We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at RIU Palace during our honeymoon. Overall we loved it. It was a beautiful hotel, great beaches, walking distance to shops/restaurants. The service in the restaurants and bars was great. The only few cons in my opinion is that they only have Polar and Heineken beers, I do wish they had Bud or Miller Lt and also the beds were very firm. They put a foam topper on ours and it was still hard. Overall the hotel was nice but not luxurious. For what we paid I was expecting a little more luxury but my travel agent kindly informed me that americans have "high standards" Again, by no means was it crappy, I just did expect a little more luxury when we upgarded our room. I don't know if it was due to timing but there were not many children at the hotel so the pool and beach were relaxing and peaceful. Great place for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,567 - 2,573 of 6,366 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I along with some friends chose the all inclusive Riu Palace to spend our week in Aruba. We were very happy with our choice. The hotel has such a grand feeling with a touch of mediterranean decor with it's high arches, intricate painted ceilings, and large wooden ceiling fans. The food was very good and the buffet areas have a large selection of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We never felt limited with the food options. There are also restaurants that take reservations. I highly recommend these as they are more formal and the food is served to you. All you have to do is make your reservations in the morning. Our hotel room was wonderful. We were on the very top floor with a balcony and a front view of the ocean. The view was so beautiful, especially the sunsets. We couldn't have asked for a better view. Our room was large, with a sitting area, and a nice bathroom. The king size bed is actually two smaller beds put together, so there is a crease in the middle. But all you have to do is ask for them to put on a padded mattress topper and it actually makes it pretty comfortable. The service we received was very pleasant, from housekeeping, wait staff, to the front desk. The pool area is large, and the bar tenders try to get your order as fast as they can. In order to reserve one of their palapas on the beach, you would need to get there early (and I mean early) like around 6am. They also host a shopping market one night where local artists sell their paintings or souvenirs which was nice. The entertainment was just ok, with a karaoke singer, and some dancers. This is our second time staying at a Riu Palace, the first being our honeymoon at Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen. We are very pleased with the Riu Palace hotel chain, so we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank indie_jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The rooms were very nice. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Was not impressed with the restaurants, too time constainted. If you didn't eat in between the certain times that they were open you were kind of screwed. 4 of the 5 restaurants you had to make reservations for, but we tried two of them, Milano & Krystal. They weren't that great, just average, we can make better meals at home. The pool area and beach area were very nice, but around the pool area it was the exact same thing every day. Exact same songs, exact same things they had going on, it was like GROUNDHOG DAY. The all-inclusive could turn out well for some people who are into drinking alot and being stuck in a rut, the same thing every day. Very crowded, not a lot of room to walk around and find a spot to lay out. Same things day after day.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, wouldn't recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TINKCELLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hello there, currently staying at the resort as we speak, we decided to take a picture on the balcony where I guess it is a restricted area, not that anyone told us or is written everywhere. Well after the manager whistle at us like we are dogs, he decided to come up to our room and verbally abuse us and become very confrontational, I guess this guy never heard of warning someone that this is wrong. I have been in customer service all my life and you should never act like this especially since this is the second time to the resort and it is not cheap. Hey manager, learn how to deal with people, a simple non confrontational warning is enough, we food not know it was off limits. Bar service staff, very very friendly but I am sure this was not trained by the manager.

Room Tip: If u can get a sweet, they are defend telly worth the money, just hope you don't have to interac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nelson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband & I travelled with 2 other couples from Feb 8-15.
Room# 1 - building B; Ground Floor. Jr suite facing service area/employee parking lot....
Room #2 - building C, 8th floor, Standard room, amazing view of the pool and ocean. (only downfall was we had to give up our king bed and opt for a double).

This was our first trip to Aruba and at the RIU Palace Aruba. We were very fortunate our flight was one of the ones in Toronto that wasnt cancelled due to the Feb 8 snow storm. We were delayed approx 5 hrs....but well worth the wait!

BOOKING: I booked a standard room (which are all located in the older C building) but requested a room upgrade to a Jr Suite in building A or B (newer buildings). To our surprise, we got the free upgrade. The room (#1) was gorgeous...however, it was on ground floor with a view of the employee service area.....couldnt keep the blinds open as staff were constantly walking by. After speaking with the front desk, they offered us a standard room on the top floor of building C with a pool and ocean view. They gave us the key to go and see it first before agreeing to move...we loved it!! (except for the double beds which wasnt a big deal to us. It just meant we got to sleep closer together in the double ;))

RESORT/GROUNDS: stunning! Very well kept.

ROOM /SERVICE: Towels were changed twice a day. Morning and at turn down in the evening. Bed was great. We had remotes so that you could adjust the firmness of the matress. Slept like babies every night.
Room service was great. Not a lot of items to chose from but we had the nachos and the club sandwitch and they were great.

BEACH: One of the best we've seen and we are frequent travellers. The palapas are gone very early in the morning however, there are several palm trees that you could get shade from. There were 6 of us travelling together and we had no issues getting loungers or a tree for shade after 8am. The sun is very hot....i dont typically burn but I did on day 1 using 30 and 60 SPF. Be careful.....you dont really feel the heat sometimes because of the constant breeze.
You need the breeze although as without it, you couldnt stay on the beach,

FOOD: Buffet was sooooo good! Something for everyone. We ate at the Japanese a la carte and it was ok......the steakhouse another night and that one was horrible....portions were so small and nothing special.

CASINO: Was ok. We only walked in it to see it...didnt play although

ENTERTAINMENT: Lacking, but thats because you have everything across the street. Senior Frogs and another club (cant remember the name), plus lots of lounges, bars, restaurants all walking distance. Something to do every night. The resort is pretty quiet after 10pm.

EXCURSIONS: we did De Palm Island and would definately recommend it. It was so much fun! $100 per person gets you to the private island with unlimited banana boat rides, snorkelling, food and drinks, water park and beach. For $40 more, you can do Sea Trek (walk on the ocean floor approx 20ft down with these cool helmets). We also rented a van for a day and toured the island on our own. Visited Baby Beach (nice), the lighthouse....

CHECKOUT: Is at 12 noon. We had a 10pm flight out and were able to keep one of our rooms (there was 3 of us couples) which was great. At noon, we moved everything over to our friends room and enjoyed the whole day on the beach. If you need to keep your room (provided its available), they charge you $20/hr...we got it free of charge although ;)

Overall, we had a great time with great friends. This was our 2nd RIU palace and would definately recommend the chain to others and especially the RIU palace Aruba. We will definately be back soon :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up facing the pool. You will automatically get an ocean view with the pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

There were 14 of us including 2 babies that stayed at the Riu Palace Aruba the first week in December 2012. After a bit of a bad start with Sunwing check in and not getting pre-arranged seats that were paid for we were on our way. After arriving at the hotel and finding that they had accommodated all of us on the same floor (4) in the old building we had some hesitations on requesting to be moved due to the outdated rooms. I think the view of the pool and we were facing the beach far outweighed the older bathroom and broken bed rollers so we stayed. The rooms were clean, bar was stocked and fridge was kept full (including beer). The food was amazing... I can't believe that people complained they couldn't find something they like (and we had some picky eaters with us..) You do have to rise early to get a spot on the beach but well worth it. Absolutely gorgeous!!!! The pool was a lot of fun and swim up bar serving everyone promptly. There was a short walk to town, some local bars, outdoor vendors and shops. We all felt very safe walking about whether to town or along the boardwalk. I would suggest either early morning or after dinner for these strolls because it does get hot during the day. After visiting about 20 resorts in the last 6 years including Jamaica, Cuba, Dominican and Mexico I would strongly suggest you take this trip.... We will be going back again and most likely will stay at the Riu since it had something for everyone..... I wouldn't give it a 5 star but a very high 4 just until they complete the upgrades in the old building... then they would get a 5+ from us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

If you travel once every five years, this may seem okay. However, after a honey moon in Tahiti, this is trash. Wifi only works in the lobby, u have to ask for the code every day. Reservations to the "restaurants" have to be made only between 9-12. They don't care If u r on vacation and want to sleep late. All the people hate their jobs and therefore suck at them. We got upgraded which is nice. There are elevators going to the 10th floor only and our room is on the 11th so we had to take the steps. The staff is actually kind of rude, takes 10 min to sit u down and 20 to bring you coffee. Food selection is okay. Beach is nice and so is the pool. But as far as the hotel, it's a huge franchise which doesn't make u feel special at all. I'd never return and would never recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank afficionada23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,839 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
929 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $428 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing