We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Having read some of the scathing reviews of this hotel I was very concerned, even more so as this was our honeymoon and was so looking forward to going to Aruba. However from the moment we arrived at the Riu Palace my anxieties disappeared rapidly. The check in was smooth and quick and our room (jacuzzi suite - Building B) was fabulous. It was spotlessly clean, had 2 jacuzzis - one on the balcony, to be honest I couldn't fault it at all. In fact throughout our stay the room was serviced twice a day and nothing was too much trouble for our maid.

The hotel itself was fantastic as was the food, there was always plenty to choose from in the buffet and we ate at the gourmet restaurant (Krystal) and the Nautilus steakhouse, both were good quality and the service was very good. Yes you have to queue to make reservations for these but I never stood longer than 5 minutes. I think the only problem with the hotel is the so called nightly entertainment which is below average to say the least.

All in all I couldn't really fault this hotel and Aruba itself is a beautiful island, make sure you do the jeep safari, its great fun and a perfect way to see the island. So all in all a fabulous honeymoon, but be warned - its windy all the time - perfect to keep the scorching temperatures down but not so perfect for sunbathing on the beach

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,170)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,914 - 3,920 of 6,170 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2009

In summary, the accommodation was unpleasant. The room smelled musty. There is no such thing as a non-smoking room. We encountered cockroaches on several occasions in the room, something I have never experienced anywhere in the world. There was a problem with noisy guests in the coridoors early hours in the morning. When we asked to get moved we were told that the hotel was fully booked for several months in advance and the only available room we could change to was a oceanview junior suite in building C (old building, not refurbished) with no balcony, all rooms in buildings A & B are apparently totally fully booked for months already, so beware if you are thinking of booking. I was tearful at reception but they didn't care. Often there were beer bottles and their contents on the corridoor floors. Housekeeping very variable; on a few occasions I had to ring more than once to try to get clean towels after the room had been serviced and had several hours wait. Turndown service hardly ever occurred. Sinister Smirnoff vodka drinks dispenser in room - definitely either watered down or not the genuine product.

Buffets - generally good choice of food and nicely cooked though lack of poultry! In the Nautillis buffet, there were always birds in the kitchens and at the food stations pecking at the food and also on tables and chairs, quite unhygienic. Don Nicholas buffet (in the main building) didn't have this problem. Most nights had a theme such as Mexican, etc. Steakhouse was nice, other restaurants, food generally not cooked to order - e.g steaks served barely medium when well done requested, choice of between 2 - 4 items on menu per course and 2 sitting times - if you can call that A La Carte. Overall, the restaurant and bar staff were pleasant and very helpful. Snacks available like ice cream, popcorn and hotdogs between meals.

The pool and beach area is too overcrowded compared to the other hotels. Sunbeds and parasols are reserved by guests before 7:00 am. We spent a lot of time in the other hotels that didn't have this problem and generally had nicer public areas, gardens, beautiful pool areas and more attention to detail. We wished we stayed at one of these hotels instead.

Although the staff in the bars and restaurants are generally nice, the sub-standard accommodation and overcrowdedness lets this hotel down in a bad way, it is not large enough for the number of guests.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A11234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We were originally due to go to Mexico but due to the swine flu we were advised not to go by the Foreign Office. When the travel agent tried to find another holiday she said ARUBA - we never had a clue where that was but after quick discussion decided to try it.

Hotel - Excellent - very beautiful grounds, swimming pools, position right on the beach.

Rooms: Excellent, we had two suites next door to each other and had excellent views of the swimming pool and turn to our left and excellent view of the beach and carribean sea.

Staff - Excellent - Nothing too much trouble. Very helpful

Food - Excellent - this is usually something people always find something to moan about but I would say there was something wrong with the people, not the hotel. The choice was the best I have had in an all inclusive hotel. You name it, they probably had it. Actually it made it hard what to chose!! The food was always of a high quality as well.

Restaurants: Grill Restaurant, Japanese Restaurant, Mediteranian, Italian Restaurant who have two sittings 6pm or 9pm We were allowed to book as many times as you like in these restaurants, however, you would need to book between certain times but generally we did not have a problem in getting one we wanted to dine in that evening. As this hotel has lots of guests from the USA, they generally like to dine at 6pm so we believe that is why we found it so easy to get tables at 9pm. These are excellent and beyond expectation as well. You just could not fault any of the food.

Drink: Large choice. Optics in the room. Full size fridge with beer, lemonade, cola and water and whatever you used, was always stocked up again the next day. No limit.

If you were sitting around the pool you did not have to move, a waiter would come and ask if you would like a drink and they would bring it to you.

Champagne was also part of the all inclusive. No limit and no extra cost.

Entertainment: There is a casino in the hotel. In house entertainment varies. Not spectacular but entertaining.

Aruba: Small beautiful island. We spent most of the day by the pool, in the pool or on the beach and can safetly say we found this to be a holiday to chill and relax. Very romantic

Weather: Superb. When I checked long range weather forcast before leaving for the holiday it seemed to be indicating cloudy, rain and sun. Well I realised what it meant. Some days cloud would come across but it was still boiling hot but the clouds actually gave relief from the very hot sun. In the two weeks it never rained. It does get breezy on the beach but again, it cooled you down but beware you will need to start of with a high sun block or you will burn. If you do get burnt buy some of the aloe vera being sold on the beach. It soothes the burns rapidly.

WOULD I GO BACK - YES - ANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT ANYTHING - NO
I WILL CERTAINLY RECOMMEND RIU HOTELS

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank halfpintplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

As with all the other May 09 reviews on here we had a great holiday. If this is your first time at a Riu hotel you may really think it great, but it’s not really up to the normal standard of a Riu "PALACE" hotel, its more Riu club class. Having said that we have stayed in some great Riu club hotels and overall I would recommend the hotel. Food, drink, cleanliness, bar service and rooms where great. Service a little slow in the restaurants. If you want to lie around the pool you need to have you towels on the beds for 7.00am latest to get any shade and if you want to have shade on the beach you need have your towels down by 7.15am. The signs saying you can not reserve the beds are totally ignored by guests (Including me by day 2) and staff. If you looking for evening entertainment forget it. Utter rubbish, luckily we weren't. The hotel offers no beach front water sports of it own (Kayaks, catamarans, snorkelling gear etc ) so everything has to be rented at quite a price. If you fancy a boat trip from the beach and you’re travelling with first choice / Thomson do not tell the people organising the boat trips on palm island pier. They have an agreement with them so you have to book through the rep for “HEALTH AND SAFETY” reasons. Just means you have to pay more, you get nothing different. Best trip we had was the 3.00pm – 6.00pm snorkelling trip on the boat “MI DUSHI” for 35 US Dollars. Barbeque and all inclusive international bar was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davecart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We had an issue with the noise at night, and brought it up to attention of manager.That was young, nice looking, very polite lady with name Loreine( I hope I didn't misspell). The outcome of conversation was very satisfactory. Right person at right place. Very grateful for her dessision. Vacation was a blast. Definetly will come back again, more likely with friends.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We just returned from a most remarkable holiday at the RIU Palace Hotel in Aruba. Your organization's commitment to customer care and satisfaction was second to none.

We were also most impressed with the organization of your casino which I understand is run and managed by Cool Casinos. The staff was extremely courteous and accomodating contributing to a really super holiday.

I understand that your chain will be opening a resort in Costa Rica sometime in the near future. I hope that RIU will also have a casino under the management of Cool Casinos. In the event will, we would have no hesitation in going there for my next holiday.

Once again, thanks for making our holiday a most memorable experience.

Regards

Darren and Amy

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theSchmooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed at the Riu Palace in April and had a fabulous time. The beach was fantastic, the water was crystal clear and the sand was powder white. The restaurants were great. Our favourite was the steakhouse. The staff was always so friendly and helpful and would go out of their way to get you something. We booked a garden view room and was given a full ocean view room upgrade for no charge upon arrival. The pool was very large and the water was warm. We saw the review by some guests who criticized the hotel, but we were also guests of the hotel at the same time when the table incident occurred. The complaining guests were obviously intoxicated when the incident occurred. Another guest saw them sitting on the glass table in the lobby to take a picture and when the front desk saw they tried to send a message to tell them to get of the table. By then it was to late. The table fell and the glass was shattered. The beautiful vase of flowers also fell. We were there to see the paramedics and police come to the hotel. In my opinion, the hotel should not be held responsible for this incident as adults should know not to sit on glass tables. Our stay at the hotel was a memorable one and we look forward to another trip.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmtree36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,651 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
1.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $422 - $867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotels.com, TravelUp, RIU Hotels and Resorts, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing