We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is nice. Not the best hotel I have stayed in that is rated as a 5. Older side of hotel is where I stayed. Room was okay bed was comfortable . You can hear people outside your door. Food was pretty good, if you can afford it, go out to the restaurants on the main road. Short walking distance. Some great food. Felt very safe at this resort. I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose5_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,910
    1,805
    727
    336
    317
See reviews for
1,575
3,183
66
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I, along with our brother, sister and their two children ages 7 and 9, stayed at the RIU Feb 15th-22nd. We had a great time. We were apprehensive as it seemed there was a lot of negative reviews on this resort, but rest assured this place is great. Also, if you think about it, the majority of the people who are going to write reviews are the ones who are pissed off and want to complain to someone!
Anyway, this is the first time we have stayed at this chain and I would definitely say that we will be using them again.
The food was amazing and we never waited in line to make reservations for the speciality restaurants. We just ate at the buffet the majority of the time. We also ate outside of the resort since we were in such a great location. I would definitely recommend the Amore Mio pizzeria as it was amazing!
The drinks were fabulous as well, however I didn't understand why the resort didn't carry the local Balashi beer, but there are so many choices its hard not to find something you enjoy! Make sure you go see Ana in the Sports Bar because she is the biggest sweetheart and really made our trip enjoyable!!!
The room- ok so lots of people on here complained about the bed... we were in the main building on the top floor and our bed and room was absolutely fine. No complaints whatsoever.
The beach was gorgeous although it was extremely windy! We were very thankful that we brought boca clips!
Excursions- We did three! We did the De Palm island tour for 1/2 day. Our nieces had a great time as there was a waterpark. 1/2 day was more then enough though! We did the Natural Pool Jeep Tour as well and all of us had a really great time! It was probably the best tour we have done out of all of our vacations. It was very informative and just a really fun time all around! Lastly, my husband and I did the dinner cruise. This was very romantic and we got some really great sunset pictures. We had a great time together :p
All in all it was a very fun vacation. It went by really fast. I could have easily stayed for another couple of days!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a junior suite in the main building on the 4th floor. We overlooked the courtyard which was a very nice view of the ocean. The room was very nice and very clean. The bed was plain and simply hard. If you like a firm bed, perfect. Apparently they offer a mattress topper but the thought of that kind of grossed me out, so we put up with the hard bed.
The food was as good as any all inclusive that we have stayed at. We are vegetarians so we didn't bother with the specialty restaurants as their menus were quite limited. The wine and particularly the sparkling wine that is served in the restaurant and the bar is really quite good. We have had the white wine at other Rius (Mexico, Bahamas) and it was awful... really awful. But this was good.
My husband tried out the spa services - went for a $155 US dollar massage that was supposed to include a scalp massage with oil - he said it wasn't worth it at all - the scalp part was practically non-existent and the massage was a huge waste of $$ and an hour.
We got to know some folks in the other buildings - the building on the right (where the spa is) is badly in need of an update - the folks said their room smelled like cigarettes and the paint was peeling. I think they are starting to reno this bldg as they were working on the outside.

For the price of this vacation, I was a bit disappointed in the state of the hotel. The lobby smells of cigarettes from the very small, sad looking casino that is off the lobby. There was a really nice mix of people from all over - not overwhelmed by any particular group. However, I would have to say that I did see some bad behaviour at the buffet. People - use the tongs, utensils, etc that are provided. I don't want your grubby hands on my food - especially when you are all sweaty from sitting by the pool, and you wander in with a beach cover up for lunch. (Not the hotel's fault!)
Beach chairs: Although people were saving beach chairs as they always do, we never had a problem finding 2 chairs together. Don't sit around the pool - go down to the beach - this has to be the best beach ever! The sand is beautiful. There is a very nice long, slow slope into the ocean - and the water is warm! Spend your time on the beach.
If you would like a number one tour of the island, email Stixx0001@hotmail.com - this is Kenneth's email - (email before you go as he says he doesn't check it all the time!). He gave us a phenomenal tour of the island and the price was much better than other tour operators. He can also be located by asking around for TX82 - Taxi 82.
For stuff to do, go check out Phillip's Animal Garden and the Donkey Sanctuary. Both are charity run and need the traffic and $$ to keep them open.

Room Tip: Ask to not be overlooking the garbage area between the Riu and the Westin. I overheard someone sayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LT1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went with my husband for what we hoped would be a relaxing vacation. The weather was beautiful, warm, but very windy (ate blowing sand all day and drinks-plastic cups flew away). We've traveled the carribean and are sad to say this was the worst vacation we've ever had. Staff unfriendly, no one looked like they were happy to be there nor willing to make your stay better. We were scolded for showing up 10 mins after dinner reservations. Their "king bed" is two twin mattresses pushed together with a sheet over it, most uncomfortable sleep we;ve ever had, hard as a rock and can't sleep in the middle due to the seam. Screaming spanish music via one large speaker by the ridiculously crowded pool and beach. You felt like you were right on top of people next to you who were either spanish/european with their young children or obese Americans looking for all you can eat. Pool was freezing cold. Drinks were watered down. Food was edible at best. Steer clear! Aruba is a beautiful island but IF I ever go back will try one of the low-rise hotels.

Room Tip: Don't settle for a first floor room, they must put people there in hope that they won't comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are sorry that we failed to live up to your expectations, but we are glad to know that you are satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel.

Please be assured that we have shared your comments with the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of Guest Service that are typical at our resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

First time in Aruba,my daughter and i are staying at the occidental. We walked along the palm beach area to check out the various resorts. We were struck by the beauty of the Riu and I went in to visit so we could book something for the future with family and friends. While we were there we asked about their spa services, and ended up booking two massages for the two of us. We were excited to return for our appt. at the end of a beautiful day, but just as we were about to enter the spa we were approached by "Alfredo " the security guard who told us to leave the property. I thought he was joking! He made a scene in front of a crowd of people and treated us like we were criminals. We explained that we had reservations and he rudely insisted that we leave,he would not even consider walking us a few feet to the door of the spa. I have never been so disappointed/embarrassed and disrespected. The general manager Richard Velasco did not even want to meet with us to listen to our complaint. The front desk of the Riu even agreed that the security guard acted inappropriately. I would NEVER return to the Riu Palace and would not recommend it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Katelin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such honest and detailed feedback.

We are disappointed to hear about your experience.

It’s a shame that you felt this way. It is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel. The ethos of our staff training requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time. The behaviour of our employees not meeting this criteria is inexcusable. We will raise this issue with those responsible and figure out the problem so that it does not reoccur. We thank you very much for your helpful and reasonable criticism.

We hope to see you again in RIU and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of Guest Service that are typical at our resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

For a Riu we were quite disappointed.
We were 4 sisters, first trip all together, and we were disappointed :
The food lacked flavor. I found they recycled. (Meaning, they would just dress it up differently.
It was fresh, but I feel it could have been alot better considering this is a 5 star.
Our shower had mold, this is unacceptable. Again, very disappointing for a Riu.
The drinks were TERRIBLE !!! One of my sisters had pieces of a straw in hers.
The bartenders, very rude. Was difficult even getting a drink, let alone, a good drink.
Low quality ingredients.

Fun 4 Every 1 Waterports Aruba, great guys.
Well worth the money : Big Mable,sooo much fun, Parasailing ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Awesome resort if you are looking to relax. We had a junior ocean view suite that truly had a breathe-taking view! Just sitting on our balcony with drinks was relaxing because of the beautiful view! The disadvantage of the room is there is no fan in the bathroom and they push together 2 double beds (just keep in mind its not the USA). ALL of the staff takes care of all your needs and make sure to make you feel at home. They keep you entertained with activities throughout the day. They announce all activities throughout the day so that when you need a break from the beach or the pool you can join. Definitely recommend aqua zumba after a few drinks. All of the food was good and the specialty restaurants were awesome. Yes birds fly around when you decide to sit outside while dining but this happens in every country and the staff quickly comes to the table to cover up you plates so that you are not sharing your meal with the birds. Drinks could come in larger cups however they do allow you to bring your own larger travel cups to be filled by the bartenders. We took down our own beach towels but they do provide them for you however come time to turn them in they sometimes run out of fresh ones or cards so you are stuck keeping your used towel. Definitely will return to the resort when I need a carefree getaway!

Room Tip: Only rooms with full ocean view are in building A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovekosgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,081 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, BookIt.com, West Indies, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing