We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 5 days, 4 nights in March 2013. Staff were very welcoming and I was delighted to hear that we were being upgraded from our initial choice of Standard room to the 2 Bedroom Suite with jacuzzi and outdoor patio. Great room overlooking the pool with ocean-side view. You have to cross a street to get to Eagle Beach but it wasn't an inconvenience at all. One bedroom was the master and the other had 2 double beds - seemed perfect for a family vacation. Had a fully stocked kitchenette with appliances, pots/pans, plates, etc...

Eagle Beach was amazing. Large and quiet, not too crowded. Finding a spot was never a hassle. Rooms were clean and spacious and they have wifi (though signal varied depending on location in the room). Location of the resort was not too far away from sights and downtown, though we cabbed it everywhere (there is a bus stop right outside for those that would want to use it, we saw many tourists using the bus). Large grocery store/market like 10 min walk away. There is also a small convenience store on the resort grounds.

The staff give very honest opinions about where to drink, eat, play. The resort has 2 bars: one on the beach and one overlooking the pool with daily and twice daily 2-for-1 happy hours respectively. No spa unfortunately. Every night there is dinner set up on the beach called Passions (you have to make reservations). The quiet, low-key atmosphere was perfect. Great experience, would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,573
    472
    114
    51
    28
See reviews for
453
1,363
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our first time in Aruba and we knew from other friends that the more subdued Eagle Beach was probably our speed. We were also traveling in high season so I was on the look-out for something between $200-250 per night. Based on the reviews and location, Amsterdam Manor seemed to fit the bill and I'm happy to report that ended up being the case.

We were created with rum drinks, but alas, our room really wasn't ready until the 4 pm check-in so just be aware if you have an earlier flight (based on the luggage sitting around the lobby, we weren't the only ones who showed up early). Nonetheless, they had bathrooms to slip into warm-weather frocks and we scampered off to the beach for our first Polars of the trip and a nice beach walk. We then decided to walk the five-minutes to SuperFood and stock up on breakfast and lunch items plus beer and wine for the kitchenette. SuperFood is an amazing place (nicer than our closest grocery store in DC, frankly!).

Speaking of the room, it was nice. Each room (I think) has a little balcony (they even supply a candle for the little bistro table--nice touch). The kitchenette was well stocked with soap, towels and all the cooking supplies you could imagine. We ended up cooking more than we even planned. I get tired of eating out so it was great to throw a meal together at the end of the day and sit on our balcony and sip wine. The one downside to our room was the HVAC: the a/c and this stand-alone de-humidifier were quite noisy, plus we had to empty water from the de-humidifier to keep it working. It really was my only quibble. The hotel, the staff, the great beach amenities, and the proximity to both a supermarket and plenty of restaurants (go to the Screaming Eagle and reserve a bed!) make this a winner. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th anniversary this past September, and this hotel was lovely to stay at. We had a very nice room, which was a little on the small side, but still managed to fit in a tiny little kitchen nook and a table and chairs so we could comfortably set up our laptop. When the hotel found out we were in Aruba for our anniversay, they brought us a complimentary bottle of champagne right away. And they brought ANOTHER on the actual day of our anniversary! It is super convenient that the bus stop is right outside the hotel because we took this a lot to ride up to Palm Beach and hang out in the more touristy area. This hotel is in the quieter area of Eagle Beach, but we loved it because it was calm and there were no little children running around and screaming. This place seems to cater to a more romantic atmosphere. My only gripe was that their restaurant Passions on the Beach, was not the outstanding food we though it was going to be. And for the price, we should have gone elsewhere. Still this is a very nice place to stay in Aruba, and the concierge desk is so helpful in setting up any excursions you might want to go on. They are very efficient in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Amsterdam manor in the beginning of March for a long weekend. It was both our first times to Aruba.

The hotel is clean, cozy and the staff is incredibly accommodating. We stayed in a one bedroom studio which was perfect for the 2 of us. The kitchenette was great to keep snacks and drinks in the room.

The beach is literally right across the street which was very convenient. It was great being able to go back and forth to our room or the pool if we wanted to.

Getting a cab to a restaurant/the high rise area was very quick and easy. We would ask the front desk and it would be there within minutes. A taxi to the bars near the high rise hotels was about $11 one way, and took less than 10 minutes.

The breakfast in the morning was simple but good for eating quick and getting to the beach. The food at the beach bar was also pretty good.

The beach is the nicest I've ever been to. It's not too crowded, and the water is perfect. The sunsets are unlike anything we've ever seen before so I definitely recommend hanging on the beach around 6pm.

We had dinner at Passions on the beach on the last night. It was incredibly romantic and as usual the staff was very friendly.

They have a happy hour at the beach bar from 5-6pm, where they have 2 for 1 drinks. Make sure you become friends with the bartender Napoleon, because he's awesome.

We literally have only good things to say about the Amsterdam manor beach resort. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a relaxing trip to Aruba!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcross03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are a family with four children (1 year the youngest), we visited Amsterdam Manor in December and January.
The apartament are fantastic, the staff professional and friendly, the restaurants: the best, you can not miss the sunset dinner at Passions and in Mango´s we had all the choices we could immagine.
So comfortable and convenient to have the beach just few meters, specially with the baby :) And the free palapas are something we loved!

We have been traveling around the world, and we highly recomend Amsterdam Manor we will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudiaemira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was the first time my husband and I traveled to Aruba, and we were not disappointed. Overall we thought the hotel was very good, but one or two big drawbacks kept us from giving it an "excellent" rating:

Pros
- got upgraded to a one-bedroom suite upon arrival, which was fantastic! (we heard this hotel does that often)
- room was HUGE, quiet, and had good climate controls/air conditioning
- beautiful beach with lots of available chairs & free palapas (some high rise hotels charge for that!) across the street
- several restaurants in walking distance, and big grocery store across the main road
- maid service was very thorough without ever disturbing us
- service at the front desk & beach bar was good, and getting a cab was always easy (only 5 minutes to the High Rise area)
- fellow hotel guests were respectful and all our stuff was completely safe unattended on the beach

Cons
- had trouble getting hot water from the shower during our entire stay; the water was still somewhat warm, but we complained on the 4th day and we don't think anyone ever looked at it
- dined at Passions and were not impressed by the food or slow service (but the ambiance is hard to beat)
- without being able to take a hot shower, we wished the hotel had a jacuzzi :-)

We never ended up going in the pool, and although it's small, it was clean and never crowded. We had a great experience for the most part and would go back to Amsterdam Manor, but we hope the hotel does something to get hot water more easily in the showers (others have posted similar reviews).

Room Tip: We booked a standard room about 5 months in advance, and we think the early booking might have helpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our fourth time staying at Amsterdam Manor this February and had an amazing week as usual. The reason we love Aruba is that the weather is always perfect... warm and sunny with a cooling tropical breeze. It is the one place we get away and truly relax and reconnect...our joke is that the only thing we have scheduled each day is to watch the sun set. This year we watched six perfect sunsets from the gorgeous beach at Amsterdam Manor. We come back to this place each year to stay because the lovely beach area is not crowded and we can walk right out of our room onto the patio and be on the beach in no time. The rooms are clean and uncluttered. I think we've been upgraded on each of our return trips, which was special. The little kitchen area is just fine for preparing simple meals that we enjoy on our patio in the evenings with live music from the beach restaurant enhancing the atmosphere. The resort service is excellent and the restaurants are top notch. Sometimes we have a romantic dinner on the beach at Passions restaurant with our toes in the sand. The resort offers a movie on the beach once a week and this is always a novelty to enjoy. I could go on and on but I'll just say we're already planning our escape trip next winter to Amsterdam Manor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
2.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,975 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,818 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.9 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Property: Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing