We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Aruba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Aruba
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Staff; servers, bartenders and housekeeping could not have more pleasant and helpful, the restaurants were great, the drinks, view, beach, pool......all Tremendous!!! Thanks for an amazing vacation.......a special thank you to Enrique for his smile & amazing tropical drinks and Joseline for a beautiful room everyday, It's all in the details :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,882
    1,504
    860
    424
    367
See reviews for
1,232
2,573
94
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I must admit we were nervous about our decision to stay at the all inclusive Occidental. From the moment we arrived to the day we left we never questioned or regretted our decision!! The Occidental was GRAND!! On arrival as soon as we stepped in to the lobby we were welcomed by hotel greeters with hot towels to wash up and a glass of chilled tropical fruit punch, then escorted to the front desk to check in. SInce it was early and our room was not ready a hospitality suite was offered. We changed, had a delicious buffet lunch and then enjoyed the remainder of the sunny afternoon at the pool. Top shelf liquor is readily available in the lobby, at the pool or beach and always with a smile! All employees were more then happy to accommodate our every need. For example, every night we had 4 waters delivered to our room! Our room was a deluxe category. Clean with a king size bed, spacious bathroom and shower overlooking the pool. The restaurants were outstanding. We absolutely disagree with travelers who complained about the food. We found every meal to be better than the last...Italian, The Beach Party, Desire (The Carribean restaurant) and our favorite Zen, Japanese! The breakfast and lunch buffet offer more than enough options. The food is simply superb. The beach is perfectly located in the middle of the high rise section and the huts are nicely spaced allowing for privacy. We had only one complaint and it was the casino ...with the slot machines broken waiting to get your cash back took upwards of twenty five minutes!! We enjoyed the casino's at neighboring hotels after the first night due to this malfunction (of two weeks) of the machines! Despite this one flaw, we will undoubtedly return to The Occidental Grand in Aruba!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wonderful family vacation. We upgraded to suite on the top floor with a ocean view and it was HUGE. A large living room with kitchen and large beautifully decorated bedroom with big balcony. Very clean rooms and hotel overall. Service was great, but as with most all-inclusives the food/drink is lackluster. It is family-friendly but as with most all-inclusives the bar areas can get loud and rowdy by late afternoon. Highlights in terms of food were the ceviche and lobster tail at the Caribbean themed restaurant. Highlight in terms of the entire vacation is the entertainment team. They are ridiculously amazing. The shows at other resorts we have stayed at have been just ok, the shows here are outstanding. These are some of the most talented dancers, singers, and acrobats I have seen anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

not at all what i hoped for....long time traveller (and time share holder) and this is not the place to go to see the beauty of Aruba! - bleach smells almost knocked me over when i opened the door to my room - food was terrible - entertainment was silly - place was 'old and tired' looking ....staff was slow and i was so disappointed for my friends us to celebrate a 50th birthday event!

I can't wait to go back to Aruba...but i am not going to the Occidential-
i spent more time dealing with the rude staff than being in the sun......reservations to meals inside the resort were difficult to get but every place was empty when we would arrive....

oh i could go on and on..but won't - just don't bother this place is not worth it!

Room Tip: don't go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyLise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Barcelo Aruba, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear PickyLise,

Thank you for your comments. We’re very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, or ours, especially as we had the opportunity to help celebrate such a special occasion. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience at Occidental Grand Aruba. Excellence is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provides a memorable experience to our valued guests. We have alerted the head of departments involved in your review regarding your experience. Please rest assured, we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issues and prevent future occurrences.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Occidental Grand Aruba in the future and to provide a much higher level of service that all of our guests should receive at all times.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at the Occidental Grand the 2nd week of April and was very pleased with everything. I must say this hotel is focused on customer satisfaction from the moment you walk in. Very friendly check in and accommodated us with a fantastic lanai room on the first floor,we were greeted with a cold drink and a cold towel. Our room had a few problems such as a light bulb out and the door didn't lock well but after reported it was addressed and remedied in minutes. This property is well maintained and clean. They were cleaning railings outside and washing down patio areas constantly quite impressive I must say. The rooms are very nice the wet bars need to be stocked more often then every two days and the bathtub had a high step to get into but was manageable.The pool and pool bar are fantastic and guaranteed a good time. The beach is 5 star and has a beach bar which is convienant. They had a bbq beach party that was excellent and a must do. They provide a carribian style show and dinner with a buffet style setting too much food to mention. The beach was beautiful and well kept. They do have small bridges over areas that are slippery and should be addressed by management. The restaurants on the property are excellent and recommend Italian. The worst thing about this hotel is leaving the day we had to leave was a very slow walk to check out. Check out is at 12 and they will give you a pass for everything if your flight is later which is nice. I will defiantly stay here again.I can't wait!

Room Tip: Recommend the lanai room which have individual patios with sliders to pool area and access to beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wb2euf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwood crest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

From time of arrival everything was pleasant ,and relaxing. Everyone was nice and helpful all employees we eager to answer question or direct where to go. all around wonderful place to go for couples and family.

Room Tip: higher floor see ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pride6109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My second all-inclusive, first in Punta Conta at another resort but this was a 360o turn around were the staff did not constantally hover over looking for tips all the time but instead were there if you needed them and in now way expected anything but a smile..loved it. Food was awesome and plenty full as was the staff, very very friendly and attentive. This was my second time to Aruba, first time at a non-inclusive hotel down the beach which was not so good experience then here by a friend who has been coming here for several years and now its the only way to go. Meeting many new people at the beach and pool in chanced the experience. Overall with very minor issues it was a great place to go and I hope all there other resorts are as good as this one was.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,080 reviews
2.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Aruba

Property: Barcelo Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Palm Beach, Aruba, this resort features all the ingredients for a unique vacation: a location right on the beach, turquoise waters, the fine white sands of the Caribbean, and warm weather throughout the year. This high-end Aruba All-Inclusive resort is the best vacation destination for families and couples. The Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort is close to many tourist attractions and just steps away from the entertainment, lounges, discos and shopping areas the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Barcelo Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing