We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday experience - no complaints from us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great holiday experience - no complaints from us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I guess we may have been lucky judging by some of the other reviews on here, but we honestly did not have anything that really warranted being seriously complained about. If we could have improved the holiday, I would have to say that the service at breakfast (if you sat outside) could have been better. Most mornings the majority of staff stood around talking whilst one or two ran around trying to serve the guests tea/coffee. On a few occasions we left without having a drink offered to us which for a platinum holiday is a little poor. Like an earlier post I read, by the end of our holiday you could not get a black tea in the buffet restaurant but we survived!

The hotel is in a lovely setting, with a beach/sea to die for. Yes it's windy but on hot days that wind is your best friend. Prepare to get sand blasted every now and again. Not often but it sure hurts!

We found the hotel to be very clean, particularly our room which was well looked after for us. We never struggled for clean towels and the one occasion we had to ring reception when the room hairdryer burnt out - a replacement was with us 1/2 hour later. We were in room 666 in the dreaded block C but we had a lovely view of the sea and coastline right up to the lighthouse. The building work was on the other side of the site, so no un-welcome noise either. Yes the rooms are not up to date and modern but we had everything we needed and have to say that the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and we did not need a mattress topper! We asked for one on arrival and were told that beds in that room very comfortable and we would not need one - they were right. We also had worries when we were told room 666 but they laughed and said no-one ever complains about that room and they were right again!

We found the food in the buffet more than adequate for us. We only dined in the speciality Italian once and then decided we preferred the options available in the buffet, particularly as we were travelling with a 10 year old fussy eater. Sometimes the food was not as hot as it should have been but I guess that is always going to be a possibility when eating from buffets. You were best to hover at the food stations and wait for them to put out freshly cooked items although at busy times the food was turned around quickly anyway.

All in all I would say that this was a great destination if you love swimming, relaxing and water sports.

If you want to scuba dive we would strongly recommend Aqua Windies (you can find them on here). A well managed, professional centre with a lovely café onsite - Reef and Beef, great chilled atmosphere and lovely parrots to entertain.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,729
    1,755
    700
    326
    308
See reviews for
1,469
3,060
63
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Everything about our stay was brilliant! We travelled here on 10/06/14 for our honeymoon! I have never met such happier friendly staff who go out of their way to help you! The buffet was excellent, so much choice and you can see it being cooked! We had an excellent side sea view from our room on the 7th floor! The only thing that spoilt it was some of the Americans and the appalling manners and the way they spoke to the staff expecting them to jump to their needs! Will definetely return here again! Ask for mattress topper before you travel and it will be on your bed ready for you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Strawster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
210 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Check in was painless and that's where it started to go down hill. One room had a toilet seat that need repair, four days later it was still broke. Rooms did not have sufficient linens and mini-bars not stocked. This is an all inclusive and they knew how many per room.One room was a triple and the third bed had no linens! Calling the front desk did nothing, no one came. Our shower needed work. The handicap hand bar was pulling out of the wall. The ceiling had mild and was in need of paint. Tiles in bathroom needed attention to grout. I must say the rooms were clean. Housekeeping came everyday and did their job. The WiFi has fade out problems but was nice to have. When you are on vacation who wants to get up early to make a reservation at one of the four 'very small specialty' restaurants on site? Spots go quickly. Remember, this is all-inclusive, not cheap, and you have to work at it to get in to the 'very small restaurants', which are not that great. If you miss out it's the buffet. Now the buffet may be the best choice on site but not everyday. Food is hit and miss at the 'very small specialty' restaurants. Staff on site is not friendly. It's rare when a staff member says hello when walking down the hotel walks and halls. The pool is over crowded and chairs go quickly. Guests get up before 8AM to lay a towel on a chair and then don't show up for hours. Not enough pool servers so it's get your own drink most of the time. Oh did I say you get towels at the pool by turning in your 'towel card' and you must get it back by 6PM or carry it with you. Lost card is $20 fine!

A trip to Mexico might help where staff are friendly, service is great, food is quality and you feel you get your dollars worth. This was a special stay for a beach wedding which went well. The reception meal was the best meal in four nights - tender fillet and oven roasted chicken - both tender and juicy. They did short the quests 6 plates and brought them ... pork chops! And told them this was the meal everyone had. After the groom confronted them they got 6 meals that should have been served out to the cheated quests. Unexcusable! Then the AC stopped working and they said they would get it looked at the next day! Bad, bad, bad.

Seems this hotel either doesn't care or doesn't care! Shame on them.

As for Aruba....25 - 28mph trade winds doesn't make it! Sand storm on the beach all the way into the water! Beautiful beach and water, but who needs to be sandblasted.

Bars across the street were fun but beware! Shady characters, pimps and working girls!

By the way there were 38 of us and most have the same thoughts. See ya Aruba! Lets not even go to the 3 hours to get through the airport check-in, customs, etc.

Room Tip: Third floor up for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time at the Riu. Stayed in the main building on the 10th floor, the view from the balcony was amazing! Food was good, I'm a picky eater so this is saying something! Beach/water was absolutely perfect. Thanks to Steve from Berwick Travel for helping us book this amazing trip, I would highly recommend Steve! Cannot wait to go back! Yes they were doing construction next door... However we really didn't notice it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Cullinjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff,wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks in may. Had a very good time and aruba is a wonderful place, the only thing that let it down were a couple of issues at the riu and the way the staff handled them. On arrival hotel looks stunning, as we tried to check in we were told there was no room booked for us even though we had booked a year in advance! We were asked if these names on a sheet were our names they weren't even close, In all we waited about 45 mins for them to sort it out, in the end they gave us an upgrade to a junior suite, which we found out was meant for the other people,and also overlooking the building site !!!!! Reported this to the rep who blamed the riu for the mix up and also told us we were lucky to have a room because the hotel was at bursting point due to the riu buying the hotel next door, and having to find room for all the guests who were booked in the westin. In all hotel very run down riu need to invest in the hotels they have rather than buying everything in sight!! Food very good plenty of choice, drinks very good recommend a bbc cocktail. Most of the staff very friendly apart from the odd few at the beach. overall very nice beach and island will be back but maybe a different hotel. one more thing we stayed in room 338 under the names ruth lynn cole and Charles cole if you read please message me would like to know what room you ended up in or even stayed here thanks.

Room Tip: don't take a room by the building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Rui...well let's start with the good it's . Reception checkin easy and efficient with young lady very helpful. room as booked , not always the case with RUI, and welcome to 21st century WIFI everywhere ....unbelievable....RUI at last with WIFI........ok this is a five start hotel....ummmmm..well they have run out of tea at breakfast ....yep I have no idea either.... lifts are too few and too slow and no air conditioning... so imagine being in lift going 9 floors and lift full of hot sweaty bodies ....5 star luxury ...no way. Pool area is large and two pools......that said pool bar service slow and some days none existent ... we were given a noisy welcome by the hedge trimmer with the noisiest petrol driven trimmer on earth. Thomson are only uk tour operated to come here and they showed it..Reps just going through motions wanting your money for trips.Now what Thomson don't say is that there is a construction site next door rebuilding the Westin. Constant dust and noise of trucks reversing.....very 5 star....bar staff in evening appeared to be on "work experience" and breakfast service is average at best...5 star I don't think so. Find another way of getting to Aruba which is absolutely wonderful and the people outside the hotels are happy and friendly. RUI and Thomson get your act together.

Room Tip: We where in room 902 which was straight on sea view . High enough to avoid noise and give great phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Have just returned from a weeks stay at the Riu Palace. It was fantastic. The food was amazing, so much choice and having the restaurants on site means that we did not get bored of the buffet. The buffet itself had lots of choice, the breakfast was especially good! We liked the Nautlilus steak house best, the food was delicious. However, we enjoyed all the restaurants and the service was really good at each. The drinks selection was amazing, premium brands and a large cocktail list. i had cava every morning for breakfast which i loved! there was never a queue at the bars, and in the evening the service at the bon bini bar was really good. All the staff were really friendly, and it made the stay even better!

We chose to have a jacuzzi room and the view was amazing!! the room was massive with another jacuzzi inside and a big shower. we also saw some of the other rooms and were impressed with those too. ask for a mattress topper as they make the beds softer.

we did not have to get up early to get a sun lounger, we got to the pool at 11 most days and always found 2 loungers. there were lots at the beach too. it is windy on the island so hard to put up the umbrellas but at the beach there is more shade. we found the wind was nice as it is very hot!

we had an amazing holiday and i would definitely recommend the hotel. we will be looking at the other riu hotels for future holidays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank psmith233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
3.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
1.9 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing