We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended Resort with the best stretch of beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended Resort with the best stretch of beach!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hi, We are a couple in our early-late thirties. We chose this hotel from the reviews on tripadvisor and if we went back we wouldn't choose another hotel but Manchebo. The beach is simply amazing! The white sandy beach, beautiful and the wildest by this hotel. We found it very intimate just like the reviews say. It was easy to find a spot on the beach where we had our privacy. Room was clean, everything worked properly, we don't have extremely high expectations so we were more than satisfied with the whole experience. Staff was very helpful and lovely, they are very genuine people. We really didn't experience anything unpleasant (maybe more chose of breakfast would have been better). If you want to have a nice relaxing time with breathtaking views and atmosphere this hotel is a good pick. We found Aruba itself much windier than other Caribbean Islands.

Room Tip: As long as the room facing the beach its the best You can ever dream of!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szilvia1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. Glad you enjoyed our resort and wonderful staff. See you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,797
    499
    124
    27
    21
See reviews for
297
1,682
59
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was a special trip for us and it was everything I expected from the Caribbean. Just wonderful! First, the hotel is being upgraded extensively so it does look a little tired on the outside and in some areas but you can see by the rooms and the work they are putting in, it will be fabulous when finished. The rooms are lovely. We had a room with two large double beds and it was still a very decent size room. The bathroom and walk in shower with both an rainshower and normal head excellent. We got a room with a view and my biggest tip is spend the extra money to get one. We also saw the rooms with the king sized beds and they are great too. The rooms are fabulous. Extra things that surprised and delighted us as people used to European holidays. The safe was free! No charge! We were given a portable ice box which we could fill up with ice from machines located near the rooms and use to take our bottles of water/wine/beer down to the beach for the day! What a brilliant idea! A coffee machine in the room - again fresh coffee and not instant packets! We would have liked milk rather than the dried creamer though but in the scheme of things, hardly a real complaint! The fridge was a decent size too. We were delighted with the rooms.

We went B&B. The breakfast was adequate and basic and based more on continental Europe (cold meat and cheese) than American. The fruit and cereal selection were not extensive. The rolls were fresh and there was one hot egg dish every day. However, I was surprised that for a hotel that is meant to be a four star that there was not a more extensive choice of menu and more cook to order food - even a chef cooking an omelette to request would have been good. You had to pay extra for this type of food. I heard that the hotel are reviewing this and I hope they do. To me it is the only thing that really lets the hotel down.

We ate in all three restaurants and we enjoyed them all. One night we did not enjoy our steak in the French Steak House as much and when we mentioned this, our wine was deducted from the bill. Great customer service. We also ate in other restaurants around the island and the average cost would be $122 dollars for a bottle of wine, two starters and two main courses. This included the island's standard 15% service charge. This did annoy me as I always believe tipping should be optional. Of course, you can eat much cheaper - Pizza Bob's across the road did a $28 dollar pizza that would have fed a family of four. We took a doggy bag back and had it for lunch the next day! And that is the good thing about the Manchebo - if you did go room only, you don't have to feel you need to sneak food and drink into the hotel to eat on your balcony. We also ate in Matthews which is in the hotel next door and that was fabulous. My husband raved about the mashed potato!! Who raves about mashed potato but an Irish man! I have forgotten the names of the other restaurants but, generally, no complaints. The restaurants cover all palates.

Going back to the Manchebo, the staff were absolutely wonderful. Friendly, polite, funny, hard working, helpful - they were just superb. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them. I cannot single anyone out as they were just all so good. But the whole island seemed to be like this - friendly, welcoming people - we felt so much at home.

We never used the pool at all. The beach was just so wonderful and why would you want to lounge by the pool when you have pristine white sand and warm blue seas in front of you. The Manchebo really does have the best location and when you walk the beach either side you really appreciate it. There is a strong surf which if you are unprepared can knock you off balance and once you are in the water, you can feel a strong current/flow. However, I am not the greatest of swimmers and I felt very safe. But please do not let this put you off - you really get into the swing of walking in and out with the waves! Pagodas were never short but if you did want a front one, drop your towels off on the way to breakfast! People did not abuse this like they do in Europe. I would suggest though that as part of the upgrading, the hotel replaces the beds. They are not the best now!

Happy hour in the Pega Pega was great. My advice to the hotel though would be to explore getting draught beer/lager. We did feel that the price of the small bottles were a little on the steep side and my husband missed draught lager. He always experiments with the local draught on holidays and was disappointed that the hotel did not have this. The cocktails were varied and wonderful and their day food menu was good and varied. And to sit on the beach and to put your flag up for service felt wonderfully decadent and added to the feeling of this was a special holiday and hotel.

I cannot praise the staff and the hotel enough. They have a manager's cocktail party every Tuesday for an hour. Go because it is a nice social event where you get to chat to people but the staff and manager do talk to you. He may smile when you suggest cushions for the chairs but he does talk to you!! And I have to say this. Yes, there is construction work going on. Yes, you could hear it but it was a bit like background noise. We were amazed to hear that people complained about it but equally amazed that the hotel credited us (and all the other rooms) $75 to spend on cocktails. That was really good.

Other things - taxis are reasonable - $9 to the high rise area for example. Lots of restaurants, market stalls and shops. In the town, the shops close at 6.30 pm which we found disappointing as it was too hot to go shopping during the day. So we can't comment on that.

A fabulous hotel with wonderful staff. I'm trying to figure out if I can afford it again!!! Thank you to all.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a decent sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youmeandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your in depth review of our resort which I believe is much appreciated by the TripAdvisor community. Great to see you had a wonderful experience and that you are already looking forward to return.
As for the breakfast we recently introduced a nice breakfast buffet featuring fresh fruits, home made granola, cereals, Greek yogurt, cold cuts, fresh breads, daily chef egg specialties, coffee and juices and much more at a reasonable price of $14.50. Rather than offering a full buffet including cooking station at a higher price we believe offering the smaller intimate buffet at a reasonable price and letting it up to the customers to add extra items whenever desired is a great option as well. In addition to the buffet we also offer a nice a-la-carte menu for those who like to get served and who are not in a hurry to run to our perfect beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

After getting married a week ago. My wife and I stayed here fit our honeymoon. Loved the area. Aruba and the staff here were so helpful and friendly. Food was great at any if the three restaurants. The beach was so close to the resort. We loved the rainshower overhead in the bathroom. Overall, a fantastic time for a couple who has never been to Aruba before. I would highly recommend this to anyone at any age. It was truly one happy resort and island too. I will be back at our a anniversary in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your nice trip review. Glad you discovered our One Happy Island and our intimate beach resort. We indeed have a wonderful team here at the Manchebo and we look forward welcoming you back at many anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having visited here before, but more than 2 years ago, we were totally impressed with the remodeling of the entire resort, but especially the rooms. If you want "close to water" on a white sandy beach with superb accomdations, check them out.....one minor drawback, there is still some minor construction going on... a bit noisy during the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The recent room rejuvenation program has indeed impressed our many repeat guests, first-time visitors as well as the competition. See you back at your next One Happy Island visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

To start with, don't bother sending them e-mails. I did but never got a reply. That should of been the first clue, but I decided to give it a try anyway.
When we arrived, I asked guy at the front desk if we can get an upgrade. I did not said, free upgrade, just an upgrade. I knew the room was available as I checked it before boarding the plane. There were three of us, all adults, so I was interested in 1BR suite. They guy "pretended" he did not understand or did not want to bother, he said, we will give you a room with two beds. The room # 10 was nothing like on the picture as the picture was taken from the second floor room much loser to the sea. It was facing construction and utility building. It was tiny with two not even full size beds one almost on the top of the other. Huge fan that did not fit in that tiny room. The worst part was that the room was on the first floor and everyone walking by can see everything unless you keep the glass doors covered with curtains. Bathroom did not have a bath tab, just a shower. We can't use the fridge as it was making horrible noises which would not let us sleep at night.
Resort grounds looked nice, clean and had beautiful landscaping. The pool was small and they let an outsides to swim in as well as use their beach chairs (I saw a few times). Security did nothing about that.
Beach is large, very windy and sea was rough with big waves which makes it hard to get in or out.
The noise from construction was awful and they did not stop even on Sunday!

Food was just OK, nothing special. Service was good, we never wait longer than here in US. Bartenders in PeagPega Bar were great, always with a smile and were making excellent drinks. Beer selection was below our expectations though. Waiters at Georgio's were also very nice and service was great.

For the money we spent, we could of rent a 2BR timeshare unit next door, be on the same beach and eat at the same restaurants.

We decided after all that Aruba is not for us. Way too windy and the sea is too rough. We can find much better place to visit next time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler85_BostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Appreciate your in-depth feedback as it gives me an opportunity to see where we can do better next time. I did check your issue with the one-bedroom suite and found out that another was upgraded to the suite on the day of your arrival and since the resort only features one suite it was not available upon check-in. Aruba is indeed a windy island with the north-east trade winds cooling you down on the beach during the warm sunny afternoons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife & I recently spent four days at Manchebo Beach in Aruba. All in all the experience was very good. The grounds are beautiful, the room was very nice (probably the most comfortable bed we had ever slept in), and the beach was amazing. The pool was not as large (but not as crowded) as some of the "high rise hotels" up the beach but it was simple and nice. However, a jacuzzi would be a nice addition. The front desk service was exceptional! They were VERY helpful in getting us tours lined up, jeep rentals, restaurant recommendations. All we had to do was ask. Our only conern was the massages we got from the Spa Del Sol. The massage therapists seemed to be in a ruch (which is odd, because a 60 minute massage takes 60 minutes no matter how fast or slow you go). Everyone at the resort was very very kind and friendly. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent Honeymoon experience at our intimate boutique resort. Glad you had a wonderful time. Appreciate your recommendation and we look forward welcoming you back on many anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from vacation at the Manchebo Beach Resort. Words can not explain what an awesome resort this is. From the location, food, room, drinks and especially the outstanding staff. Can not wait to return to this beautiful resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
A Great Place To Vacation says it all. Thank you for calling it an awesome resort. See you back on your next Aruba - One Happy Island trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,518 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,816 reviews
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,237 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
618 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 55, Palm - Eagle Beach 99999, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Caribbean vacation experience begins at our intimate, 2-story boutique resort located on the shores of majestic Eagle Beach, an ideal place for romantic and rejuvenating getaways. The Deluxe Ocean and Deluxe Garden View Rooms offer attention to details and amenities, including spa-like bathrooms offering a rain/waterfall shower. The wellness experience includes a beach-side exotic Caribbean-Balinese style spa offering a variety of massages, body treatments as well as yoga & Pilates classes and fitness room. Optional premium fully a-la-carte all-inclusive program available featuring Ike's Bistro, The Chophouse and Omakase Sushi Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchebo Beach Resort And Spa
Manchebo Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing