We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
IL
16
Reviewed April 3, 2006

We loved everything at the Aruba Grand! I will agree with many of the reviews that The Grand is a smaller resort, but I have stayed at other mega resorts and have felt lost. We loved the quietness of the beach at the Grand. Especially when you look to the neighboring hotel beaches and see crowds! Staff was fantastic! Even the "tiny" casino was fun, I think that my living/dinning room is about the same size as the Grands Casino. We will be back to visit Aruba and the Aruba Grand will be one of our first chioces for accomadations.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,481 - 4,487 of 6,360 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New York
15
Reviewed March 19, 2006

This was my 5th trip to Aruba and first time staying at this hotel whereas previously my wife and I had stayed at the Radisson which is next door. I come here to relax and the beach area at this hotel is the best. They have plenty of Huts on the beach and you don't have to wait in line at the crack of dawn to reserve one.
As for the rooms they certainly do not measure up to the Hyatt or Radisson standards but they are clean and well kept. The only time we are in the room is to sleep so if you want to spend 200-300 more a night to sleep in a 4star hotel good for you.
There is nothing exciting at night going on at this hotel but my wife and I would walk over at night to the Hyatt or Wyndham and spend our time there.
Unfortunately this hotel will close at the end of April for renovations. They will be tearing down the lanais and adding another structure with 250 rooms.
Alas when they reopen the prices for a one night stay will probably be much higher and the once spacious beach will be overcrowded with the additional huts they will need to add to accomodate the additional rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2006

We chose the Aruba Grand because we found a great deal on Orbitz and despite the hotel being only three stars we knew(based on our previous two visits to other hotels on palm Beach) it's location could not be beat. The Aruba Grand definitely surpassed our expectations. Upon arrival, check-in was super-fast and we were delighted with our deluxe ocean view room. We had a fabulous view of the pool, ocean, and sunsets at night! We especially liked the fact that the hotel was not overcrowded. Our last trip being to Atlantis in the Bahamas, we really enjoyed the peacefulness of the pool and beach. We are in our twenties and when we felt like more of a party atmosphere we went to the Pier Bar in front of our hotel (another aspect that we loved--drinks are cheaper there and the view is amazing)or down to Moomba Beach. The Pier Bar had a really fun Happy Hour from 3-5. We really had no problem with the hotel being quiet. Having stayed at the Wyndham two years ago, and walking down that way this time, you can see that the Palapas on the beach are practically on top of one another. The Aruba Grand by far had the best beach and it was great not being on top of your neighbors! We found the Concierge to be very helpful and extremely pleasant. We thought overall that the staff were really helpful/cheerful. We did not choose the all-inclusive plan. Instead we rented a car and bought beer for our cooler and visited the Pier bar quite often :o) The hotel provides an empty fridge so we brought numerous items for lunch and snacking. For restaurants we would recommend Blossoms. We did go to El Gaucho but did not enjoy it as much as in previous years. Gilligan's at the Radisson was decent for cheeseburgers, but the service was very slow--slow for even Aruba! We had lunch at the Aruba Grand and it wasn't anything special. We had hoped to go to the Flying Fishbone but ran out of time! As for excursions, we did the Palm Pleasure snorkeling trip and loved it. The boat was really nice and it was a fun trip. All in all, we were very happy with the Aruba Grand and are sorry to see that it's closing--we would love to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank erads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas
19
Reviewed March 8, 2006

Hotel is clean/ok.
Food is below standard & overpriced.
Wait staff are only attentive to "members" and seem to do a lot of bowing and scraping while the rest of the poor slobs have to beg for service. The wait staff seem to be constantly swamped and it feels almost like a Denny's or IHOP atmosphere. We had 3 meals at the outdoor restaurant and got the same below standard food & service all three times, so we decided not to waste our money any longer.
Unfriendly lady in the deli/gift shop.
Casino staff also unfriendly.
Most of the staff (aside from the front desk)act like they would rather not be bothered....as if they could get a lot of work done if it wasn't for these annoying customers! Most of the staff's attitudes are just indifferent.
Don't waste your hard-earned money in the casino...it is a rip! Instead, play at the Radisson next door or the Renassiance downtown. The slots are very loose and a lot of jackpots are won.
The pool has no atmosphere whatsoever.
We will come back to Aruba, but not the Aruba Grand.
We had some awesome food at the Hyatt and at the Radisson. It is more expensive, but it is so worth the extra money to get decent food and service.
Aruba is beautiful, the people are friendly, the weather and beach is perfect, and another plus is that there are mostly Americans.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
19
Reviewed January 25, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a very enjoyable stay in Aruba at the Aruba Grand Resort. If you like crowded noisy beaches go somewhere else. This place , although not the newest or fanciest is absolutely perfect. Nice staff, great beach, good food , with a newly renovated 7th flood room that beat all expectations. Sadly it will close in April or March and be enlarged and renovated.Change will come, for the better??..time will tell..Glad to have been able to enjoy this version of it,

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2006

The location of this hotel is outstanding because you are in the middle of Palm Beach, have plenty of parking, can walk to most activities, restaurants, etc.. The rooms are very nice but the staff is completely unhelpful - from the store to the concierge. Compared to the Renaissance staff, these people are minor league. Conversely, the place is clean, there is a very inexpensive restaurant inside and the price was under $140 the week before xmas. Aruba was not as expensive as feared.

Stayed: December 2005
12  Thank saunteringman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2005

Aruba Grand: This was a great hotel for a honeymoon. It's a shame they are apparently closing for renovations. We had a great deluxe oceanview room (only standing room balcony). Our room came with a little fridge, and the store in the hotel had cereal, milk, etc. We got the breakfast plan, no reason to do All-inclusive in Aruba, b/c the restaurants are very good.

We never had a problem getting a shaded palapa, unlike the fancier hotels. The beach was beautiful, although the water was a bit murky.

We used the gym (great, but should be open longer), played tennis and horseshoes.

Aruba in General:

Aruba is a great place for a relaxing honeymoon or trip. Everyone we saw was either a couple or a family, not a good place for singles. We did a day-long Jeep Tour (ABC) and a Jolly Pirates afternoon snorkel. Both were great. We didn't rent a car, nor did we need to. We ate at the restaurants near the hotels, except for one night when we went to Driftwood. Driftwood was great, but there are hardly any road signs in town. We took the bus in, and had no problems.

The hotel zone is definately Americanized, but we knew this going in. We have both traveled a lot, but wanted to relax and not "explore" too much on our honeymoon. If you are looking for a very exotic place, Aruba is probably not the right choice. We didn't have to exchange money.

10  Thank Cancun_curious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,831 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $424 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing