We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By far the best beach on the island!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aruba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“By far the best beach on the island!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our second year at Manchebo where we add 4 days on to our week stay at Marriott Surf Club. Although we love the unit at the Surf Club, we can't wait to get Manchebo's quiet and uncrowded beach. The rooms have been redone recently, not large, but very comfortable. Service has always been accomodating and friendly! It's a perfect relaxing end to our vacation and we look forward to going back again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,658
    480
    121
    28
    20
See reviews for
276
1,561
58
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa is a very nice venue for a warm weather getaway for couples or families. The resort is not at all ostentatious. The exterior is understated and the individual rooms, while perfectly comfortable, are certainly neither large nor plush. The grounds, however, are impeccably maintained and all the staff are friendly and courteous to a fault. There is a beautiful swimming pool, a nice outdoor, beach-style bar, and an indoor-outdoor bistro style restaurant that is decent. The beach itself is probably the nicest and widest in all Aruba. In fact, it is the widest I've ever seen anywhere. Plenty of capacity for beach-goers. Food in the bistro was good, though not exceptional. Would not recommend breakfast, as it was overpriced and mediocre. Many folks have written about the all-inclusive package. We didn't take it and are glad that we didn't. There are many outstanding restaurants within a 10-minute drive of Manchebo (see my reviews for Passions on the Beach and Barefoot) that cost about the same and the food is dramatically better.
One minor complaint about the room. The bed, while comfortable, is supplied only with an all-in-one comforter. This left my spouse and me in a perpetual state of being either too hot or too cold and trying to adjust the A/C to compensate. A simple top sheet would be a nice addition! Overall, though, Manchebo is a very nice place for a vacation and its location is about as good as it gets. Hopefully, they will get a fitness center (some of their marketing literature said one is coming in "early 2014" but we could see no sign of it).

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a ocean-view room or you will be looking at an unremarkable parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great place to relax. Beautiful beach, not crowded. Wonderful staff. Quiet during the day and night. Easy to get to other parts of the island via a taxi. No need to leave the resort if you don't want to. There are shops, restaurants, a casino near by. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our second visit for us to the Manchebo Beach Hotel. We booked it separately from other hotels which were available, despite being less expensive, simply because we really liked it there; the food is great, staff is very friendly and helpful and treat us like family, the hotel is quiet, small, clean, superb, and the beach is not crowded.
We were at a local restaurant and a resident waiter in Aruba goes here when he has time off for a vacation; that says volumes!

We would highly recommend to anyone without a second thought!

Room Tip: The fitness center is adequate, and is being updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

‘Manchebo Beach Resort and Spa’ is set on a beautiful beach - namely ‘Eagle Beach’. It’s because of this beach that any hotel would straight away gain some quality rating.
Our Pointers in order of noted superiority:-
>Excellent staff 5/5
>Clean room 4/5
>Food OK 3/5 (this is why we are only giving 4 marks out of 5)
>Beach beds and Towels 5/5
>Clean beach and clear blue sea with shark safety nets 5/5
>Toilets around pool side and hotel 2/5
>Pool 4/5
>Fitness Room - A few things on display on the side of the bar - nothing to write home about.

•Excellent staff which we could not fault anyone of them. From arriving to leaving - They were so pleasant, helpful, and down to earth. Some were very funny and entertaining. i.e. ‘Lincoln’ and other bar staff!!! – Yes I’m still singing ‘Bob Marley’ songs, but thankfully not falling off my seat!!! My hubby now also has a new remedy for heart burn!!!
•Our room overlooked the beach with sliding patio doors and outside sitting area. Beds, mattresses, duvets and pillows were so comfy – a delight to sleep in. Decor was good, but could be better in terms of giving colour infusion. Cleanliness of room was good. Plenty of towels.
•Hotel was disabled friendly. From carpark to lower rooms – all flat. However room doors may not be wide enough for a wheelchair, unless the hotel has a room purposely built for disabled. But the lower room patio doors would be ideal for access.
•Hotel was clean and well maintained – tranquil throughout. A few areas did need updating.
•Food was fine, but not excellent, did expect better considering the right up of the place. We were also ‘all inclusive’ thus we were tied.
Steaks are excellent in both French Steakhouse and Ike’s, however; there was not much else to compliment the dishes, apart from mashed potato every time – no top chef style chunky homemade chips. There were no sauces or enough vegetables to compliment. There was also not enough variety of food dishes on offer, thus each night it became monotonous. Hotel should try European dishes, as everyone loves an Italian, French, English dish. Food also took too long to be served in the Ike’s Bistro – 1hr or more every time. They are aware of this, as they always offer little pastry triangles every time ‘compliments of the chef’, well one night they got ‘complaint to the chef’, thus I think I got someone else’s meal straight away!
Pega –Pega Beach Bar food was as it should be - Bar food with more variety on offer for the lunch time, and it was good. Pity this pool bar isn’t open all the time, as it could create more custom and options to the hotel all incl guest/patrons.
•Beach beds - Basically, don’t panic, there are enough of them. As for location, yes everyone seems to want the front view, thus you have to be up early (7am) to get a bed. But we were quite happy anywhere around the beach, as everywhere had a perfect view and easy access to the Bar; especially for the excellent service of drinks being brought to you via - you are given a flag to stand into the beach for service.
You are also given beach towels every day if required. The beige towels represent you belong to the hotel and not a stranger.
•Toilets around the complex – unfortunately there is not enough of them.
•Breakfast is ok, but could have more of a choice. The breakfast is more continental and not cosmopolitan (not serving every nation’s palate) Believe or not Europeans and Americans do like a good English breakfast. The pastries were also undercooked.

Now I must mention the pool-side night time dining -(Health & Safety issue). The seats are around the pool, which looks lovely, but in reality, not pratical, as my husband nearly went into the pool, due to a drunk American woman called L---a (yes she was loud, and everyone knew her - even though she was funny), was not walking in a straight line, thus did not realise she banged into my husband whilst seated - him, his chair and the table nearly went into the pool - I of course grabbed the table thus stopped a tradegy, needless to say, my husband had a few flutters in his heart, and I just couldnt stop laughing, as it did look funny, however, this could have been a nasty event, especially if we were elderly.

I must also mention the 'All Inclusive' which includes service charge (Tips) - not everything is 'All Inclusive' and you are warned at the beginning on arrival. Anything with a * is extra, its on your bill, but you pay for this at the end of your holiday when the receptionist gives your last bill. Well, we became confused the first night when the head waiter in the French Steakhouse mentioned the above. It was put in a way of 'it had to paid there and then', thus we paid the extra $30 to the bill there and then. We did get wise to this, and on the last night we went to the French steak house again, and again the head waiter said the extras need to be paid, to which he was going to take the money of my husband, but I stopped him in his tracks. So the head waiter got $30 tip on that first night, then we had to pay again on our last bill on leaving. 'Confused' yes we still are, and if something is 'All Inclusive' then that is what it should be - Our suggestion - dont go 'All Inclusive'. Also extra's are 'named wine etc' and certain steaks - advice - stick to the local.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela6067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Let me say... we visited the hi rise area and it really showed me how good my decision was to pick Manchebo. Manchebo was so relaxing and laid back. There was lots of room on the beach and getting a palapa on the beach every day was very easy. We chose not to do the all-inclusive since my wife was pregnant and wouldn't be able to drink alcohol. Even if she had been able to, we probably would have chosen not to do the AI because there are a lot of other options to eat on the island. We also did not rent a car since it seemed a little intimidating to try to drive around on the island. Short, cheap taxi rides were plentiful and enough for us. My only complaint would be that the breakfast was not that great and we had a minor issue with tiny ants in our room on 3 out of the 4 nights. Other than that, our stay was great and I would recommend this place to anyone looking to go to Aruba and relax.

Room Tip: We were in room 2, bottom floor ocean view room and it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I had never been to Aruba before, so we booked reservations back in December. We picked the Manchebo resort based almost entirely on other Trip Advisor reviews. The accommodations lived up to the hype as the room had a fantastic view, and the beach was incredible. If you are heading there, ask for Room #61. Although all of the rooms have balconies, this one looks straight out over the ocean (many of the others have ocean views, but they also overlook some part of the resort). We woke up every morning staring straight out at the fluffy clouds and the water. The only thing between our balcony and the beach was the Spa del Sol day spa, which we also highly recommend.

The staff at Manchebo is top notch. All of the people are extremely friendly and excited to help. From the time of check in (where we were greeted with complimentary Mojitos) to our final night there, everyone was fantastic. We highly recommend that you spend happy hours with the great team at the Pega Pega bar (part of Manchebo). Phoebus and Nacio make some extraordinary island drinks, but can also whip up a classic martini in a matter of seconds. Also worth mentioning, is one of the attendants who handles the beach. We didn't catch his name, but this kid works hard! He spends his day making sure that the guests have beach chairs, towels and anything else they need to enjoy the day in the sun. He's there from sun up to sundown, and constantly smiling and standing by to help.

The only reason we aren't giving Manchebo five stars is the food. The restaurants on site are convenient, and once again the service is great, but the food itself was unmemorable. It certainly wasn't bad by any stretch...it just wasn't great. We ate at both Ike's Bistro and French Steakhouse, and neither were worth writing home about. We did not get the all-inclusive package, which in hindsight, was a good move. Even if we had loved the restaurants, we aren't sure we could have consumed enough food/alcohol to make it worth while. The drinks are very reasonably priced, so you'd have to kill yourself to cover the cost of the all-inclusive.

So overall, this place was wonderful. It's easy to get to from the airport (only a $22 fair), it has plenty of palapas on the beach, the views are incredible, the staff is inviting, the drinks are delightful...we can go on and on!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are worth the price! Room #61 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kjcavalieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.7 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,546 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.4 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 55, Palm - Eagle Beach 99999, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Caribbean vacation experience begins at our intimate, 2-story boutique resort located on the shores of majestic Eagle Beach, an ideal place for romantic and rejuvenating getaways. The newly-renovated Deluxe Ocean and Deluxe Garden View Rooms offer attention to details and amenities, including spa-like bathrooms offering a rain/waterfall shower. The wellness experience includes a beach-side exotic Caribbean-Balinese style spa offering a variety of massages, body treatments as well as yoga & Pilates classes and fitness room. Optional premium fully a-la-carte all-inclusive program available featuring Ike's Bistro and French Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchebo Beach Resort And Spa
Manchebo Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing