We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveler rating
1,291
189
17
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,291
189
17
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom casitatreasure boxsmall hotelcharcoal grillprivate patiohigh rise hotelssnorkeling gearboutique hotelbeach chairssmall poolthe ritzhome away from homeexplore the islandarashi beachrental carfull kitchenboca catalina
Filter
Updating list...
1,054 - 1,059 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have two kids and really don't like to have the four of us stuck in a single hotel room for a week. We're always looking for a two bedroom set-up to make us all more comfortable. The Boardwalk is a great solution to this problem. The two bedrooms at the Boardwalk are fairly large units. They have a living area and small kitchen, which makes for an easier time with meals. There are also decks/patios for each unit, with tables and barbecue grills. The staff is fantastic. Always willing to provide suggestions for beaches and/or restaurants, and they are spot on with each recommendation. They will also provide you with beach towels and snorkel equipment every day. The location is pretty good, although the walk to the beach is not the nicest. This is due to the new hotel being built across the street. You have to walk through an alley between the Marriot and the new construction. Rent a car....don't settle for Palm Beach. The beaches just to the north are so much nicer and just a five minute drive. Also, you'll want to see the ones in the south. They are all so different. In my opinion, Palm Beach is the worst the island has to offer. So, The Boardwalk is not cheap. But go ahead and check the price of a two bedroom at the Marriott and you'll appreciate everything about the Boardwalk Hotel. Great little place.

Room Tip: All units are pretty good. Rent a car for your stay!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Ken T,

Thank you so much for your lovely and honest review. We really appreciate your review. Boardwalk is a unique hotel and our two bedroom casitas are especially ideal for families and couples and friends traveling together. Very happy you enjoyed your stay in one of our two bedroom casita. We agree that Palm Beach is beautiful and has a lot to offer, but we share your opinion that Aruba has other beaches worth to visit other than just Palm Beach. Arashi, Boca Catalina, Mangel Alto, just to mention a few, are such incredibly beautiful beaches. Luckily the Ritz Carlton (the hotel under construction across the street) is opening this November. The walk to the beach should be beautiful by then. Once again, many thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We hope to be able to welcome your family and you back with us very soon.

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel manager & owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Boardwalk. It was very secluded and private and we enjoyed the privacy and beautiful, tropical landscaping. The lush, tropical atmosphere at the hotel was the most beautiful we saw on the island! It was so nice to have a private deck and grill, and everyone enjoyed the hammock. You really felt like you were on your own private island, even though you were just a short walk to the high rise hotels, beach and "action". It was our first stay in Aruba and I asked if anyone wished that they had stayed at one of the upscale high rises. Everyone agreed that we preferred the Boardwalk and we all agreed we would want to stay there again. The only thing that might have made the overall vacation nicer would have been if we had friends staying at adjoining casitas. It would be perfect for vacationing with friends.

The only complaints I would have (and you never really know that a review is "real" if there are zero complaints!) would be minor... our casita lacked decor (could have used a painting or two) and I would have preferred at least a small TV in the bedroom. The only TV was in the living room. Also, since there was no TV it would have been really nice if there had been at least a mirror in the bedroom - there was only one mirror in the room and it made it difficult for the four of us to get ready in the morning. I think this was owing to the fact that the casitas seem to be in the process of redecoration, and perhaps that is not completed? The overall decor was lovely and tropical and the rooms were kept very clean.

There were a few other minor nuisances, but in the end they all melted away with the exceptional and friendly personal services given by Thom (thanks, Thom!) and Stephanie and Kimberly's warm reception. They are all very knowlegeable about the island and recommended wonderful restaurants and things to see.

I have read a few reviews about the proximity to the beach and I want to affirm that it is no more than a five minute walk - at least from Casita #2. It was a very short walk across a single lane two way street (with a median in the middle - very easy to cross). It may prove slightly more of an inconvenience if you had vert small children or strollers, so that might be a consideration. Of the walk to the beach, I think that even if you stayed right on the beach in one of the high rises, if you were on a higher floor I doubt your toes would be in the sand any faster than it would take from the Boardwalk.

I really enjoyed our vacation and the island and I know that we would stay at the Boardwalk again if we ever visit Aruba again. I would love to visit with friends! It is too bad that it is not a timeshare or we would definitely consider purchasing. Thanks Stephanie, Kimberly, Thom and Lola! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Casita #2, which was in a very nice location.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was my second visit to the Boardwalk Hotel and it was just as good as the first! It may have been even better this time around since the bathrooms received an upgrade in the past year: rain shower heads, modern sinks and new tiling... There also seemed to be a few additional bursts of color throughout the property. The turquoise staircases leading to the second floor casitas are my favorite...

This charming "small hotel" isn't necessarily luxurious (no porter, for instance), but it feels like a home away from home as soon you enter the palm-lined driveway. The overall vibe, to me, is that of a cool traveler hideaway... think Rick Steves for a new generation though it truly appeals to ALL ages (I encountered young honeymooners, kiteboarders, older Venezuelan couples and families with young kids). Perhaps the only minor downfall -- its location a block from the the beach -- is actually one of its best attributes, as it feels miles away from the tourists that flock to the nearby high-rise hotels. Nothing beats kicking back in the garden with a beer after a day at the beach.

The friendly twin owners, Stephanie and Kimberly, give the place tons of personality and good energy. The warmth is apparent as soon as you enter the cool lobby where Lola (the resident dachshund!) will greet you. Any member of the team can point you in the right direction for unique restaurants, nightlife and snorkel spots. If more adventurous, ask their opinion for the best kiteboarding and windsurfing instructors -- they seem to know everyone on the island.

Casitas are spacious and private, each with a patio where you can grill dinner. Kitchens contain all the necessities for cooking, and overall decor consists of a contemporary, yet laid-back caribbean furnishings. Beds are super comfortable and linens are fresh and clean... all white, white, white!!

If you have your laptop or iPhone, free Wi-Fi is super reliable! There is also free parking, which feels like a rarity! It's so nice to have easy access to the rental car, especially when borrowing beach chairs and coolers from the front desk.

It's a special place and can't think of another hotel like it in Aruba... or the world for that matter!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LML-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear LML-travels,

We truly appreciate your extensive and detailed review on here. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and we are glad that you chose to come and stay with us again. It is great to hear that you find our small downfall to be our biggest plus! Also very happy to hear that you like the newly renovated Casitas. At Boardwalk we have been working on redesigning and renovating the entire hotel for a while now and we are glad to hear that the changes are accepted positively by our most valued return guests. We truly hope to be able to welcome you back with us for a third time soon.

Sunny greetings,

Kimberly
Hotel owner and operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved the Boardwalk. We typically stay at high raise hotels where there is plenty of action. This was a very nice change. The rooms were very spacious and exceptionally clean. We loved the privacy of our casita. The pool was adequate for our purpose. Although the Boardwalk is across the street from the beach, access was almost easier then the high rise hotels when you account for the time it takes to get from room to elevators to lobbies, etc. In Aruba, almost everyone rents a car so access to the beach was jump in the car ( 30 seconds ) from room and drive to any beach. We went to a different beach everyday and they were all spectacular. Finally
I can not say enough about the staff at Boardwalk. From the moment you enter the property they take care of ALL your needs, give recommendations about anything and are accurate. They are a really happy host on one happy island. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Carol W.,

Thanks for your superb review! Our team will be chuffed to read its contents - it will be a great morale boost for them. Really happy you had an amazing stay at Boardwalk and enjoyed Aruba and its beautiful beaches to the fullest! Also, thank you for mentioning the spacious size of our casitas and their private setup on the property, it are very important characteristics of Boardwalk!

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sunny greetings from a very happy team!
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Boardwalk Hotel during July 4th holiday for one week with my family, my wife and two active boys. This is our first trip to Aruba, and expected to enjoy nice proximity to a beautiful beech. But it took over 15minutes to the designated area by the hotel where we could use free beech chair (the hotel allied with a beech restaurant "Moomba beach" at beech area) by waking. Less explanation about such inconvenient access to the beech disappointed us little bit, but small area with limited fewer number of the guests compared to other High Rise Hotels and friendly stuffs completely satisfied us. My wife loved pretty and colorful interiors, and kids enjoyed in a pool everyday. And I did BBQ every night by grilling local fishes and meats like camp. Yes, all cottages equipped with BBQ grills. Such wonderful experiences made us feeling like at home to be relaxed. After one week stay, our family really loved this hotel. One advise is rent-A-car might get your stay more comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Takechanman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Takechanman2,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba on TripAdvisor. I am glad that your kids enjoyed our kid-friendly pool, your wife our colorful island-style decoration and you our fun charcoal BBQ's. Super nice to read that it brings back nostalgic camp memories.

We apologize for your the lack of information you experienced with regards to our location's distance to the beach. Boardwalk is located 250 yards from beautiful Palm Beach. Our guests have free membership for Moomba beach club, where beach chairs are offered free of charge. Moomba is located a 10min walk from Boardwalk Hotel. Detailed information on our location and all nearby activities, landmarks and beaches can be found under the location tab of our website.

I am glad you had a relaxing stay with us and considered Boardwalk your home in Aruba! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews