We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Aruba Great Times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just returned from our 6th trip to Aruba. This was our 3rd stay at the Riu. After reading recent reviews about the hotel I was a little worried. But, the hotel lived up to the standards. Classic decor has not changed but the atmosphere and service was great! The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was fresh everyday and the restaurants were nice. I do agree with the other reviews that the beds were hard. We take take the advice and asked for a mattress pad and after that it was fine. The only negative I can give is on the spa service. We booked a couples massage and the massage was good however the spa itself needs work. We arrived early so we could take advantage of the spa services. The jacuzzi was ice cold and the jets did not work, so it was basically just bubbling water. We then decided to use the sauna in each of the locker rooms. The ladies sauna was broken and the men's sauna was not turned on. So there was no extras in using the spa except for the massage which was a little disappointing. My suggestions would be to bring your own travel size cup with a lid and straw for the drinks. The pool bar drink cups are small so they usually give you 2 at a time. Bring your own lotion since it is expensive and you go thru it quickly. The wifi service is not good. If you need it during the day it works fine but every night at 5:45 pm it would go down until about 11pm. They said the networks were broken but I think the server gets overloaded at the time and they can not handle it. Wifi does not work by the pool only in the lobby and rooms
Great times with friends in the sun and beach. It does not get better. Relax and have a good time!

Room Tip: Ask for the main building on a high floor. Building B is the older wing with only semi ocean view an...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,173)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,075 - 2,081 of 6,173 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just got back from an amazing holiday at the Riu Palace in Aruba, we had a blast ! Quality of hotel was very good and lived up to the thomsons brochure description. Food was high quality, varied and there was tonnes of choice. Although it was on a 7 day cycle and the 2nd week was a little repetitive you cannot grumble with the amount of choice provided. The 4 a la carte restaurants were excellent and highly recommend the surf n turf in Nautilus. It was yum both times we ate there ! We stayed in block C, there is nothing wrong with this at all. The room was clean, up to standard and had everything we needed for the little time we spent there. If you get there and its not to your liking then pay the extra for the upgrade although honestly, I wouldn't bother. WIFI was down although this wasn't a big drag, your on holiday right so being a little disconnected from the outside world made a nice change. Our rep Jaz was AWESOME ! She couldn't have done enough to help especially as my partner broke her leg. Pre planning the rest of the holiday, giving advice and whatever else she could do wasn't enough trouble. Hats off to Jaz, she was blinding. Big shout out to Robert and Felix (pool staff), they were always friendly and attentive. My only gripe was entertainments, they were RUBBISH ! Come out twice a day to do a stupid dance which they were totally uninterested in took the biscuit. May aswell not bother having them there at all. I found out the entertainment manager was the balding guy, he was the worst out of the lot ! Someone lost their wedding ring whilst playing volleyball, everyone else helped look in the sand while he sat down. If he worked for me I would sack him immediately ! Apart from that I would definitely consider going again to the Riu Palace. Value for money, nice rooms, quality food and plenty to do :)

Room Tip: Request a pool view if possible. Block C balconies are very small although not a massive issue.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hollisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

As we were on the last flight out for the British until next May here's our review!.
After reading a lot of reviews before the holiday we were a bit worried to say the least on all aspects of the break . In short DONT BE! this is a five star hotel okay rooms are dated but hey I slept and showered in it and having a junior suite I bribed the maid(5 dollars) and she got me a couple of chairs for the balcony. Entertainment is very poor and according to Jaz (The Thomson Rep) It has improved since the beginning of the year during the day the team stands about water aerobics and beach volleyball was the fare. No archery, darts ,water polo, bingo or French Bowls
there is five games off the top of my head surely its not that hard. Drink, premium branded drinks some guests thought they were watered down but the cocktails I tried were fine and I drink Baileys with a couple of ice so its hard to water down. Bars- the Sports Bar is 24 hours with snacks and they will turn the tv if there is "soccer" on. Pool Bar and Swim Up Bar both well staffed and by god they are busy. The Bon Bini Bar ten till midnight waiter service no complaints and pretty good musicians most nights..
Meals- Don Nicolas is the main buffet bar you could miss the a la carte and never notice lots of variety and the food is great. The A La Carte restaurants four in total first "Short Pants" can be worn at the Don Nicolas and only the Nautilus in the a la carte you will be refused entry by the staff at the others, Nautilus is the steak house surf and turf is great went twice and it was lovely Milano heard good reports about the Italian but my partner didn't fancy the menu so missed it out.
Sayuri (Japanese) was my least favourite too much rice based items and to be honest too much food. Krystal (Gourmet) was lovely but again miss the bread at the side of your dish or you wont finish it .Don't book the Thomson Taxi to and from the air[port loads of clean well maintained vehicles and cheap, from the hotel to Oranjeasted it was 12 dollars oh and 90 minutes to walk it.
Finally the Beach - no bar there so get a thermo flask the bar will fill it up for sunbeds be down before seven if you want shade from a palm tree, the pool sunbeds are available all day although people still go down at six to claim them!. Arranging to go back next year so I think that sums up my review but if I've missed anything out just contact me I will be happy to help

Room Tip: best views Block A or B
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank colin601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Other people have noted about WIFI problems. But I came to escape work not to take it with me.
The hotel has a atmosphere reminiscent of a Poirot Movie or a liner from the Titanic age. Grand images and classic décor. White sandy beaches and amazing sunsets made it a bit special.
It is fully inclusive including mini-bars, room service and named label drinks. Had no problems finding sun loungers most days.
For me booking a place in the specialist restaurants for the evening was no problem and if I couldn't be bothered the main restaurant had specialist evenings - sushi, Beef Wellington, Mexican etc.
Food was generally of a high standard and the staff in the main restaurant and reception were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were well maintained and housekeeping was efficient.
For me the biggest drawback had nothing to do with the hotel but the wind which did help keep down the burning heat but could be over strong and persistent.

Room Tip: Best value for money seems junior suites in block B with the large balconies overlooking the pool an...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel was nothing special, very generic. We didn't feel welcomed from the very beginning: the front desk people are not friendly at all, you get a feeling the whole affair is such a routine for them, they don't even bother to smile. The same in the restaurants, the staff is never there when you need them. We tried to concentrate on our vacation and enjoy despite everything, yet unpleasant emotions kept popping up. There was a strong chemical smell in the corridor that led to our room. That corridor being pretty long, one spends like 3 minutes at least walking through it and then you wait for ever for the elevator (by the way, be careful with that elevator button, it gives an electric shock when you press it - might be dangerous when your hands are wet from the beach), and all that time we were suffocating with some strong chemicals. We called the front desk of course, and asked to investigate. No result. We called several times, and on our fourth attempt we were told that there was no smell. As if we were just some dumb idiots. Guess what, the next day we saw huge dead cockroaches on the floor, so we understood what the smell was from - they were terminating roaches. Apparently, Riu Aruba doesn't know ways of terminating cockroaches without gassing your customers as well, or those no-smell treatments are too expensive for them, anyway, the strong chemical smell was there for four days of our vacation. We had to run from our room outside holding our breaths all the time.
The pillows smelled terribly with something disgusting, like vomit. Even though they were changing the pillow cases, the smell was on all of them. I couldn't fall asleep because of that.
The food: don't even bother going to their restaurants, it's not worth it - you wait 40 min for a pre-made salad or a pre-made seafood plater that was made a few days ago and tastes plain spoiled. Restaurant desserts are inedible as well. After being disappointed with the restaurants we went to the buffet only, where you also had to choose carefully to make sure you're not eating something spoiled. Overall, we weren't hungry of course, but definitely not exited about what we ate, weren't looking forward to our breakfast, lunch and dinner.
We couldn't wait for the week to be over and to get out of this place somehow. It wasn't fun, wasn't anything special. Feet washers at the pool or at the beach were always clogged and we had some irritation on our feet, probably also because they don't wash the floor in your room with clean water, it's whatever's there after several rooms before it was your room's turn.
I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anybody. Dull feeling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you need WIFI to conduct a small amount of business and you love walking around searching for a signal or enjoy sitting in the lobby (on the days wifi is available in the lobby) with 75 other people in your same predicament. Then this is the place for you. And you Facebook fiends, good luck! Food is great, sun and sand plenty, most of the staff is friendly, dress codes are forgiven for some but not all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigUncleRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the RIU during 0ctober and it was perfect from beginning to end there was no complaints, Everyone we meet was really helpful. It is called the Happy Island and so are the people. The Staff are there to serve and help and not waiting for a tip! so much so they you want to tip them. We went on an Island Tour and our driver Rocky could not have been more informative and helpful, he was always available. The same goes for Jaz our Rep. at the hotel. We would have no hesitation to return.

Room Tip: Our suite on the 2nd floor was perfect.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wonderers244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,651 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
1.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $422 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing