We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, nice beach, beautiful rooms,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here and very much enjoyed our stay. We were welcomed with rum punch and able to check in early. Our room was beautiful and the kitchenette was very nice. Pros: great shower, the pool is beautiful with lots of chairs, the beach is near with lots of chairs too. We took our ice bucket full of beers to the beach with us! Great dinner at the restaurant. Near a grocery store. Cons: near the sewage plant so a bit stinky at times. The water is roped off because you can ride water scooters at the beach and the water is not the bluest. We didn't swim at the beach, just at the great pool. A nice surprise-someone brings you chocolates everyday! You could get snorkeling equipment but it was $20 a day.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us and others and are happy to hear your overall experience was good. We just renewed our lounge chairs at the Amsterdam Manor and glad you like them, our pool area, the rooms and also our nice beach that we have in front of the resort. We want to apologies for the smell of the sewage plant. Unfortunately we did experience problems with the smell of the sewage plant that is nearby and we did everything we could do to have it under control, however it is not in our hands. We hope we can see you back soon for another nice vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 2,333 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed from 7/9-16 in a superior efficiency with a slight view of the ocean just to the side of the restaurant. Pros: short walk to gorgeous beach and Passions restaurant, not crowded, always had open chairs under shade, can walk to large grocery store and stock up for any meals you don't want to buy, in between hi-rise hotel area with many stores and downtown with easy access to both by bus or taxi, friendly staff. Cons: could be a little noisy due to proximity to restaurant(some rooms are further away or face courtyard would be quieter), near sewage treatment plant and had some bad smells for about 3 days only(don't think this is chronic issue), rooms a bit dark. Overall had a great time and recommend if you like smaller, more intimate resorts. Not a Marriott.

Room Tip: If you want ocean view, request one away from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank bunnybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We want to apologies for the noise of the restaurant that you have experienced and also for the smell of the sewage plant. Unfortunately we did experience problems with the smell of the sewage plant that is nearby and we did everything we could do to have it under control, however it is not in our hands. We hope we can see you back soon and as you have mentioned we are not a big chain resort, however a small boutique for to enjoy a nice vacation in front of one of the best beaches in the Caribbean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our 4th time to the amsterdam manor in 2 years. That's how much we love it. Everyone is so nice and friendly. We have booked to go back again this fall. Guaranteed weather, great food and beautiful beach. Peter the upper deck bartender is fantastic...he will drinks just the way you like it. The beach bar is also great to hang out at during g the day..Cecilia, Allen and Giovanni are lots of fun. Juan is the happiest person on the island I think! Myra the concierge is a warm caring person she can help with anything you need. The management is always interested in hearing anything you have to say. They really care a out their guests a d will go the extra mile to make sure you are having a great time. we like to cook a couple of meals so having a superfood grocery store nearby is very a convenient. we love Amsterdam manor, the staff, the beach, the location, everything about it we cant imagine staying anywhere else

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank sirenisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you very much for this amazing review and thank you for your great comment regarding our resort, our staff and management team. We hope to see you back soon for your 5th trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 7/5/14-7/13/14. We absolutely loved this place. Its located within the low rise hotels on the island. This section tends to be less crowded. We loved that since we were on our honeymoon. The resort staff was very friendly and informative. We stayed in room C11, which had a perfect view of the beach. The room was very clean upon arrival. The room was maintained with fresh sheets and clean towels. The only con was the water pressure, the water flow was very low. Also the water didn't get hot. Not a deal breaker just different from what we were use to. The restaurants on the premise Passions Mangos was great. Mangos was our favorite. There aren't any negatives about this resort or Aruba period. We can't wait for our next trip to the quaint resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiana22478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. We are sorry to hear you experienced the water pressure as too low; we are a green resort and we provide hot water with solar panels. We hope that despite this inconvenience you have enjoyed your stay with us and you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just got back from a 5 night stay with our two sons (5 and 3) and had a great time at the Amsterdam. This hotel is basically the furthest north hotel of the low-rise section. Then there is a brief break and the hi-rise hotels start. So basically you are halfway between the city and the hi-rise section, so very convenient. We were upgrade from a 1 bedroom suite to a 2 bedroom suite which was perfect for our family. Everything seems to be well-maintained and clean. Even the towels were more luxurious than I was expecting! Some random things I appreciated in the room were the drying rack so it was easy to dry your clothes and towels after the beach/pool and also all of the closets and storage - each room had two closets and there were two additional closets in the living room area. With my two year old I was worried about the walk across the street to the beach, but it really was a non-issue: Cars were really good about stopping at the crosswalk. We never had a problem finding chairs & an umbrella on the beach, although with two little kids we were out early and then took a mid-day break, so I can't say for sure how crowded it was at peak times. The area of the beach is pretty ideal - waves are almost non-existent and the beach is fairly deep. The further south you go the beach gets even deeper, but it also seems the waves get bigger (this is relative, though, because even the biggest waves aren't all that huge). Some tips for future travelers: 1. Bring fly spray or something to repel flies - as soon as they sense food outside they swarm. 2. Superfoods is an easy walk from the hotel, even with kids. We packed reusable grocery bags that were sturdier than plastic and were able to make the walk in 10 minutes. It was nice to have food in the room and cook some meals, but the grocery is still expensive on some items - like $6 for a gallon of milk. 3. There isn't an oven in the room. 4. There were some pool toys for kids to play with, but no communal beach toys. I bought some at the dollar store prior to the trip and packed them in the luggage. 5. The room does not have a dvd player. 6. Wifi exists, but is very spotty. 7. Bus stops for both ways are in-between the beach and hotel. We didn't ride them because fares are $2.30 but a taxi to the high rise area is $8 so it didn't make sense for a family of 4 for a short ride, but they all looked new and clean. 8. Next door is The Cabana hotel and there is a good less-expensive option for breakfast a la carte, lunches and possibly dinner - The Islander Grill. 9. You can order off the Passions beach bar menu until 4:30, so we would sometimes put our order in late and eat an early dinner on the beach - worked well, especially with our kids. We tried several things on the menu and they were all pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank kfio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your upgrade. The minor issues that you have encountered are directed to the manager in charge. Overall we think you have had a nice vacation and we want to welcome back real soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed with Amsterdam Manor from July 9-15th 2014. Let me say the resort is beautiful and has a boutique hotel like atmosphere. Staff was always bright and friendly. Check in was a breeze and our room (112B) was literally steps from beautiful Eagle Beach. The one bedroom suite was nice and worked well for our family of three so we had a private bedroom and our daughter (11) had her own bed in the living room. A working kitchen and dining table would be great if you were looking to cook meals in house to save money...we prefer to eat out but the facility was more than adequate. Pool and common areas were crisp and well presented. Pool was always clean and tidy.

All in all we were VERY happy here but as with any experience there are always comments that bear knowing before you go. First the dining at Mangoes and Passions for dinner really does not cater well to kids with their offerings and since it is an apartment style hotel that families visit that could probably be changed to help travelers stay onsite for dining. Second...flies! I am not sure if it was peculiar to when we stayed but there were flies everywhere when we were trying to eat onsite. I have to say that we ate many places elsewhere on the island and the flies were not everywhere just at the resort. Again...not a deal breaker folks and I am sure it was just a bad run of luck on our part. Lastly, there is apparently a sewer plant somewhere in the vicinity and at certain times you get a bit of "waft" from the plant. Not nauseating but certainly not exactly great either.

Let me say that the pros FAR outweighed the cons on this stay and for the money we would probably go back again if we were headed back to Aruba. We would rather stay at this type of resort than the high rises where there are fancy facades and lobby's but in the end you go to a hotel room that you could stay in at virtually any resort elsewhere in the world. The Amsterdam Manor offers something a little more traditional and down to earth which is exactly what we were looking for!

P.S. - Say "Hello" to Mayra at the concierge desk from us if you go (she is great!) ;-)

Room Tip: One and two bedroom suites seemed to be the best locations on the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Copcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences on our resort. We are very sorry for the small inconveniences due to an incident at the treatment plant which is already completely under control. We are happy that beside the inconveniences you did notice all of the pros that we have to offer and we are glad that you like the resort and that we can see you again soon at the Amsterdam Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

There is not much more to add to all of the great previous reviews about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort. Our stay there (husband and wife) at the end of June 2014 was just what my husband needed from work stress and it was also my birthday. The property is beautiful, beach chairs always available, bus transportation to high rise area and town convenient, and watching the sunset at the property's Passions Restaurant with our feet in the sand while eating a spectacular meal was a perfect way to end our vacation. Our server Michael (from Passions) was probably the nicest, most informative, and professional restaurant employee we encountered during our entire stay in Aruba. Amsterdam Manor will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 142tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you very much for letting us and others know you enjoyed your stay at the resort and dining at our beach restaurant so much. We're glad you could experience the full Passions experience we think you deserve for your birthday and we are happy that Micheal really made it a special one.We hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
2.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,107 reviews
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
1.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $250 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The difference will be felt the moment you set foot in the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort. The hotel’s unique Dutch colonial-style architecture and Caribbean flair make it a special place. A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on the world’s most beautiful beach, Eagle Beach. The warm, friendly, and personalized service along with the finest facilities on the island will give you an unforgettable vacation. Visit the resort’s website for the best available rates including taxes and fees (excluded service charge). It may occur that the resort appears to be sold out online on your preferred date. If this occurs, please contact us directly. We will be glad to find a solution! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing