We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were very happy with the resort and all that it had to offer. Our room had a huge balcony with a pool view (could also see the ocean). We ate at the buffet for most of our meals, except the steakhouse for one dinner. Can't say that I was ever hungry.
Resort is within walking distance to some shopping, and bus stops not far from entrance. Great way to get around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank notleft2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,384 - 2,390 of 6,494 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

the perfect location stepping out directly onto the white sands of eagle beach. The staff are extremely helpful and cheerful, whatever time of day or night. There is an extensive choice of food in the restaurants and the rooms and public areas are all very clean. It can get very busy around the pool but if you feel too crowded, the beach is 20 paces away. Exploring outside the hotel on an evening felt very safe and the town, with interesting shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. don't confine yourself to the hotel, hire a car and see the sights and culture of the island.

Room Tip: 3rd floor on the right wing of the hotel provided late afternoon sun on the balcony and views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace from the 26th July until the 10th August for our daughters wedding, travelling as a group of six!

Our daughter had a wedding in paradise, perfectly planned by Corinne! Our rep Jaz was also brilliant!!

We stayed in Block C, however, our rooms were spotlessly clean, beds were comfortable, mini bar was restocked daily and towels changed twice a day! We also had a turn down service. Our daughter stayed in Block A as part of an upgrade due to the wedding package. This room was also excellent with an amazing view!

We never experienced a problem getting sun beds at the pool or beach at any time of the day, but parasols were more limited! Pool was lovely, we even saw a member of staff cleaning the steps in a snorkel! However, it is unavoidable, due to the wind, that the odd drink does get spilt, it is a swim-up bar after all! Staff work very hard to keep the pool clean, pumping the pool through filters every morning.

Meal times are a pleasure! The food really is soooo good! Be prepared to put on weight!! If you arrive at a decent time booking a la carte restaurants is not a long experience! The Japanese is simply amazing!! and so is the Steak House!

We found all staff to be friendly and helpful, a smile and a thank you really do go a long way!

The jeep excursion to the natural pool, bridge and caves was so much fun! Other places worth visiting include Phillips Animal Garden, Baby Beach (early in the day), Orangestad (the iguanas along the harbour are huge!!), Casabari rocks (very picturesque) and the butterfly farm is fabulous and great value too, we went four times as you can keep returning on the same ticket and its only a five minute walk from the hotel!

Snorkelling here is also fabulous, just out from the hotel we saw baracudas and lots of fish, and by the pier where the pelicans are there are lots of tropical fish! The blue parrot fish at De Palm Island are amazing but the trip is very expensive for what else is there! Palm Pleasure Snorkelling and Snuba (although expensive for twenty minute dive!) is also recommended, octopus and starfish were wonderful! Take some bread with you when you snorkel and you will be surrounded!

The only negative we have is Thomson premier class, brilliant on flight to Aruba, however the return flight was spoilt as staff spent their time asleep under blankets, not the service we paid for!

Overall, we would recommend this hotel to anyone! Aruba really is paradise and one happy island! We felt so safe walking around day or night! If you are thinking of holidaying here, book this hotel and you will have a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gabrielle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful 2 weeks at this hotel and it was idyllic! Great variety in food and a perfect sea front location, and still close enough to the town for shops and restaurants. Staff were always very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KHC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our experience with the Riu was great, very high end 4 star. The place was clean, the staff was as accommodating as they could be, when we stayed it was pretty busy and the staff seemed slightly overwhelmed. The staff was always pleseant, and the food was good.

The rooms as mentioned were clean, the beddings was not 5 star and on the cheaper side, the pool is impressive, however and this isn't the hotel's item but there were a group of guests that seemed to be over served and were spilling drinks in the pool and being overly rowdy. The staff was attempting to control these individuals, but it's a tough line to cross in being accommodating which is understandable.

It would be a definite place we'd stay again or seek out a Riu at another location.

Room Tip: Higher the better for sunset views....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryeoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

BEWARE!! My wife and I planned our honeymoon and we thought that staying at the Riu with their all inclusive would be heaven. We were wrong.

This place is an absolute nightmare. Here is what you will get if you stay here:

1. The entire complex including our room smells. Onions? Curry? Something unpleasant.

2. The furniture in our room was FILTHY. Every piece of furniture was covered in red and/or brown stains. They looked like they were pulled out of a dumpster and placed in our room.

3. Our "king" bed, which was just 2 fulls pushed together, was hard as a rock. Literally no spring to the mattress whatsoever. Oh and don't worry, there were stains on that as well. My wife was afraid to get into the bed. Who knows if there's bugs or communicable diseases....

4. Pool area was clean and nice but very noisy. Not really relaxing. Beach area was gorgeous but pretty crowded.

5. The view from our ocean view room was incredible.

6. The free drinks that we had were fine. I asked for the top shelf liquor and no complaints there. (Just as long as it was really that liquor. I wouldn't put it past them to fill the bottles with the cheaper stuff.)

7. We didn't try any food so we can't comment. We wanted to get out of there as fast as possible.
My wife was in tears at the thought of having to stay in this place for our honeymoon. Riu front desk said there was pretty much nothing that they could do.

Thankfully we were able to move to the Marriott. We spent 2 hours in the Riu and that was too long. Our representative, Mary was very helpful. We are so happy with the Mariott. Please believe me and do not stay at the Riu. Marriott is wonderful. Only stay here or at the Ritz Carlton that is opening in October.

Good luck!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jushooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

We always welcome feedback from our customers, since it gives us the opportunity to make appropriate improvements and changes where necessary.

We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and keep our guests content. We were concerned to note that we failed to live up to your expectations.

Please be assured that we have shared your comments with the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of Guest Service that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was the third Riu Palace we visited. Previously we stayed in Playa Del Carmen and Punta Cana. We expected the same 5 star accommodations and they did not deliver. We enjoy and expected evening entertainment and dancing. There was none. One night of entertainment (no exaggeration) included 3 teenagers called on stage to stack plastic cups. There was some entertainment that lasted about an hour a night. Whenever the musician took a break, they did not return. Unfortunately, the meals were not memorable. 6 nights we dined at a specialty restaurant (there are 4 specialty restaurants).
lastly, and this is gross, there are 3 public bathrooms. The bathrooms were filthy. I don't want to go into detail but think worst case.
I have to leave with something positive. Most of the staff was friendly and accommodating. I spoke to one of the bar managers regarding the lack of entertainment and he agreed the resort needed to do something. He even seemed embarrassed.
Bottom line......I doubt we'll stay in another Riu property.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the wing. It's more convenient to the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pandccoppola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We always welcome feedback from our customers, since it gives us the opportunity to make appropriate improvements and changes where necessary.

We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and keep our guests content.

Please be assured that we have shared your comments with the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,961 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $436 - $828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24-hour All Inclusive Hotel Riu Palace Aruba opens all year round and is located directly on the beautiful Palm Beach. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Aruba Airport (10 km) and Oranjestad (11 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 450 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape at the fitness center. 2 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our discotheque in the neighboring Hotel Riu Palace Antillas. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet restaurant, Japanese and Italian, Fusion restaurants and Steakhouse, as well as 5 bars and our Capuchino patisserie & ice cream parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing