We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort - 2014 / perfect beach location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Amsterdam Manor is located on Eagle Beach; and, Eagle Beach in 2013 was listed by TripAdvisor as the 9th BEST BEACH in the world! Staying AMBR on Eagle Beach.......is the best of both worlds....accommodations and beach. Starting with a very attentive staff our stay at Amsterdam Manor was terrific! From the time we checked-in to check-out we can not say enough about the entire staff. Jurgen van Schaijk, General Manager for the past 24 years , has a built a team of dedicated individuals who cater to their guests. Consider AMBR a 'boutique' hotel that has only 72 units and most have a beach/sunset view. AMBR has been synonymous with trips to Aruba since 1990; and, a week just is not enough! The property has matured with the addition of Passions Beach Bar and over the years there has been a significant improvement beach area itself. We were in a 2-bedroom balcony unit and the sun sets right in front of our unit. Then for an incredible dining experience there is PASSIONS on the beach. It's a WOW....we dined on the beach two nights. The service was incredible....Nataly was our server the first night and Eleanor for our second, the food / wine selections...excellent, a violinist walking through the dining area added romance along with the fabulous sunsets.........

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artveejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. Indeed we are located at one of the best beaches in the world and our dedicated staff is doing their utmost best to make your vacation the most excellent vacation. Passions on the Beach is an unforgettable experience and as you have described it is a WOW. We are very honored to have you as one of our guests for some many years and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will be waiting for you for your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,148 - 1,154 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nice. Very nice. Not Fantastic. You get what you pay for? The location is outstanding. Right at the edge of Eagle Beach, within walking distance of the High Rise district, a very quick walk to a supermarket and right next door to a fancier place with a casino.

The beach there is superb. Always able to get chaises and sit under a tiki hut (?). Beautiful white sand, access to water sports, changing rooms and bathrooms right there, drink service if you want it and a bar that also serves an excellent lunch...what more could you ask for?

We are not fancy restaurant people but Passions on the beach at sunset was very nice. Great service and romantic. Do that. Manager's happy hour was fun if you like to dance. There were no other activities at the hotel while we were there.

The room was more than adequate. Perfect for us. We like to have breakfast and lunch on our own and there was a fully stocked kitchen. The AC blew great. The bed was very comfortable. The balcony was comfortable even though our view was bleah.

On the down side, we had many minor problems with our room. The safe didn't work (twice), the refrigerator went bad, the condensation was a problem (hey, guys, why not just buy bigger dehumidifiers?) but Simone (thanks again) made it better for us. The pool is ehhh but it was never crowded. We were told the place was full but it didn't seem to be crowded at all.

Special shout outs from us to Katherine at the front desk and Achmira at the concierge desk. They epitomized the friendly nature of the people on the island. In fact, The AM seemed to attract friendly people. I have never met so many friendly guests at a hotel, even in a resort.

We did the tourist thing and went in and out of many of the hotels in Aruba. Some are fancier and many have more activities going on. But, I think the price and location of the AM was top notch. On my next trip to Aruba (review of the trip in a different section), I would price things out and perhaps stay again at Amsterdam Manor. Perhaps not. Like I said, very nice but not fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KenfromBalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and sharing your experiences. We're happy you choose us as your vacation destination and we’re even happier to hear you enjoyed your stay. Even though you had some inconveniences our staff did their best to make it a great stay for you solving them as quickly as possible! Thanks for the shout for Katherine and Achmira , they are doing a great job and we will make sure that they read your review. We will be waiting to see you again soon and make this next trip a fantastic one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed with our family and friends for a week during spring break. Overall we were happy with our stay. We enjoyed the beach views, comfortable rooms, great beach, and surprisingly affordable beach restaurants. All of their onsite restaurants are worth a visit, and happy hour at the beach restaurant was a daily favorite. One of the downsides is that they are located close to a water treatment plant which occasionally provided unpleasant odors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4forme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you had a great vacation experience on Aruba, looking forward having you staying with us on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great location. The beach is beautiful, fine white sand and not too busy. We could still get a bed and shade even if we didn't get up at 7am to put towels out! Only niggle was that it was a bit annoying having to chase the towel & sunbed guy to unlock our sunbeds every morning.
Close to a large, very well stocked supermarket. Very nice for having breakfast and lunch on our terrace.
Bus stop right out front which ran very frequent service along the coast. Easy to use day and night.
We stayed in a studio room which was very well equipped. Even had a juicer! Also had an ipod docking station so we could listen in to UK radios over the internet.
The restaurants linked to the hotel were all good and happy hour well worth a try!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpbs833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your good comments regarding our, location, beach, restaurants and rooms. Your comments regarding the sunbeds are addressed to the managers in charge and we’ll be taking action to correct these issues to prevent this in the future. We do hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Amsterdam Manor. We love this hotel and highly recommend it. It really does look just like the pictures. Definitely dine at Passions on the Beach at least once, it's great fun. A special shout out to Mayra, the concierge. Technically she works for DePalm Tours, but she's a great resource for lots of things.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank elg820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed Mayra is doing a great job and is also part of the Amsterdam Manor family. We hope to see you back soon for your 3rd visit at the Amsterdam Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Good choise accordinb Booking.com. Is not as good as they say. Have old style, need update. Employees are very attentive. The building need to fix maby littles problems (it is a old property). Has not 24-hour room service and the employees have to "find" someone to help you with your bags to arrive whereas at night have not one person to provide that service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We’re very sorry to hear your experience wasn’t what you expected. It is very unusual for us to get a review pointing out that the resort needs an update. We are maintaining the resort continuously and are constantly renovating the resort. Being a small boutique hotel we do not offer services of 24 hours but we do our outmost best to let you feel as comfortable as possible.
Indeed the resort has an old look that represents the houses of Amsterdam. Nevertheless we are very happy that our employees has treat you well and we hope that despite the inconveniences you had a great vacation in Aruba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend arrived to aruba after a very stressful journey from Ireland. hoping to relax in the room straight away we were very unfortunate to book through a website that had gone into liquidation. When we arrived we were told the room was not ready, we automatically knew there was something up. We went for a stroll on the beach and when we arrived back we were greeted by a lovely manager. She told us that the booking was cancelled as the website we booked through went bust, we had no idea and naturally we were very stressed over this, the website told her they had contacted us but they did not. the manager could not of been any more helpful. She gave us a fabulous room for the same price, (this room was a lot nicer than the room we booked) it must of been the best room in the hotel, she also let us make calls from her office. From then on the trip was nothing but fantastic and we forgot about everything that had happened, all the staff were so friendly, the restaurant on the beach was lovely especially the sunset. We rented bikes and cycled into Palm beach. We also went to visit Oranjestad town which we did not really enjoy. This hotel is much more relaxing than the hotels on Palm beach and you can always go use the casinos ect in the bigger hotels, but it is great to come back to this hotel to relax away from the madness and huge typical hotels, also rooms are bigger.. And eagle beach is much nicer than Palm. I would look no further and book this hotel! We have been to many hotels and this is in the top 5! We just want to thank all the staff for everything and we will be back. Fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill_2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort. Although your situation was not in our hands we are very glad that we could have made your trip a fantastic one and that you liked the room, the staff and the resort. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
2.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,110 reviews
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,643 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,493 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $242 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The difference will be felt the moment you set foot in the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort. The hotel’s unique Dutch colonial-style architecture and Caribbean flair make it a special place. A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on the world’s most beautiful beach, Eagle Beach. The warm, friendly, and personalized service along with the finest facilities on the island will give you an unforgettable vacation. Visit the resort’s website for the best available rates including taxes and fees (excluded service charge). It may occur that the resort appears to be sold out online on your preferred date. If this occurs, please contact us directly. We will be glad to find a solution! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing