We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Luxury, Great Pool, Super Bar and Beach Restaurant...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mamaroneck, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet Luxury, Great Pool, Super Bar and Beach Restaurant...”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The facilities of this hotel are different than other parts of Aruba. This is a laid back hotel with a great beach across the street.

The room we obtained was a suite with a kitchen. There is a huge supermarket (Dutch of course) about 2 blocks from the back of the hotel. It is filled with many products that are different from the New York market. We obtained cheese, food and of course Arubian hot sauce for snacks and breakfast. A great experience in itself.

The suite has a nice area with an outdoor seating to have a snack or breakfast.

The bedroom was filled with a large king size bed, a flat screen tv was mounted on the wall. The bathroom was accessible from either the bedroom or the main room.

The main room had a nice flat screen around a couch and chair. The couch was a fold away bed. The kitchen had all of the needed cups, plates, forks and knives.

We were delighted to find a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived.

The happy hour is at both the bar above the pool, and on the beach bar. Both offer lovely views and the bartenders were talkative and nice.

We walked up the beach to the "high rise" section, but you can take a bus or a taxi. That part of the island is filled with huge hotels and lots of jewelry, and tourist stores.

The "low rise" section is filled with smaller hotels and areas of no development at all.

The hotel concierge fixed us up with a couples massage, and snorkel cruise. Mayra was very helpful and made the time there trouble free.

Remember to apply sunscreen multiple times during the day! The sun is strong!

I general the hotel is a great place to stay, the staff were friendly, and the facilities were well kept up and cared for.

The WiFi was spotty, better at either end of the room, and great on the beach.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EyeGuy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We appreciate your compliments regarding our bar, pool and beach Bar and of course our staff. Also as you have mentioned we have nice rooms and full equipped rooms and we are happy that you have enjoyed your vacation with us. Although not in our hands, we apologies you did not had steady Wi-Fi connection. We will be waiting to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    458
    111
    51
    28
See reviews for
432
1,316
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Soon to be 4th time. We stayed in September and will be going back in May. We love amsterdam manor because of its quaint and European flavor. We have stayed in a Soon to be 4th . We stayed in September and will be going back to the manor in may. We have stayed in a superior studio, a regular studio, and a one bedroom suite. All 3 were clean,comfortable and spacious.the beach access is perfect and very close to the hotel...never a problem getting a palapas. The beach bar has Great staff they are lots of fun they make wonderful
drinks and the food is awesome. we are very excited that Peter is back at the horizon bar looking forward to many happy hours. we love the manager's reception so very generous of them to host this gathering. The housekeeping staff are very accommodating and do a wonderful job...The rooms are very clean. The front desk and concierge Myra are all very friendly and welcoming...thank you amsterdam for another incredible vacation! Steve and Debbie H from Canada.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sirenisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Debbie and Steve thanks for the wonderful review. Great to have you here at the Amsterdam Manor for the third time and that you have experienced the different kind of rooms that we offer. We are looking forward to see you back for the fourth time. Our staff will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We just returned from a week in Aruba. It was our first time there so we did not really know what to expect. What we got was way beyond our expectations! From the moment we entered the lobby until the unfortunate ride back to the airport and reality, we were treated like family! We were in a one room suite which was like being in a condo. It was very well equipped with cooking and eating utensils, a large refrigerator with freezer (ice cubes!) a microwave, and full size coffee maker. The rooms and the hotel grounds were exceptionally cleaned every day.
The onsite restaurants were also very good. We ate dinner at Mangos twice and Passions on the Beach Saturday night. I would recommend the sunset dinner at Passions as a must when in Aruba. The manager of the hotel, Jurgen, along with Simone and the entire staff were very helpful and friendly. Peter always makes the Happy Hours "Happy" with all of his great music. We will definately be returning to the Amsterdam Manor! Hopefully Soon!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartyDoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Just Like Home” is a phrase that our staff enjoy hearing when a guest go back home. We try to let you feel at home when you are staying with us. Our managers and employees do their utmost best to make sure that your stay was the best trip. We sure hope to see you back soon at the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great place to stay. Very clean staff was wonderful. So close to the beach closer walk then many a high-rise hotel had, just a walk across the road. Right on the bus line took it to Arashi beach to snorkel twice! Snorkeled with all the tourists who paid big bucks for their time, and they stayed only 20 minutes. Very safe, packed a lunch and enjoyed the beach too. Super foods grocery store was so close and amazing! An easy walk. Rented the bikes too and felt safe biking into town. Will definitely be returning to Aruba! Always felt safe and water and food were great! It's a place where you can relax and chill or book yourself busy! Buses were easy to do and they always took American money. The high-rise beach was fun to visit but eagle beach is definitely quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: It's nice to have a room facing the pool and Oceanside. Many rooms face the back but we had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mstravelbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed Aruba is a safe destination and the Amsterdam Manor Staff makes it even more welcoming for you. We try to make you feel at home away from home and we are sure that you have had a relaxing time at the Eagle Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at the Amsterdam Manor for the last full week in March. We will not be returning. It wasn't awful, just mediocre.

What we liked:

1. The location was almost perfect for a beach lover. Right across the road from an uncrowded beach with sun, clean sand and plenty of chairs.

2. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful.

3. Mango's restaurant had a split personality. The buffet breakfast was poor with dry eggs, lousy pan cakes and french toast. Dinner, on the other hand, was very good with tasty dishes and large portions. Be prepared, however, for very slow service if on busy nights. We ate lunch at Passions on the Beach several times and were happy with everything. We did not eat at Passions for dinner.

4. A large supermarket (Super Food) is within a 5-8 minute walk of the hotel allowing us to purchases meals at decent prices. For a simple delicious breakfast, eat at the cafe just inside the entrance. It is both better an cheaper that that at Mangos.

What we did not like:

1. The rooms were no more than glorified motel rooms. The furniture was plain and serviceable. The kitchenette was tiny and poorly laid out. The so called veranda was tiny and barely fit a lounge chair and table with chairs. The beds were comfortable. There are no sills on the showers and, except for some rolled up bath mats, water would have leaked all over the bathroom. Water pressure was almost non existent.

2. The coffee in the restaurants and in the rooms was uniformly awful, both bitter and weak.

3. The pool was tiny and only 4 feet deep, more suited to children than adults. As all of the pool umbrellas had tables attached to the center poll, one got little of no shade when using the pool lounges.

4. The room service menu consists of two appetizers, two entrees and two deserts despite the restaurant menus being quite extensive. How to you have a caesar salad with no anchovies in the dressing and tastes like it was made with mayonnaise (argghh).

Considering the price we paid, this hotel was a poor value.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank outsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We're very sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't what you expected. Although we try to comply with every guest needs we can read that we did not meet your expectation. We would like to thank you for your positive and negative comments, so in the future we will keep on improving our service.

We do think we have a nice resort, rooms and facilities and most importantly as you have mention a friendly staff. Most of the guest that stay with us share this opinion too. Also our water pressure is controlled with aerators in all rooms to reduce the water flow but maintaining sufficient pressure. We are sorry to hear you experienced the water pressure as too low, but this is one of the ways how we contribute to the environment because we are a green hotel.

We hope that despite the inconveniences, you still enjoyed your stay on Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Preston, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent 8 perfect nights at the AM from 2-21/3-01. We stayed in 108A and couldn't of asked for a better location! The resort was exceptionally clean, the people were very friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed Mangos, "love ya Quintin" and Passions on the Beach. Had an outstanding time with Peter the bartender at Horizons at the resort. They have a great happy hour every day from 5-6 and 9-10. They also have a managers cocktail party with free appetizers and lots of fun!
The rooms are very clean, and the maids even leave Dove chocolates on your bed every evening.We checked out the high rise section while we were there and were so glad we had decided to stay at the AM! They treat you like family and it's so less crowded on the beach. I could go on and on on how much we loved it!Eagle beach is a great beach...white sand, clean and clear water and you can walk for quite a ways. We will def be back again next year and booking at the Amsterdam Manor!!! ! Thank you for making our first trip to Aruba so enjoyable. It def wont be our last! Allan & Nancy
P.S. The sunsets at dinner are amazing!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bottom floor room! Perfect for everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Allan and Nancy thank you for taking the time to leave a nice review. Our staff works very hard providing you great service so you can enjoy a wonderful vacation experience. As you mentioned the beach is beautiful and it is truly relaxing.
We will be waiting for your next trip to Aruba and the Amsterdam Manor and we hope to see you one more time at our famous cocktail party. Thank you very much for your feedback and for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The staff was very friendly, but the location is by the road so it's not an isolated place. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff also friendly.

The restaraunt that the build by the sea every night is a nice but expensive experience. Aruba is very pricey all an all. A nice hotel, but with the money paid we could've had a better hotel on another island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for leaving your comment for us. As you have mentioned we are situated by the road, however it is not a concern for most of our guest as the walking distance is not far from the beach compare to various other resort on island.
Thank you for your comment regarding our cleanliness of our rooms; we try to do our outmost best so that every guest can feel as comfortable as possible in their room. We regret that you felt that you could have invested your money elsewhere, but we hope that you still had a lovely stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
2.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Property: Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing