We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a GREAT stay at the Boardwalk!
Staying in our casita made us feel more at home on the island. We took our little cooler and beach chairs with us all over the island. We also made breakfast in our kitchen and packed lunches for the day.
We felt the Boardwalk was ideally located between many beaches, and within walking distance to the Moomba beach club. We especially loved sunsets at Arashi beach which we found to be a bit less crowded.
The Boardwalk also turned out to be an ideal location for viewing the fantastic NYE fireworks display. We could NOT believe the amount of fireworks going off - it's really something to see!
Kimberly and Stephanie gave us great dinner recomendations and helped us with making reservations (highly recomended).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chinacatsun2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. We try to create the perfect environment to relax in; with all the freedom for you to do whatever you feel like whenever you feel like it; eat in or out, BBQ on your patio, pack your coolbox and beach chairs to take of to one of the island's beautiful beaches or relax at moomba beach club with bar, restaurant and live music within reach. So many fun ways to vacation on Aruba. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have you over soon again. Sunny greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed during the week of Christmas and were greatly disappointed. The place needs a major renovation. We asked for the beach chairs the first day we arrived and did not get them until day 5. The two sisters who own the place arrive at 9am and leave at 5pm, to get fresh towels every morning you have to wait for them to arrive. It was almost impossible to take a shower with the low water pressure and the lighting was very poor.
For 7 days our charge was $2700.00. We have been traveling to Aruba over 20 years and this was the worse accommodation for the price charged.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 4-6 traveling on a budget and who live very basic at home, it may work for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Chudson0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We regret Boardwalk Hotel Aruba did not deliver upon your expectations. It is always our aim to resolve problems of any kind as good and soon as possible. Since you stayed with us over the holiday season, we were constrained because most outlets were closed because of the holiday. Therefore, we were not able to find new beach chairs the same day. We regret you did no share your concerns about the shower pressure during your stay, while we were able to solve this issue. We have a maintenance personnel onsite every day. We have casitas of different types (ground/upper level) and sizes (one or two bedroom), in order to meet varying guest expectations. Unfortunately, you had booked a two bedroom casita, our largest casita, which has two bedrooms and accommodates up to six people, while you traveled as a couple. As a couple a one bedroom casita would offer a much better price/value, especially during peak season.
Since you have already checked out we regret we were not able to meet your expectations. However, we will be in touch with you personally, to better understand your feedback, and with the hope to have you return to us during your future visits to the island.
Warm greetings from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Boardwalk is a very cozy and nice place to stay and a great alternative instead of staying at a major hotel. The room on 2nd floor that we had stayed was very spacious. The hospitality and customer service was excellent. Great recommendations were suggested to go and visit places and restaurants to eat on our journey of the island...we've found them all. The maps they had given us were better than the regular maps from the stores and travel books. Although they are renovating, I still loved staying there. Loved the garden. I wish the sisters, Kimberly and Stepanie all the best. Will be back again.

Room Tip: If you want to be higher up then the second floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our tips and recommendations valuable! Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Many sunny greetings from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our family of three had the unique distinction of staying in two different casitas on our trip. Through no fault of the owners as they are making improvements on the hotel, we had to move from our 2nd floor casita to a different one due to scaffolding going up on the stairwell for some outside painting. We were only inconvenienced for a few days and since it’s Aruba, not worth getting irritated over. Besides, we were moved into a 2 bedroom casita which was an upgrade for us.

So first…casita #21
Casita 21 is located on the 2nd floor right above the lobby which is a great location. No lobby noise since they close early. This is a large 1 bedroom, kitchen, living area and great outside balcony.

PROS: The casita is well equipped with everything you need in the kitchen. The television is a new flat screen with 45 channels. The bed, while a bit hard for our taste, was comfortably furnished. The view is a bit of a pro and con; the pro being the slight beach view and kite boarding up to the north, the con being that they are building a high rise hotel directly in the beach view of this room. The other great plus to this room was the consistent breeze and amount of windows. The AC in the bedroom and living area kept the casita very cool.

CONS: Only con that comes to mind is the water in the shower can be a bit tricky. Tip: turn on hot water first and then adjust with cold as needed. One slight movement of the knobs can be the difference between scalding and freezing. Oh and one more, no electrical outlets in the bathrooms was kind of annoying. While a hairdryer is provided, if you had any other dryer, flat iron or curling iron, there is no plug near a mirror.

Now…casita #3
Casita 3 is located in the back corner of the property. It’s in a very private location and you feel like you’re in a jungle with all the beautiful foliage right outside your door. It’s a large 2 bedroom, kitchen, 2 bath, living room casita with a deck and outside eating area.

PROS: There is a great deal of space in this casita. The bedrooms are nicely sized as is most of the casita. A new flat screen television was installed while were staying there. This casita is perfectly situated if you like privacy. Plenty of storage space as well for clothes and such.

CONS: As the new owners are making improvements, you can tell that this casita is still in the progress stages. While very clean, it does need some updating on fixtures. The AC’s are in the bedrooms only, so if you don’t have the doors open, the living area gets pretty warm. The knats/mosquitoes are pretty bad outside this casita. Since it’s on the first floor located in the corner with walls on two sides, there is no breeze. Bug spray is really needed. The kitchen area was a bit cramped for the size of the casita, but again I think this is a work in progress.

All in all, the owners have some really great plans for this small boutique hotel. It’s perfectly situated just north of the high rise area. If I had to choose a favorite between the two casitas, it would be 21. I like the view (even limited), the breeze and the updated feel. I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: 21 has a good view and a breeze, 3 has privacy and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. It was so nice to have you stay with us.
We love the way you elaborate on each casita. We really hope that you will return once we have finished all our updates and changes. Warm greetings to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Just returned from a week that was wonderful. The Boardwalk is situated just across from the "High Rise Hotel" strip, so in moments you can be on the beach with everyone else. We found the relaxed quite atmosphere around the Boardwalk to suit our family much nicer. Two bedroom cassitas offered, living, dining, and kitchenette and plenty of space for the family of four. Outside eating areas, w/BBq's and hammocks added to the convenience, and variety at meal time. All the recommended local restaurants were delicious but by no means inexpensive so the ability to eat in truly pays off, especially since the dishes got done daily with the cleaning. Thank you... Brief notes on the beach: To the left is busy with restaurants and beach loungers, right turn takes you by three different water sport rental companies then practically opens up to your own private shell searching paradise. Paddleboards, windsurfers, kiteboards, and mountain bikes can all be rented, and instruction is available. We utilized the services of AAV http://www.aruba-active-vacations.com and were very pleased with the staff and equipment. Don't forget your snorkel gear, but if you do the staff can hook you up, for multiple excursions around the island. Enjoy, you can't go wrong at the Boardwalk Hotel Aruba.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your post and guidelines for future guests! It was very nice to have you stay with us and hope we may welcome you back in the near future! PS: we ordered dozens of brand new snorkeling gear for our guests to use!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

You feel almost home in the comfortable cassitas by the Boardwalk. The twin sisters Kimberly and Stephanie are very friendly and help you with are your wishes and questions and give you the best advice where to eat and where you find the nicest small beaches. The garden is beautiful it looks like an oases. It s a small hotel buth with a lot of personal touch and will recommend it to people who love to feel free;

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friedawilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your review and staying with us over and over again. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

WOW, AMAZING PLACE! If you are looking to get away from all the creepy high-rise hotels you should definatly check this place out. The cool Belgium owners are doing their best to make this boutique hotel stand out from others. Although renovations are in progress and the owners promised me that the hotel will become even better in time, this is already one of the nicest places in Aruba. And don't forget about the BBQ!! It's an awesome Weber and grill's a mean local Baracuda :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReinieRvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your post! We enjoyed having you here and would love to receive you again!
PS: you can like us on facebook, where we post pics and updates of Boardwalk!! Sunny greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,187 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
876 reviews
4.2 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $242 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel offers 14 spacious casitas spread out in the peaceful gardens of a historic coconut plantation. The hotel is located just a 3 minutes walk from popular Palm Beach where you can enjoy our NEW cozy beach area, providing shade and lounge chairs. All 14 casitas are tastefully decorated in fresh Caribbean colors and feature a large living room, fully equipped kitchen, modern bathroom, separate bedroom(s), private patio equipped with your own hammock and BBQ grill, TV, full air conditioning and free WIFI. Daily breakfast service is available. Other perks and privileges include daily housekeeping services, complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, cool box and snorkel gear. The owners of the hotel, fun twin sisters, offer concierge services and excellent recommendations, providing you with the local scoop. The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel with palm-fringed gardens and cozy swimming pool offers the ultimate setting for a relaxing and romantic vacation in Aruba. Couples of all ages as well as young families will truly enjoy this hidden gem in Palm Beach, Aruba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing