We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Back again year 20 ........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back again year 20 ........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The best thing about the Occidental Grand besides the obvious is the staff. We come back year after year for that very reason. From the Hotel staff to the Bartenders and especially the guys who work the Beach you couldn't ask for a better, competent and helpful group. Some favorites of ours are Roddy,,Michael and Eric as the Bartenders and Johnny and Frank on the Beach. Always a smile and a helpful attitude from them all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool or Ocean are the way to go. Try to get from the 4th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    1,449
    825
    420
    360
See reviews for
1,184
2,475
88
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our 3rd visit here so obviously we like it. Its a good value for the money. Yes there are things that could be better and improved. Some rooms facing the pool have broken seals in the sliding doors so you don't have a good view unless you open the door. We changed rooms. There is no system to securing a hut so prepare yourself to rise by 5am if you want one. Since hotel guests and time share owners share the same property it made us as hotel guests feel less worthy of space since they are "owners". Can be very clicky. This year I have become gluten free and was relieved that I had choices. Myrna at the Oriental restaurant advised me to let it be known that I am gluten free when making our dinner reservations. Myrna was very informative as to what I could and couldn't eat at the Oriental restaurant. She was genuine and concerned about my dietary restrictions. Thank you Myrna

Room Tip: Pool side. Although can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Well let's see!!! While in the Occidental we decided to look at the Marriott as we collect their points but to our eyes it appeared dingy and my better half did not like their casino.
I have found out that there is more provision for the old and handicapped in the Royal Club at the Occidental so guess what!! Even though I wrote we would not go again, we have booked ten nights in the Royal Club for the middle of October this year 2013. We just loved everything else in the hotel so my boss (wife) and I by the way want to go again.
I was surprised When we went last time that there were quite a number of English folk and I enjoyed meeting them, became an American in 2006 so I enjoyed talking to them. It's an awful long way for the English but they must think it's good also, we only have to travel from Florida.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank plinkers41729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a very disorganized arrival, and finally a room in the appropriate category, the beach and weather is so great, that all the hassles disappear.
It bears repeating, as per so many of the previous entries, the staff, is not very helpful. The rooms really need refreshing. and there are not enough huts on the beach and no way of reserving other than to go down before 6am, not very relaxing on a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dash55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After reading MANY mixed reviews we still decided to stay at the Occidental for our friends bachelorette party. Upon arrival we realized that all dinner reservations that were made prior to arrival (due to large group) were not in the system and we had to wait 2 hours for the concierge to adjust. We were even booked for events that weren't happening the nights we were there (talk about poor communication amongst hotel employees),

Hotel Rooms/Housekeeping - Very outdated. When Housekeeping came to clean each day, they didn't even remove the dirty towels from the floor. We had to ASK them to do so and give us new towels!

One day a man knocked on the door with a bottle of our alcohol that we bought off premises and said "housekeeping took it bc it didn't fit in the fridge". But why would they take it from our room?!?! They literally returned an empty bottle to us when the bottle we had, had hardly been touched! After calling and speaking to management they told us a completely different story and had someone else bring us a sealed bottle back. THEY STOLE FROM OUR ROOM!

All-inclusive - food is just "ok". There is nothing open to get a drink, even a water or soda unless you go to the "disco" late night. Who wants to go to the club just to get a regular drink?

The only good things about this hotel are the beach and location, otherwise, I DO NOT RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren8257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Aruba and my husband and I both agree that we will go back. We loved the island with its varied terrain, the Arubian people, and the beach! The Occidental Grand Resort was an average place to stay with a high price tag. The condition of the property was a little worn. The rooms needed some updating, and the swimming pool needed some repair work along most of the edges. The resort staff was wonderful, but there didn't seem to be enough of them. We are used to being served cocktails and food at the pool and beach areas but this type of service was not offered. The beach, however, was perfect with white sand, calm & warm blue water, and plenty of beach chairs. We spent nearly every day there and just couldn't get enough of it. The restaurants were ok. We didn't go to this resort for world class food. It was good...but nothing exceptional. The drinks were good also but most of the liquor was brands that we didn't recognize. We rented jeeps and toured the island. This was very worthwhile especially because of the land and water differences between the east and west sides. The church, lighthouse, and natural bridge were excellent landmarks to visit while on our off road jeep excursion. We also went on a snorkeling/snuba trip which was great fun. I

Room Tip: Our room was located on the north side of the building which had a public street running along the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Don't make the same mistake I did, and be the dedicated husband who wakes up every morning at 5:30am to reserve a shade on the beach. They will tell you that you have to. They are wrong.

Just find a fat man with a moustache and give him $20. That money will buy you the satisfaction of knowing that you did not wake up an hour early than normal, to do something that everyone else is paying for. And then you can wake up at 10am.

That $20 will also buy you the privilege of not being unbelievably angry when, on the second last day of vacation, you see that man out there with his hamper full of towels and his hotel uniform on. Nor will you be frustrated when the hotel management does absolutely nothing except make you wait and then ignore you. Nor will you be confronted by the fat man himself, when he finds out that you complained about this.

He'll tell you that the sign on the beach that says "absolutely no chair reservation allowed" is not true. He'll tell you that he has no choice. But you won't have to hear any of the lies and pitiful grovelling, because you will have read this review and just PAID the $20 at the beginning of the week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imakehighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear imakehighways,
I will follow up with you today via TripAdvisor regarding this issue, as it is strictly forbidden for our staff to receive money to reserve beach chairs and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused you.
Our staff is on-hand to help find chairs and accommodate our guests, so that they can enjoy the beautiful weather and beach. I’ve also discussed your feedback with our manager to reinforce our no chair reservation policy.
I do hope that you will give us a second chance to provide you with an incredible experience in Aruba.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.7 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 5,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,939 reviews
2.5 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort

Property: Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Palm Beach, Aruba, this resort features all the ingredients for a unique vacation: a location right on the beach, turquoise waters, the fine white sands of the Caribbean, and warm weather throughout the year. This high-end Aruba All-Inclusive resort is the best vacation destination for families and couples. The Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort is close to many tourist attractions and just steps away from the entertainment, lounges, discos and shopping areas the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing