We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TOP Location!! 1st time in Ariba with bf!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 16, 2013

First time going to Aruba, I must do my research!

We went during the first week of March. After i booked this hotel, i emailed the hotel to notify them that it was our first time in aruba and we are celebrating my boyfriend's birthday! i also made reservations at Passions directly from the hotel for his birthday day. Fast replies! They quickly respond and confirm the time and dates.

When we got to the hotel, we were a bit early for our check-in which was fine. We were offered drinks, have our luggage left at the reception while we went and had lunch across the street on the beach.

HOTEL:

A-M-A-Z-I-N-G STAFFS. Always answered our questions, help made reservations and great personalities!

Baby, we got an UPGRADE to a 1 bedroom suite located RIGHT outside of the pool, ground floor..just amazing. Great apartment, full kitchen, dining area, living room, bathroom and bedroom. Everything was CLEAN and modern. 1st night they came and delivered us a bottle of FREE wine!! 2 days later we had our room cleaned and the cleaning lady gave us ANOTHER FREE bottle of wine...say whaaaa?! YEP. Sold for a good tripadvisor review!

Location:

Amazzzing as well!! We went during high season so of course everything is usually a bit
pricey $ -ier than usual/low season of course. WHY I CHOSE THIS PLACE? 5 MINUTE WALK to the super food market. everything you need and of course we cooked. we were staying for 7 days/6 nights. we spent a little over $100 at the supermarket for both our meals for the entire trip. (we only went out 4 times for dinner/lunch). I just want to add that the supermarket had the MOST AMAZING ITALIAN BREAD..i swear they were ALLL FRESHLY MADE AND HOT like the aruba's sun. they go out so quickly and cost less than $1.00 (after the price convert.) NYC cost $3 bucks for cold bread. Bring a bookbag, tote or buy a shopping bag at the store to help you carry your groceries.

BUS - Right in front of the hotel going to downtown. comes very often cost $5 roundtrip. Who needs a car?!!

BEACH, BEACH, BEACH!!!

#1 reason why i choose this place. RIGHT in front of EAGLE BEACH. Less than 1 minute walk!! Right across!! The greatest beach in Aruba. CLEAN, CLEAR, no seaweed, no rocks no nothing. JUST SAND AND WATER. We literally went EVERY-DAY. Even if it was during the late afternoon, still felt like it was 1pm. We were thinking to stay at the HIGH RISE HOTELS but I would rather stay near a beach that i would want to go everyday and not having to travel to the beach.


*Honest part, I would give 5 stars/circle/pts, whatever but.....

- We wanted to go "uptown" the highrise section, there is "supposedly" a bus stop right outside across from the bus stop going downtown. But we waited for 15-30mins. No Bus...no vans no nothing. we ended walking a big further and had a "bus van" picking us up. I've seen other guests that waited at that bus stop as well but they ended up taking a taxi.

-There are specials throughout the weekday, everyday theres special activities or dinner specials. SOO Friday they have Scuba lessons for free by the hotel pool, i think run by Red Sail Sports? But we signed up for it right away Thursday to ensure we had a spot. I WAS EXCITED. First come, first serve. Friday 4pm comes, which is the meet up time...no one shows...15 mins later i called the front desk and they said they will call and call me back...so they called me back and said the guy is on his way and just mins late. Fine. Then we decided to hang at the pool while waiting for them and then 30mins later no one shows up. At that point we gave up.

I. was. not. happy.

I know one of the policy is that they need atleast 4 people to have the lesson, so when signing up , they asked for my size and feet size. So my bf thought that maybe there wasnt enough ppl. So i said if there wasnt enough people, the front desk shouldve told us and plus the equipments and gadgets are provided by the company that is holding the free scuba lesson. So they would need to ask how many people signed up and what size are they so they need to gather the stuff when getting to the hotel. Remember the front desk said the guy was on his way.

I know it is not the hotel fault since its not run by the hotel but yet the Red Sail Sports company.

Overall.................................Would return back to this hotel :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Msmee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and sharing your experiences. We're happy you choose us as your vacation destination and we’re even happier to hear you enjoyed your stay. Although not in our hands, we’re sorry you had to wait for the public transportation that never came and your free scuba lesson never showed up. But we’re happy we could contribute to a memorable vacation and birthday. We will be waiting to see you again soon and are more than happy to help you get your dive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,259)
There are newer reviews for Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,266 - 1,272 of 2,259 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Chill started at check in with Juilio serving up rum punches and continued right through checkout. The place is clean & low key. Service was just right for us- Unobtrusive and friendly. Rooms are comfortable, furnishings were simple and functional. Pool and poolside bar uncrowded. Hotel provides lounges, cabanas and towels-- no need to rush. Unlike highrises, no pressure, no worries.
Crowd during our stay was mostly Dutch & European, late 20's to 60's-- couples and families. About 5 min drive from the "bar scene" for college crowd, 15 min drive to downtown, cruise ships and jewelry shops.
Hotel Restaurants - Mango- casual outdoor dining -reasonably priced breakfast buffet-- made to order eggs, fruit, juices, french toast, cheeses, yogurt, continental lunch and dinner. The best breakfast we had on the island. Passions at the sea- Romantic dinner on the beach, nice selection of seafood & continental dishes-- among the best food on the island. They also serve a nice light lunch on the beach or at the pool.
On premises coin laundry. Grocery 5 min walk for snacks /liquor. Happy hour on the ocean view deck in your room or at the bar overlooking pool and ocean. Rental car/ driving is manageable, free parking behind hotel. Free wireless internet. Adequate gym in hotel next door, $15/day or $40/ week. Glitz casino also in adjacent hotel.
Concierge was extremely helpful-- while many speak English, Myra spoke 3 languages while arranging dinners for us. We had a car which we really enjoyed, but major places are acessible by cab or bus. Myra will arrange anything from dinner to skydiving. There is a place to learn kitesurfing- which I plan to do next visit.
The beach was pristine clean white sand, just a few steps across a quiet road. Water was typical caribbean clear. Manor staff brought fruit & drinks to guests on the beach. All reasonably priced. Aruba beaches are all public, but hotel provides plenty of resources for guests. We felt safe and comfortable at all times.
Beds are standard euro fair, not in the US hotel "bed competition" but comfortable with summer weight comfortor and nice pillows. In the double room, 1 King in master, whirlpool tub, 2 singles in back room with walk in shower. Common area with table, kitchen. 1 TV in each BR and 1 in the common area. (I don't know if there was cable, we didn't turn em on.) Kitchen adequately equipped- coffee maker, blender, pots, dishes etc.
I'll be back. For the college break scene- high rises down the beach have more action. For a beach getaway, honeymoon, anniversary or time to enjoy family and friends, this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WVdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Amazing week at Amsterdam Manor. Our 2 bedroom suite was well-appointed and very clean. We did have a few problems with our safe, but fixed immediately with a call to the office. Moyra the concierge stood out to us for her excellent recommendations and personal service. The entire staff was delightful. The location on Eagle Beach was perfect---we think that this beach IS the best on the island to stay. Although the hotel was full, it never seemed crowded. (Although the bar was crowded one happy hour for the Captain's "welcome".) We thought the pool was a fine size. This is a comfortable, relaxed place for all ages, but doesn't have the organized youngster activities as the all-inclusive/larger resorts. We weren't looking for action-- quite the opposite. Our favorite restaurant, Passions, had wonderful food both evenings and is the most romantic on-the-beach restaurant we found. We enjoyed a breakfast and a dinner at Mangoes, both very good. Staff everywhere were superb. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 5 days, 4 nights in March 2013. Staff were very welcoming and I was delighted to hear that we were being upgraded from our initial choice of Standard room to the 2 Bedroom Suite with jacuzzi and outdoor patio. Great room overlooking the pool with ocean-side view. You have to cross a street to get to Eagle Beach but it wasn't an inconvenience at all. One bedroom was the master and the other had 2 double beds - seemed perfect for a family vacation. Had a fully stocked kitchenette with appliances, pots/pans, plates, etc...

Eagle Beach was amazing. Large and quiet, not too crowded. Finding a spot was never a hassle. Rooms were clean and spacious and they have wifi (though signal varied depending on location in the room). Location of the resort was not too far away from sights and downtown, though we cabbed it everywhere (there is a bus stop right outside for those that would want to use it, we saw many tourists using the bus). Large grocery store/market like 10 min walk away. There is also a small convenience store on the resort grounds.

The staff give very honest opinions about where to drink, eat, play. The resort has 2 bars: one on the beach and one overlooking the pool with daily and twice daily 2-for-1 happy hours respectively. No spa unfortunately. Every night there is dinner set up on the beach called Passions (you have to make reservations). The quiet, low-key atmosphere was perfect. Great experience, would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our first time in Aruba and we knew from other friends that the more subdued Eagle Beach was probably our speed. We were also traveling in high season so I was on the look-out for something between $200-250 per night. Based on the reviews and location, Amsterdam Manor seemed to fit the bill and I'm happy to report that ended up being the case.

We were created with rum drinks, but alas, our room really wasn't ready until the 4 pm check-in so just be aware if you have an earlier flight (based on the luggage sitting around the lobby, we weren't the only ones who showed up early). Nonetheless, they had bathrooms to slip into warm-weather frocks and we scampered off to the beach for our first Polars of the trip and a nice beach walk. We then decided to walk the five-minutes to SuperFood and stock up on breakfast and lunch items plus beer and wine for the kitchenette. SuperFood is an amazing place (nicer than our closest grocery store in DC, frankly!).

Speaking of the room, it was nice. Each room (I think) has a little balcony (they even supply a candle for the little bistro table--nice touch). The kitchenette was well stocked with soap, towels and all the cooking supplies you could imagine. We ended up cooking more than we even planned. I get tired of eating out so it was great to throw a meal together at the end of the day and sit on our balcony and sip wine. The one downside to our room was the HVAC: the a/c and this stand-alone de-humidifier were quite noisy, plus we had to empty water from the de-humidifier to keep it working. It really was my only quibble. The hotel, the staff, the great beach amenities, and the proximity to both a supermarket and plenty of restaurants (go to the Screaming Eagle and reserve a bed!) make this a winner. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th anniversary this past September, and this hotel was lovely to stay at. We had a very nice room, which was a little on the small side, but still managed to fit in a tiny little kitchen nook and a table and chairs so we could comfortably set up our laptop. When the hotel found out we were in Aruba for our anniversay, they brought us a complimentary bottle of champagne right away. And they brought ANOTHER on the actual day of our anniversary! It is super convenient that the bus stop is right outside the hotel because we took this a lot to ride up to Palm Beach and hang out in the more touristy area. This hotel is in the quieter area of Eagle Beach, but we loved it because it was calm and there were no little children running around and screaming. This place seems to cater to a more romantic atmosphere. My only gripe was that their restaurant Passions on the Beach, was not the outstanding food we though it was going to be. And for the price, we should have gone elsewhere. Still this is a very nice place to stay in Aruba, and the concierge desk is so helpful in setting up any excursions you might want to go on. They are very efficient in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Amsterdam manor in the beginning of March for a long weekend. It was both our first times to Aruba.

The hotel is clean, cozy and the staff is incredibly accommodating. We stayed in a one bedroom studio which was perfect for the 2 of us. The kitchenette was great to keep snacks and drinks in the room.

The beach is literally right across the street which was very convenient. It was great being able to go back and forth to our room or the pool if we wanted to.

Getting a cab to a restaurant/the high rise area was very quick and easy. We would ask the front desk and it would be there within minutes. A taxi to the bars near the high rise hotels was about $11 one way, and took less than 10 minutes.

The breakfast in the morning was simple but good for eating quick and getting to the beach. The food at the beach bar was also pretty good.

The beach is the nicest I've ever been to. It's not too crowded, and the water is perfect. The sunsets are unlike anything we've ever seen before so I definitely recommend hanging on the beach around 6pm.

We had dinner at Passions on the beach on the last night. It was incredibly romantic and as usual the staff was very friendly.

They have a happy hour at the beach bar from 5-6pm, where they have 2 for 1 drinks. Make sure you become friends with the bartender Napoleon, because he's awesome.

We literally have only good things to say about the Amsterdam manor beach resort. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a relaxing trip to Aruba!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcross03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
2.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,053 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,898 reviews
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,187 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $219 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing