We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort, Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Linda Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Resort, Great Location!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Playa Linda recently. The beach was beautiful, as was the pool area. So much within walking distance that a car really isn't necessary unless you want to explore the island.

Here's what's included in the unit - full size fridge, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. Hair dryer, daily maid service, and plenty of storage. Ice available in the laundry room or make your own in the unit. Daily beach towel exchange. Morning coffee at the beach and ice water all day. Plenty of shopping and eating choices on site and near by.

We had a second floor one bedroom near the back on the outside, so the view wasn't anything special. While the unit was fine, I found it a bit depressing, especially the bedroom where there were no windows so virtually no natural light. With every light in the room turned on, it was still not well lit. Bed was very comfortable, however. While we occasionally heard noise in the hallway at night, I never heard any noise from the units on either side of us, so sound-proofing was good.

Here's the deal on the "chickees." If you want a first or second row spot, you do need to get to the beach before the attendant comes around to register choices at 6 am, and it IS fun to be near the front for people- and boat-watching. If that's not important to you, there are plenty of open huts into the morning.

One more note - if you like to have a cocktail in your room, buy at the dury-free store at the airport when you arrive. The prices really are half as much as in stores on the island, if not better than half.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mathtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    197
    38
    7
    10
See reviews for
503
321
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet trip with little excitement. It is mostly an older family crowd and there is zero night life in the hotel. It is however, terrficly located within walking distance of many restaurants, the mall and quite a few bars. The beach is gorgeous and not one time did I have to wake up extremely early to ensure we got a chickee. The grounds and rooms could use a slight bit of updating but if you're anything like my husband and I you'll barely be in the room to notice. Overall I would recommend Playa Linda to my mother but not to anyone under 55.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coreym207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

After reading review on this hotel, I thought we were going to be thrilled with our stay here. I couldn't have been more wrong. To be short and to the point........ The employees were extremely rude, the room was filled with mold and smelled so bad of mildew that I woke up at 2:30 in the morning coughing uncontrollably with glands the size of golf balls. My daughters and I got instantly sick. I stayed up all night our first night there searching for a new hotel and thankfully found a beautiful room in the Hyatt next door. When we first got there and asked for a room change, every staff member gave us a different reason why they couldn't switch our room, and one woman said she could actually move us to a different room for an extra $463 per night. Worst experience ever. If you like clean hotels and friendly people, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLBRARUBA, Manager at Playa Linda Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. Indeed upon check-in you expressed your dissatisfaction with the condition of the unit you were in, and we have offered you another one bedroom unit. However, you insisted on a two bedroom suite on that Sunday, which unfortunately was not available at the moment and a two bedroom suite was put on hold for you for the following day. Unfortunately we cannot offer free upgrades and there’s a difference in rates for going from a one bedroom to a two bedroom. The rate for a two bedroom with taxes is $463.00 compared to the one bedroom that is less expensive. We are a timeshare resort and members that do put their units up for rent do expect a return.
We offered several options on that Sunday but you mentioned that you will stay in that unit for the night and will change to the two bedroom suite in the morning.

After 2:30 am you approached the night auditor at the desk for alternatives, and he had showed you a couple of units, but still you didn’t like any of them
That morning you spoke to the Front desk manager in the lobby and expressed that you were not satisfied with the accommodations and wanted to leave. Still the Front desk manager mentioned to you that we do have a two bedroom on hold, but you opted to leave anyway. For the inconvenience you experienced that night we waived the 1 night penalty for leaving unexpected and cleared the hold on your credit card.

We are sorry that Playa Linda didn’t exceed your expectations but are relieved it did not spoil your impression of Aruba. At Playa Linda we do have pride in being totally customer friendly and the fact that we are a sold out timeshare resort does bring with it that we do not have the entire room inventory at our disposition. We are very happy, however, that you enjoyed your stay at the Hyatt and had an enjoyable vacation in Aruba. We hope your next vacation on the island is a glorious one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time at Playa Linda, it is now my favorite place to stay in Aruba. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Playa Linda, we will definitely come back. We weren't exactly thrilled when we got a room on the main floor, but it turned out to be a good thing, we were only a few minutes from the beach, no stairs or waiting for the elevator.
There are three very good restaurants and two places to get breakfast. As well as the bar/restaurant on the pier which we ate lunch at a few times. There are also many restaurants within walking distance. Most, but not all,restaurants in Aruba charge a 15% service charge that gets split among the staff. That is to make up for the guests from countries that don't do the tipping thing. I usually tip 20% so I just threw in another 5% cash which goes to the waiter or bartender.
The room was nothing special but it was clean and the a/c worked great. Full sized fridge in the kitchen, which contained everything to prepare and serve every meal if you want to stay in. It is an older hotel, but clean and cozy and welcoming. It is happy to be what it is, simply a nice place to stay and enjoy the best island in the Caribbean.

It is a timeshare resort, but owners are always renting out their weeks. Usually available on their website. I

I love Aruba and highly recommend Playa Linda. But even if you don't stay here I will recommend that you do NOT go to an all-inclusive in Aruba. There are too many good restaurants to enjoy, don't lock yourself into eating at one hotel. Especially the Occidental, the food is downright awful there and they will hound you nonstop to get you to buy a timeshare.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hfc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just got back from a 6 night stay at this resort. I will say I stayed with a friend who is a time share owner. This was my first time in the Caribbean and I must say I am hooked. We got there via taxi and that was easy enough and my friend checked us in and then on the screen it tells you if your room is ready, at first it was not but then it was.
The room was 1 bedroom. It included a table with 4 chairs, a daybed, sofa, coffee table. The kitchen was great if you wanted to cook. Oven refrigerator, sink and dishware.
The bedroom was a queen size bed (I think) dresser and 2 thin (armoire like) cabinets that you can hang clothes in and also has a big drawer on the bottom.
The bathroom was my only issue. The fan did not exhaust all too well so it got really steamy in there and there are 2 toilet paper rolls but the place they put them in was really odd.

We ate in the restaurant located by the pool Azzuro. This place was really nice (open air) and the food was really good. I had escargot and chicken parmesan and both were excellent.

The pool is nice but I did not use it. It had a waterfall going into it and it was zero entry.

It took a couple of days to find the gym. The signage is wrong. It is located down by the garage. It looked good but I did not use it.

Each floor had 2 washer machines and 1 dryer near the elevator. These take tokens which can be bought in the lobby. Each machine is equaled to $2.00 and the detergent and fabric softener are also the same amount.

The beach is great. You do have to get early if you want a chickee but you can put a towel down on the beach and lay there if you want to but with the sun it might get really hot. There is a Dunkin' Donuts located on the beach. I preferred Scot's Brats but they do not have coffee. You can rent rafts also on the beach.

The water did smell like rotten eggs a little when you went out further in it. It definitely did not stop anyone from swimming.

There are plenty of good restaurants in the area and plenty of shopping for touristy items.

The casinos are great. I won some money in one of them.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Aruba whether you are renting from an owner or not.

Room Tip: Bring down laundry detergent and fabric softener if you plan on doing laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottinbronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a guest for 8 days and I sure had a great time. The room was clean and maids kept it that way. The pool was nice and hottubs were clean. The front desk was helpful with suggestions and directions. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BELLYWOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC,NY
Level Contributor
117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Clean, beautiful place. Front desk staff was great, very helpful! Ms. Jones is amazing!!!!!!

However, Consigliere desk gave us wrong info for all three of the tours/ dinners we booked. I am glad that I asked the front deal personnel to call the tours the night before or else we would have missed them.

Get to the beach to grab a chickee at 6 am if you want one on the front line. A chickee is the palm tree umbrella on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joannnacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,694 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,993 reviews
2.5 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Linda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Linda Beach Resort

Property: Playa Linda Beach Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 87, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Linda Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Linda Beach Resort offers you all of the unspoiled pleasures of tropical island vacationing at it's best. Situated directly on World renowned white sand Palm Beach one of Aruba's finest and overlooking six miles of breathtaking Caribbean coastline. You'll especially enjoy the resort's swimming pool featuring a lovely waterfall and lush, tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Vacatia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Linda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Linda Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Playa Linda Beach
Playa Linda Aruba
Playa Linda Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing