and barbecue grills. The staff is fantastic. Always willing to provide suggestions for beaches and/or restaurants, and they are spot on with each recommendation. They will also provide you with beach towels and snorkel equipment every day. The location is pretty good, although the walk to the beach is not the nicest. This is due to the new hotel being built across the street. You have to walk through an alley between the Marriot and the new construction. Rent a car....don't settle for Palm Beach. The beaches just to the north are so much nicer and just a five minute drive. Also, you'll want to see the ones in the south. They are all so different. In my opinion, Palm Beach is the worst the island has to offer. So, The Boardwalk is not cheap. But go ahead and check the price of a two bedroom at the Marriott and you'll appreciate everything about the Boardwalk Hotel. Great little place.

Room Tip: All units are pretty good. Rent a car for your stay!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Ken T,

Thank you so much for your lovely and honest review. We really appreciate your review. Boardwalk is a unique hotel and our two bedroom casitas are especially ideal for families and couples and friends traveling together. Very happy you enjoyed your stay in one of our two bedroom casita. We agree that Palm Beach is beautiful and has a lot to offer, but we share your opinion that Aruba has other beaches worth to visit other than just Palm Beach. Arashi, Boca Catalina, Mangel Alto, just to mention a few, are such incredibly beautiful beaches. Luckily the Ritz Carlton (the hotel under construction across the street) is opening this November. The walk to the beach should be beautiful by then. Once again, many thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We hope to be able to welcome your family and you back with us very soon.

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel manager & owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Boardwalk. It was very secluded and private and we enjoyed the privacy and beautiful, tropical landscaping. The lush, tropical atmosphere at the hotel was the most beautiful we saw on the island! It was so nice to have a private deck and grill, and everyone enjoyed the hammock. You really felt like you were on your own private island, even though you were just a short walk to the high rise hotels, beach and "action". It was our first stay in Aruba and I asked if anyone wished that they had stayed at one of the upscale high rises. Everyone agreed that we preferred the Boardwalk and we all agreed we would want to stay there again. The only thing that might have made the overall vacation nicer would have been if we had friends staying at adjoining casitas. It would be perfect for vacationing with friends.

The only complaints I would have (and you never really know that a review is "real" if there are zero complaints!) would be minor... our casita lacked decor (could have used a painting or two) and I would have preferred at least a small TV in the bedroom. The only TV was in the living room. Also, since there was no TV it would have been really nice if there had been at least a mirror in the bedroom - there was only one mirror in the room and it made it difficult for the four of us to get ready in the morning. I think this was owing to the fact that the casitas seem to be in the process of redecoration, and perhaps that is not completed? The overall decor was lovely and tropical and the rooms were kept very clean.

There were a few other minor nuisances, but in the end they all melted away with the exceptional and friendly personal services given by Thom (thanks, Thom!) and Stephanie and Kimberly's warm reception. They are all very knowlegeable about the island and recommended wonderful restaurants and things to see.

I have read a few reviews about the proximity to the beach and I want to affirm that it is no more than a five minute walk - at least from Casita #2. It was a very short walk across a single lane two way street (with a median in the middle - very easy to cross). It may prove slightly more of an inconvenience if you had vert small children or strollers, so that might be a consideration. Of the walk to the beach, I think that even if you stayed right on the beach in one of the high rises, if you were on a higher floor I doubt your toes would be in the sand any faster than it would take from the Boardwalk.

I really enjoyed our vacation and the island and I know that we would stay at the Boardwalk again if we ever visit Aruba again. I would love to visit with friends! It is too bad that it is not a timeshare or we would definitely consider purchasing. Thanks Stephanie, Kimberly, Thom and Lola! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Casita #2, which was in a very nice location.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was my second visit to the Boardwalk Hotel and it was just as good as the first! It may have been even better this time around since the bathrooms received an upgrade in the past year: rain shower heads, modern sinks and new tiling... There also seemed to be a few additional bursts of color throughout the property. The turquoise staircases leading to the second floor casitas are my favorite...

This charming "small hotel" isn't necessarily luxurious (no porter, for instance), but it feels like a home away from home as soon you enter the palm-lined driveway. The overall vibe, to me, is that of a cool traveler hideaway... think Rick Steves for a new generation though it truly appeals to ALL ages (I encountered young honeymooners, kiteboarders, older Venezuelan couples and families with young kids). Perhaps the only minor downfall -- its location a block from the the beach -- is actually one of its best attributes, as it feels miles away from the tourists that flock to the nearby high-rise hotels. Nothing beats kicking back in the garden with a beer after a day at the beach.

The friendly twin owners, Stephanie and Kimberly, give the place tons of personality and good energy. The warmth is apparent as soon as you enter the cool lobby where Lola (the resident dachshund!) will greet you. Any member of the team can point you in the right direction for unique restaurants, nightlife and snorkel spots. If more adventurous, ask their opinion for the best kiteboarding and windsurfing instructors -- they seem to know everyone on the island.

Casitas are spacious and private, each with a patio where you can grill dinner. Kitchens contain all the necessities for cooking, and overall decor consists of a contemporary, yet laid-back caribbean furnishings. Beds are super comfortable and linens are fresh and clean... all white, white, white!!

If you have your laptop or iPhone, free Wi-Fi is super reliable! There is also free parking, which feels like a rarity! It's so nice to have easy access to the rental car, especially when borrowing beach chairs and coolers from the front desk.

It's a special place and can't think of another hotel like it in Aruba... or the world for that matter!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LML-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear LML-travels,

We truly appreciate your extensive and detailed review on here. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and we are glad that you chose to come and stay with us again. It is great to hear that you find our small downfall to be our biggest plus! Also very happy to hear that you like the newly renovated Casitas. At Boardwalk we have been working on redesigning and renovating the entire hotel for a while now and we are glad to hear that the changes are accepted positively by our most valued return guests. We truly hope to be able to welcome you back with us for a third time soon.

Sunny greetings,

Kimberly
Hotel owner and operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews