We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best beach on the island, quiet and relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This review is a belated one as I stayed at Manchebo Beach Resort in August of 2008. However, it left such an impression on me that I can clearly remember all the details as if it happened yesterday.

Manchebo Beach Resort is located on what I feel is the best beach on the island with soft white sand and clear blue water. Unlike the high rise hotel area a few miles north, the Eagle/Palm Beach area is much quieter and more relaxing. Thus there probably aren't as many 'things to do' like jet ski rentals, parasailing or other activities available in the immediate area(although you see them passing by in the water). But for me the quietness was what I was after and you can find activities at the high rise district and towards downtown Oranjestad.

I was first given a room on the second floor on the left side of the resort facing the beach with a balcony and a nice view. For some reason I cannot recall after one night they moved me to room 19 on the bottom floor near the ice machine and I liked it much better. No balcony obviously but a sliding glass door that led right out to the beach area. The rooms were a good size and clean, though not 'high end'. More like a lazy beach bungalow type feel, but definitely adequate and comfortable. Internet access is available with reasonable speed and price.

Lizards!!! They're all over the place. I left my door slightly ajar and a tiny Geico looking lizard ran in and was running all over the room. I opened the sliding glass door and he eventually scrambled out. Some of the lizards are pretty good sized and mostly just hang around. I never tried to feed or pet them and do not know if it is recommended.

There is good dining at the resort, including Giorgio's(veal parmesan, pescatore) and the French Steakhouse(seafood crepe, french onion soup). Be advised that tips are automatically added to your bill at some(maybe all) of the restaurants. Check your receipt to avoid double tipping. For my splurge nights I went to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse(iceberg lettuce, petite filet mignon, berries w/ cream) at the Marriott in the high rise district and L.G. Smith's(lobster thermador) at the Renaissance downtown. There is a Dunkin' Donuts located in the parking lot of the Manchebo Resort for a quick snack.

Fitness facilities were minimal in a small but clean room. I had a more thorough workout at the Divi Phoenix Resort located about a mile or so towards the high rise district (about $10). The Marriott has an outstanding fitness facility but is only open to Marriott guests.

Downtown Orangestad is just a 10 minute bus ride from the hotel, and the high rise district is about 15 minutes in the opposite direction. The bus stop is conveniently located across the street from the Manchebo Beach parking lot.

Based on more recent reviews, it seems Manchebo Beach has undergone some remodeling and updating. If so, then this can only improve what is already a fantastic and relaxing getaway spot. I look forward to staying again someday and enjoying the improvements. If you're goal is quiet, vegetation and relaxation the Manchebo Beach Resort is the best bet on the island.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms with sliding glass doors have more immediate access to the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pingvuiini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you for your trip report and wonderful comments about our peaceful intimate beach resort located on Aruba's widest beach. 3 years later we have indeed rejuvenated the guest experience of our guests with a total extreme make-over. All new bathrooms with relaxing rainfall shower and a host of thoughtful amenities. The rooms have been completely re-tiled and the bed experience with soft 3--thread count linens has made the sleeping experience a great one just to name a few of the upgrades. Needless to say our (repeat) guests are loving it and we look forward to welcome you back as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,500)
There are newer reviews for Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,679 - 1,685 of 2,500 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

By far best beach in Aruba. Hotel rooms clean, renovated, but still average. Resort was very clean, but dated. The service and food was average. Having had high surf during our stay, the other resort's beaches were washed out and Manchebo was completely intact. Has the widest beach we saw in all directions. We were very happy to have picked the best spot. Low rise hotel that is not nearly as busy as the high rise resort casinos which is what we were looking for. Great for relaxation on the beach. We did not do the all-inclusive. Better food was found elsewhere. If you are interested in sailing and snorkeling you will have to travel down to the high rise area which is only 10 min. away (about $9 cab fair). Great location that could be beautiful if given more attention!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ally087_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. Having the best beach location on the island we agree that the resort deserves and needs lots of attention. We are very pleased with the outcome of our recently completed $2 million room rejuvenation as are our guests. But of course we will not sit idle and continue to further enhance the perfect vacation experience our guests are looking for. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Wonderful resort and all inclusive location. Great staff, beach and restaurants. I recommend the all inclusive package. Spa de Sol is excellent, best massage I have ever had, it will break the bank. Very spacious beach area, chairs and palm umbrellas are spread out and you feel very open, this resort does not pack them in like their neighbors. Good snorkeling right off the Manchebo beach front.

Room Tip: Rooms are recently remodeled. Ocean view does face the ocean but there is quite a bit of distance, o...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you for sharing your recent honeymoon at Manchebo. Glad to hear you enjoyed our exotic spa facility Spa del Sol located right on the beach overlooking the wide stretch of beach. The beach experience is indeed like no other with 50 beach shade cabanas spread out over the wide beach you really feel like having you own part of paradise for the week. Looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Manchebo gave us a much needed relaxing honeymoon!! We did the all-inclusive plan and definitely got our money's worth. The a-la-carte prices at Manchebo are pretty expensive, so if you don't want to worry about pricing out meals and drinks, the all-inclusive is the way to go. The food at the Steakhouse and the Italian restaurant is very good, as are the lunch options at Pega Pega. Definitely try the fish tacos- they're delicious!

The resort is still finishing up its renovations, particularly the rooms that were right underneath our room, but it didn't bother us at all. (I was a little confused to see construction going on when Manchebo had released a press statement saying that the renovations were complete, but oh well!)

We were never ever in our room anyway with that gorgeous beach just steps from our room. The beach is definitely the main attraction at this resort. Having such a wide stretch of beach makes for beautiful pictures and gorgeous views. We never had any trouble getting a front-row palapa in the morning and spent our time relaxing in the beautiful Aruba weather.

Our renovated room was gorgeous - very clean and beautiful. We had a great view of the beach and the ocean from room #46. The rainfall shower is pretty cool, but for some reason there isn't a lip between the shower and the rest of the bathroom floor so watch out, because water does tend to get everywhere!

The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. We especially liked the flag drink service on the beach (although service could be a little spotty, but overall it was nice to not have to leave my chair to get a cocktail!) The front desk staff helped us call cabs to go downtown a couple of times and was very accommodating.

Our all inclusive plan included one off-property dinner and we chose to go to Driftwood downtown. Definitely recommend this restaurant - the mahi mahi was delicious!!

Overall this resort gave us exactly what we wanted - a rejuvenating and relaxing honeymoon at a beautiful and quiet beach. We will definitely return to Manchebo in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Don't get me wrong, this resort is very nice and we were satisfied with our stay....but they don't quite have it all together....yet. The room we stayed in was newly remodeled, clean and comfortable with an ocean view. The bed and linens were SO nice! They didn't replenish our toiletries and soap however. The hotel was undergoing construction and our room bordered the work. The noise didn't wake us as the room was pretty sound proof but each time we entered/exited our room, we walked through the construction zone and the demolished grounds. The other side of the resort looked great btw! I'm not snobby and I don't fault them for making improvements. Hey, they have to do it sometime and it just so happened we were right in the midst. That being said, it still took away from our experience. In the week we were there, they made rapid progress so I'm sure it will soon look like the resort it is intended to be!
There are 2 restaurants and a beach/pool grill and bar. We ate at the latter daily for lunch out of convenience. The food was very good but the service is another area where they don't quite have it together. The staff seemed to get overwhelmed quickly and not because the place was busy. They have beach service where you put your flag in the sand and the waiter comes to your beach chair. Though we had a flag, we did not have the service to go with it. It was either extremely slow or non-existent. And if you were lucky enough to have beach service once...it wasn't going to happen twice! There didn't seem to be a dedicated staff member for beach service. This was disappointing because I was very much looking forward to this amenity! The restaurant staff was much more professional and attentive. We ate at the Italian restaurant twice. They have an all-inclusive package which was $120 per person per day. I'm guessing if you eat 3 meals and have some drinks, it could easily be worth it. We didn't want to be restricted to the 2 restaurants (there was also an option to dine off the resort I believe once) when there are SO many delicious places to eat on the island.
The beach is gorgeous! The beach huts and chairs are free and plentiful.
Because of the lackadaisical service, I didn't feel I could give the resort an excellent rating. This was my second trip to Aruba and a neighboring resort did a much better job overall. I would however stay here in the future. I feel like they're in the process of working out all the kinks.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HappyWanderer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We chose Manchebo after reading reviews on many of the all-inclusive resorts in Aruba. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing, beautiful place to go for our honeymoon, and we absolutely found it here. We stayed in room 28- an ocean front room- and the view was beautiful! I've read some reviews that have said the view is obstructed or far from the ocean, but it was stunning from where we were, and it's "far" from the ocean because it's on the biggest beach there!

We did the regular all-inclusive program. The rooms/bathrooms were wonderful. Half of the resort is still being renovated but like others have said, we only heard it one day while we were outside and even that wasn't too disruptive. The rooms gave us the comforts of home while still making us feel like we were in the Caribbean. Breakfast left a little to be desired overall, but the smoothies and pancakes were delicious and you can't beat breakfast in an open-air restaurant overlooking the pool and onto the beach! The fish tacos at Pega Pega are unbelievable (chicken quesadillas are a close second...). Steaks at the french steakhouse or pasta at Georginos were both great options. We both ate and drank our share so definitely took advantage of the all-inclusive that we paid for! The beach was STUNNING. We never had to fight for a space under the huts (I forget the name of them), there were plenty of them. We never had to wait long for service on the beach or at any of the restaurants.

From start to finish, the staff- all of them- were incredible. So friendly, polite, caring and generous. There was never a question we had or a favor we asked (from calling a cab, making a dinner reservation, to having a slightly late check out time due to a later flight) that wasn't addressed right away or without a smile. Everyone was fabulous.

From the friendly welcome and bottle of champagne waiting for us in our beautifully renovated room, to the ocean-side service from Alejandra (LOVE her, by the way), to the wonderful food, beach side massages- pretty much EVERYTHING, this was an amazing honeymoon for us. We were so sad to leave and cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge for the ocean-front rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCJones918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

i will keep it simple:

If you drink roughly 4-5 drinks a day and want to eat around the island then dont do all inclusive. That being said the restaurants are adequate if you do choose to do an all inclusive. Hang out at the Pega Pega bar with fanny and relax with decent priced food and drinks. New rooms are nice and the showers are interesting.( however lack a lip to keep the water int he shower!?)

Would i recommend it to friends: absolutely! It is a gem among a very touristy high rise area and over priced low rises.

Only complaints: The Deluxe Ocean Front Room is the only ocean facing room however is 50% obstructed which IMO opinion was a bit of a bummer. Also no wifi in the ocean front room but you can get it at the bar/lobby. I would consider doing a ground level ocean view room next time for quicker beach access.

Will be looking to book again with manchebo for our next trip and suggest you do the same!

Room Tip: 73 is ocean front view- partially obstructed view but very private balcony!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jibsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,578 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,893 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,543 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 55, Palm - Eagle Beach 99999, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $291 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Caribbean vacation experience begins at our intimate, 2-story boutique resort located on the shores of majestic Eagle Beach, an ideal place for romantic and rejuvenating getaways. The Deluxe Ocean and Deluxe Garden View Rooms offer attention to details and amenities, including spa-like bathrooms offering a rain/waterfall shower. The wellness experience includes a beach-side exotic Caribbean-Balinese style spa offering a variety of massages, body treatments as well as yoga & Pilates classes and fitness room. Optional premium fully a-la-carte all-inclusive program available featuring Ike's Bistro, The Chophouse and Omakase Sushi Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchebo Beach Resort And Spa
Manchebo Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing