We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“excellent trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

really good place to rest. I had a problem in my room but the answer was inmediately they fix it and give us a plus access to Royal Club services. People is very kind and the attitude outstanding. THe food is good but should vary the buffet from one day to another. Rooms are in good condition clean and confortable. The Royal Club service is excellent personal attention great food and menus. THe deputy Diomedes was attentive to all we can take. Very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisB0661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,758
    1,426
    806
    416
    353
See reviews for
1,161
2,425
83
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed OG Aruba tremendously. The all-inclusive plan was very convenient. Pool and swim-up bar were awesome. Beach AH-Mazing! The location cannot be beat. Located smack dab in the middle of the "High Rise" area of Eagle Beach and with a Casino and theater on site as well as multiple restaurants, you can't go wrong with the OC Aruba.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went to Occidental Grand Arube for 14 days. We had the best time of our life. We spent our
anniversay night in the Royal Club--they couldn't do enough for us.Had bottle of champane in bucket by our table and were treated like royality. The general manager Jesus' Cardoso is the most caring and warm person any hotel could have,He really cares for his quests.He's a wonderful person a great asset to the hotel. There are also two people who excel at their jobs
Resty the food and beverage managerYou see him working Day and night checking in on every restaurant to make sure everything is running properly and he greets the quests and asks how everything is. The other person is Quinta she's at the beach and pool bar--a great great person. When you go up to the bar and she knows you your drink is there in a second.She loves all the people and is very very friendly--she works very hard. This is the reason we have been coming to the occidental Grand Aruba for many many yrears it's the people who work there who make our trip outstanding! We would never go anywhere else--this is the best place.
Thank-You my Aruba family at the Occidental for so wonderful to us all these years.

We love you guys Carmella and John DeRosa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Service and location make the Occidental a brilliant place to stay on Aruba. From the moment we checked in, Veronica and all the girls at our Royal Club check in were exceptional with everything we needed. Fanny and Avery were outstanding for every meal we had at the Royal Club restaurant and made the holiday so peaceful.
The location is brilliant and the beach excellent. The restaurants were all nice and what you would expect from an all inclusive.
The beach bar was great and the only real knock was the limited beer selection, but with the royal club you could always get premium beers up in the Royal Club, just not at the beach or pool bar.

Room Tip: The Royal Club is worth the extra amount as you have no issue getting breakfast, lunch or dinner and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ajdaley81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the occidental for our honeymoon. We chose this place because it was an all-inclusive and they had the option to upgrade to the royal club package which seemed like a good value.
To be honest, upon arrival we were a little underwhelmed. The place seemed a bit cramped and a tad outdated (in the royal club lounge particularly) and our room for an upgraded package was small and nothing special.
HOWEVER, we quickly realized that this hotel really did have a lot to offer. Although our room wasn't huge, it had a small balcony which looked over the beautiful pool and it was very clean. The bathroom was also very nice and updated.
The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly and professional. Emily, our concierge on the 9th floor of the royal club was super friendly and took care of making all our meal plans (they have a number of restaurants at the occidental which are all good, the Japanese one being our favorite). She was very helpful and wanted us to have a good time.
The food was great and although the buffet had its better days, overall there was always something for everybody.
The hotel itself was actually quite big on the inside with a casino, a big auditorium for their shows (of which we went to one and it was quite good), shops, a bar in an open area, a computer lounge, and more.
The pool area was again not huge but was in our opinion the nicest out of the pool decks we saw at the other hotels in our stretch. It had a swim up bar, 3 hot tubs, waterfalls, and beds with canopies to lounge in.
The beach area was also in our opinion the nicest, but since all the high rises are on the same beach there honestly isn't too much of a difference. The palapas and beach loungers were free while at other hotels they can be up o 35$ a day.
All in all, our stay was fantastic. If you are looking for a secluded honeymoon spot I wouldn't choose this hotel since it is a kid-friendly resort and busy, but we don't mind the noise and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keelynlittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I just returned from a seven day stay this past Thursday, June 13th, 2013, never wrote a review, and thought I would for the first time, hoping I could help others with my experience.
We asked for a pool side view, although our room faced the pool, it was behind two walls and atop a loud air conditioning unit. The front desk people, with their understanding rehearsed sympathetic smiles said they were sorry and would transfer to another room the next day which they did. The room was very nice with a marvelous view. A small dish of fruit awaited us.
However the next day the wall started to leak and I awoke to a large puddle which I stepped into the next day. They fixed it...two days later, it leaked again....whatever, I just put a towel on the floor, I didn't want to lose the room to another room with a wall. Basically I am a patient guy.

I have been to many all inclusives, as far as this one goes, the facilities are very nice, the grounds are inpeccably kept. So is the hotel in general. They have a very nice, large pool, hot tubs, plenty of lounge chairs with umbrella's, and chairs on the beach. The beach and location is just picture perfect.
They do offer entertainment, not exactly name acts, but something fun to do at night. Beach party one night, pool party another.
The casino is very small, but as I walked to many hotels along Palm Beach, most are small. This isn't Vegas.

Like I said I have gone to many all inclusives all throughout the Carribean, as for the food, I have had better, and some worse. This I found good. I find alot of reviewers nit picking at every little thing, but let's face it, every hotel in every city has its faults and good points, even mom's home cooking does.
The Major Flaw with the dining over here is that 90% of the guest's book several restaurants for the same night, taking up the good dining times, which is unfair. When we would go down to make a reservation for restaurant they would say the restaurant was either booked or only had a 9:30 pm sitting, because the hotels flawed system allowed rude guests to make multiple reservations. We would go to the restaurant, and it was empty, because noone kept reservations...A Major Flaw.

The drinks: they do have brand name liquors and do not spare the alcohol. However they do not have one good bartender there. They just throw some booze in a glass and put some smoothie in and you have pina colada, or some more smoothie and you got a daquiri. Like I said though they do not spare the booze. There were many guests I saw, they must have traveled together, they came with thermos's and they would swim up to the pool bar and the bartender would fill them up with a half a bottle of whatever and they would go swim off with a straw. One day there was a fight that broke out between two guys in the pool! Not a good thing, especially for kids to see.

This brings me to my only MAJOR COMPLAINTS (notice the caps).
I go away to relax...to chill out, relax in the sun, around the pool. From about 11am until about 6pm, they absolutely blast music around the pool!!! Not just play it a little loud, but blast it. You can't get away from it...and it's not pleasant island music...tropical steel drums or even light music or easy listening. Just annoying crap!
The second MAJOR COMPLAINT is that they insist on entertaining you pool side from morning to night! They have a DJ type guy with a microphone at a decible as high as the blasting music, doing pool games, anything from drinking games, ball tossing games, water aerobics, in pool kayac racing, very loud volley ball games, Bingo games, and so on.
Non stop, all day.
He would not only announce the games in a high pitch manor in English, but he would repeat it in Spanish, Dutch and Papiemento too! It was torturous.

If you are looking to read a book, listen to music on your IPod, or have quiet conversations around the pool or bar, this is not the place.

However you can inside, to be fair at the lounge where they have a bar and lounge with comfortable chairs, where you could actually talk. They had a live singer who was playing songs that many guests, young and old were actually singing along to and even dancing.

One last thing, the staff is very friendly, and their is plenty of security inside the hotel, however even though there was a security guard poolside, he did not stop the fight.

If it was not for the loudness, and their ability for getting me so tense around the pool and trying to entertain constantly, I might stay there again.
But I probably would go to the Renaissance Marina hotel in Orangestaed instead. I have been there twice and it is just far far more superior!

I hope this helped.

Room Tip: Do not let them issue room #1222. Even if they say a restaurant is booked or there are only late se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Ferry, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was the 9th time I went to the Occidental and over 20 times that I have ben to Aruba. The Occidental is my favorite place. Everyone there is so friendly. It truely feels like home. I think the food is great. You have to be a very difficult person to please if you cannot find something to eat.
The Italian restaurant is one of my favorites. Special thanks to Hazel Magante who is one of the sweetest people I have ever met. Hazel helped me to get my Iphone working so I could be in contact with the New Jersey where my precious COCO, my baby kitten was. Thanks to Hazel I was connected and reassured that Coco was fine. Hazel was helpful in many other ways and the members of the royal club spoke highly of her as we all talked in the ocean. Another special person is Natashia Vreeswijk. Natashia greats us every year and always ges back to us if we need anything. She is warm and helpful an when we see her it is like seeing a family member that we have not seen in a year. Natashia was one of the reasons we keep coming back to the Occcidential. If you want an all inclusive choose the Occidental and you will have a great time!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.7 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 5,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,876 reviews
2.5 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,220 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
2.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort

Property: Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Palm Beach, Aruba, this resort features all the ingredients for a unique vacation: a location right on the beach, turquoise waters, the fine white sands of the Caribbean, and warm weather throughout the year. This high-end Aruba All-Inclusive resort is the best vacation destination for families and couples. The Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort is close to many tourist attractions and just steps away from the entertainment, lounges, discos and shopping areas the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing