We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So much better in Aruba” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“So much better in Aruba”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here in Feb, our 3rd trip to Aruba in a year. Our friends were given access to a timeshare and invited us. The Occidental is primarily an all-inclusive, but we did not choose all-inclusive: thank God! The buffet was the worst all-inclusive that we've ever experienced. We had lunch there once and would have tired of it by day 2. There are so many fantastic restaurants in the area that we don't know why someone would chose AI in Aruba. Our only bad meal was at the hotel.

We had drinks at the pool bar one day. They didn't know how to bill us, so we got them for free. Glad we didn't pay because they were awful. There are so many great happy hours around, so we chose those for the rest of the days. The Hyatt has a great happy hour right on the beach. The Occidental had lots of drunk people around in the early evening.

Bottom line, we would not return here. If u are set on an all-inclusive then this might work. But again, why in Aruba? If u want to drink a lot and don't mind the quality of food then this might be an option for you. I would keep all-inclusive to Punta Cana or Mexico. Enjoy the restaurants in Aruba.

Bottom line, we would never return to this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,810
    1,456
    829
    421
    360
See reviews for
1,191
2,490
88
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After reading some very negative reviews about this place right before our trip, I was pretty nervous. Well, all the reviews must have been from isolated bad experiences because this place was great. Staff was friendly, food and drinks were fine, service was good, it was overall a very pleasant place to stay. Aruba is beautitul, and the Occidental was nice.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with outdoor access to the pool area. It was awesome, yet private enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobden, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The staff at the Occidental Grand our out standing. I would deffinitely return to the Occidental, the
fun club (Jimmy, Ruby) our great at their jobs, lots of fun! The bartenders and staff go way out of their way to make your vaction as enjoyable as it can be. Lenny singing in the lounge bar should be later into the evening, the bar is packed but the minute Lenny is done everyone goes away.Hats off to you all for doing a great job. Hope to see you all again when I return..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The best thing about the Occidental Grand besides the obvious is the staff. We come back year after year for that very reason. From the Hotel staff to the Bartenders and especially the guys who work the Beach you couldn't ask for a better, competent and helpful group. Some favorites of ours are Roddy,,Michael and Eric as the Bartenders and Johnny and Frank on the Beach. Always a smile and a helpful attitude from them all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool or Ocean are the way to go. Try to get from the 4th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our 3rd visit here so obviously we like it. Its a good value for the money. Yes there are things that could be better and improved. Some rooms facing the pool have broken seals in the sliding doors so you don't have a good view unless you open the door. We changed rooms. There is no system to securing a hut so prepare yourself to rise by 5am if you want one. Since hotel guests and time share owners share the same property it made us as hotel guests feel less worthy of space since they are "owners". Can be very clicky. This year I have become gluten free and was relieved that I had choices. Myrna at the Oriental restaurant advised me to let it be known that I am gluten free when making our dinner reservations. Myrna was very informative as to what I could and couldn't eat at the Oriental restaurant. She was genuine and concerned about my dietary restrictions. Thank you Myrna

Room Tip: Pool side. Although can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Well let's see!!! While in the Occidental we decided to look at the Marriott as we collect their points but to our eyes it appeared dingy and my better half did not like their casino.
I have found out that there is more provision for the old and handicapped in the Royal Club at the Occidental so guess what!! Even though I wrote we would not go again, we have booked ten nights in the Royal Club for the middle of October this year 2013. We just loved everything else in the hotel so my boss (wife) and I by the way want to go again.
I was surprised When we went last time that there were quite a number of English folk and I enjoyed meeting them, became an American in 2006 so I enjoyed talking to them. It's an awful long way for the English but they must think it's good also, we only have to travel from Florida.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank plinkers41729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a very disorganized arrival, and finally a room in the appropriate category, the beach and weather is so great, that all the hassles disappear.
It bears repeating, as per so many of the previous entries, the staff, is not very helpful. The rooms really need refreshing. and there are not enough huts on the beach and no way of reserving other than to go down before 6am, not very relaxing on a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dash55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.7 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 5,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,953 reviews
2.5 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort

Property: Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Palm Beach, Aruba, this resort features all the ingredients for a unique vacation: a location right on the beach, turquoise waters, the fine white sands of the Caribbean, and warm weather throughout the year. This high-end Aruba All-Inclusive resort is the best vacation destination for families and couples. The Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort is close to many tourist attractions and just steps away from the entertainment, lounges, discos and shopping areas the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing