We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveler rating
1,291
189
17
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,291
189
17
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom casitatreasure boxsmall hotelcharcoal grillprivate patiohigh rise hotelssnorkeling gearboutique hotelbeach chairssmall poolthe ritzhome away from homeexplore the islandarashi beachrental carfull kitchenboca catalina
Filter
Updating list...
1,059 - 1,064 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We loved our stay at The Boardwalk and will definitely be going back. The location is really good. You're right there among the high rise hotels but it's so peaceful you wouldn't know it. Our casita was amazing. The place was so big and open you could probably fit at least two high rise hotel rooms in it. The colors were perfect and it was totally clean. The furniture was very comfortable and we had the choice of either an indoor dining room or a beautiful table on the patio. The bathrooms were brand new with an all glass shower enclosures and modern fixtures. If you want to cook there is a great kitchen with a glass cooking surface or there was a grill if you wanted to cook out. The grounds are amazing with wooden walkways that run in between the palm trees. We also enjoyed the pool a few times and it was a great place to hangout after a day at the beach. As good as the Boardwalk Hotel is it was the staff that really made it even better. Kimberly, Stephanie, Alice and Thom could not have been nicer or more helpful. They will help with anything you need from where to dine out to where to snorkel. This was our first trip to Aruba and we will definitely come back to stay at The Boardwalk!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiehaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear maggiehaley,

We LOVE to read such a raving review and are thrilled your first visit to Aruba and to Boardwalk was an enjoyable one! Thank you for summing up all of the great amenities that you got to enjoy. With our recent renovations we selected and deliberated every single element that would go into the casitas, and are delighted you enjoyed our choices!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon hopefully.
Sunny greetings,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The first impression walking into this place was how CLEAN the apartments were. You can tell in the first 10 minutes the level of dedication they put into this place - every corner and under-surface cleaned and prepped for the next person. The rooms are very large and well worth the money. They have efficient ductless AC systems in the bedrooms and in the living spaces which make coming back to the casita a very pleasurable experience after being out all day in the hot sun. Having your own outside sitting area with a table, bbq and hammock in a tropical garden with a pool makes you feel like you're definitely "at home." Stephanie, Kimberly, and Thom (intern) were all wonderful people with lots of knowledge about the island and were always very reachable and accommodating.

You get a warm feeling when arriving here. They even gave a whole bunch of sand toys and pool toys to my toddler son without even asking.

It must be understood that this is the polar opposite of a "high-rise" crowded mainstream all-inclusive resort. If you are travelers who want to get away from large crowds, have the freedom to go out and eat, or decide to cook at home if you want to relax a bit more, if you want to explore the island on your own with a rental car and visit all of the numerous gorgeous beaches they have on the island, then this is for you. This probably isn't the best choice if you're the type of person who doesn't like to move around at all, and all you want to do it go from the bed, to the pool, to the beach and back to the resort you're staying in.

Having stayed at places like those on numerous vacations, I began to really detest the Caribbean....all-inclusive, big resort "fad" with watered down "no-name" brand alcohol and bland, cheap-made-to-look-fancy food that everyone seems to fall in to all the time. The crowded beaches where you have to get up anywhere between 3-5am to get yourself a chair on the beach or at the poolside, the depletion of available beach/pool towels, the over crowded buffet lunches, swim up bars that give you drinks in cups small enough to accept a urine sample, with alcohol brands you've never really heard of and that are watered down anyway. The "so-called" 5-star all-inclusive restaurants, which you can barely get a reservation for, and when you do - the food is loosely 'mediocre.'

If you've noticed this also, and you are more a free-spirit type of explorer and you want to take it all in about the place you're visiting, then stay here. Get a car, explore the island. Aruba is totally safe and has many interesting things. Yeah, Eagle beach and Palm beach are great and all, but what about the other dozen beaches the tourists don't go to? That's the best stuff sometimes!! Pack a cooler, some towels, snorkels, and beach chairs (Boardwalk supplies it all to you by the way), and go out and really vacation in Aruba. For dining - there are countless great restaurants on the island where eating all-inclusive food is just an absurd concept.

Stuff is not really all in "walking distance" though. Yeah you can walk to the Marriott across the street and possibly to Moomba, but it can seem like a little bit of a hike in tropical heat. Just go with the car. Aruba has free parking everywhere. There really is no need to walk anywhere.

For cooking at home, SuperFood is a huge, clean, well-stocked and organized supermarket only a few minutes away by car. It's really very easy.

Point is - at Boardwalk - do anything you want, WHEN you want, and feel like you're at home.

BONBINI!

Room Tip: With small children, naturally it is preferable to request a ground-floor casita if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank docfoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Docfoots,

Thank you so much for your fun and detailed review of your stay at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba. Really delighted that you appreciated the atmosphere we have strived so hard to create here. I love your comment that you felt at home because that is just what we have set out to do. I am certain lots of travelers and explorers will love to read your tips on how to get the most out of Aruba, our beautiful beaches, crystal clear waters and fun activities.

Our team avidly reads all the reviews posted here on TripAdvisor, and they loved yours a lot. We appreciate your thumbs up for our housekeeping and maintenance team as well as our entire staff, it really contributes to team morale.

Sunny greetings,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great place to stay! Very clean and extremely friendly staff. We would book again in a minute! We loved the little community feel of Boardwalk. Nothing like being a short walk to the beach. Having our own car was nice, but not necessary. We will stay at Boardwalk again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Barry C,

The team and I are delighted that you had a memorable experience. Really glad that you enjoyed the community feel and the cozy and intimate atmosphere of the hotel. Thank you for your short but sweet review!

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently stayed here ( four nights, five days ) with my boyfriend. This was our second trip to Aruba, and it gets better everytime! If you are looking to be catered to 24/7 and to have the experience of a hotel (ie Marriot, Riu...) this is NOT your place... but if you are looking to truly enjoy and experience Aruba this is your place! The layout as well as the decor of this hotel is beautiful and relaxing, gives off a true island vibe. If you are checking in on a Saturday - make sure you have anything you may need from the front desk ( beach chairs, towels etc) - after checking in, at around 7:30 pm ( after hours) we realized we didn't have an iron in the room and panicked as we had dinner reservations and a suitcase full of wrinkled clothes. We called Stephanie on her cell phone and she had an iron brought to us within an hour, which was EXTREMELY kind of her and greatly appreciated!

If you're staying at the Boardwalk and want to experience Aruba I would personally recommend renting a car. We didn't our first trip, and did this time and were so happy with our decision. Your options are unlimited with a car, we drove to different beaches rather than just go to Moomba ( where it tends to be a little more congested ) since it was across the street. I know Mooomba offers free chairs to Boardwalk guests - but if you really want to feel like you're in paradise I suggest renting a car, driving down to Arashi beach and renting a chair for $5/person. If you get there early enough (10-11) you will probably find a Palapa to cool off under when the sun gets to be too much.

I look forward to returning to Aruba in the future and will definitely be staying at the Boardwalk again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear nichole c

So very many thanks for your review and recommendation of Boardwalk Hotel Aruba on Tripadvisor. We are honored that your second experience to Aruba brought you great new experiences and that Boardwalk is now your preferred home base where to explore and enjoy the island from.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not-so-distant future.

Sunny greetings,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Boardwalk hotel is made up of a number of Casita's, small, private studio's or 1-2 bedroom apartment like rooms. We stayed in a 1-bedroom right behind the pool. This was a spacious, colorfully decorated, extremely comfortable setting. The kitchen is clean , stocked with utensils, bathroom is spacious, beds are comfortable, and everything is modern. 2 seperate silent split ACs- one for the living/kitchen/dining the other for the bedroom. From check in Thom was extremely helpful, helping with bags, providing us some left over lighter fluid for barbecuing and giving our son an assortment of beach toys for our stay. The beach is less than a 5 minute walk and location-wise, you are close to everything, just not too close. A car is recommended for longer stays, otherwise taxi's are readily available and just a phone call away. In all, a pleasant, relaxing, upscale-feeling vacation in a picturesque setting. We will be back.

Room Tip: I expect all the rooms are very good. No noise anywhere. We stayed right in behind the pool, and we were never bothered by any noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VA122575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Va122575,

Thank you so much for making us your very first review on TripAdvisor. Also so delighted you enjoyed the picturesque setting we tried so hard to create. We hope that you return soon again to our “One Happy Island”!

Sunny greetings
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews