We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay with a wonderful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I would highly recommend the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort as a place to stay while in Aruba. Our stay there was April 14 - 20, 2012. You won't find the oppulence seen at the high rise hotels (i.e. Marriott, Hyatt) but the Amsterdam Manor is a perfect low rise hotel, with clean, efficient, welcoming rooms, and a wonderful staff that always have a smile and hello for you. The location is perfect; directly across from Eagle Beach, which is one of the best in Aruba. There is plenty of shade under many Palapas along their stretch of beach. There are 2 very fine restaurants located on the grounds; Mangos and Passions On the Beach as well as an open air bar overlooking their fabulous pool area. Peter their bartender will make sure your glass is never empty, and will entertain you with his awesome and diverse selection of music. Their Thursday evening cocktail party with live music was so much fun! Be sure to listen each day for Peters unique way of announcing "happy hour" at 5 & 9 PM each day. Amsterdam Manor provides a very relaxed, family friendly atmosphere without the crowds of people you tend to encounter in the high rise hotel section of the island. The bus stops right in front of the hotel and the location is midway between Oranjestadt (shopping) and the high rise hotel section (shopping and entertainment). Our room was clean, the bed very comfortable, and we made use of the efficiency kitchen after a trip to the grocery market which was quick bus ride away. We made some great memories and are already planning a return trip for next year. My only minor concern while at Amsterdam Manor was with the jacuzzi bath tub in our room. The step to get in and out of this tub was not easy, especially with wet feet, and considering I am only 5'1" tall. Other than that minor concern, I give this hotel an Excellent rating.

Room Tip: We booked a Superior Suite and loved it's location. We had a ground level room right next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slstaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,456 - 1,462 of 2,296 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed from April 7 - April 14, 2012. What impressed us the most was the willingness of each staff member to go out of his/her way to assist us. We had a problem with the safe malfunctioning, and a repairmen arrived within a few minutes. I was unable to call the US, and the front desk resolved the issue immediately. Aside from these minor glitches, our stay was everything we hoped it would be. Amsterdam Manor is an efficiently run operation. The room was very comfortable and kept very clean by housekeeping. The grounds are well maintained and very attractive. But most of all, the stretch of beach where the resort is situated is exceptional. We never had a problem getting our own palapa and beach chairs. Mango's on the beach was excellent for daily lunch. The beach bar affiliated with Mango's was conveniently located (steps from our chairs!) for the necessary tropical libations. Over the course of our stay, we never felt unsafe, inconvenienced or deprived. To the contrary, we truly felt as though we were "home" at Amsterdam Manor. We enjoyed our stay so much that we look forward to returning to this resort on our next trip to Aruba. By the way, our server Juan at Mango's on the beach quickly became our friend. He is the nicest, sincerest and friendliest person we had the pleasure of meeting during our stay and he symbolizes what people on this island and at this resort are all about: BE HAPPY! Thank you , Juan.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeRBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel was beautiful, secluded, and serene. And just a short bus trip to the high rise sections and to shopping area. I had a wonderful time just relaxing on the beach or at the pool. The hotel is clean and the rooms are very nice. The entire staff is very accommodating. They go out of their way to see if they can help you with anything, making reservations for you or getting a taxi. And they always smile and say hello or good morning.
One night my cousin and I wanted to get a late night bite to eat and the security guard Nicolas walked us to the place just so we felt comfortable. The staff go above and beyond. I would definitely stay here again! And I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite right across from the pool. It was close to everything. And easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ithaca17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at the Amsterdam Manor over the 2010/2011 Christmas/New years holiday and it was absolutely amazing. We had somewhat of a nightmare trip to Aruba getting caught in heavy snow storms both in Europe and in the US so when we finally arrived we had missed two days of our pre-booked and payed stay at the Manor. But the staff was absolutely amazing and greeted us with a drink and great hospitality, making our nightmare trip fade away quickly. The staff at the Manor is amazing, genuine and they manage to create a very relaxed atmosphere. The happy hour at Mangos poolside bar is a great example of the great atmosphere that the Manor has created. Nice drinks served together with complimentary snacks, appetizers and live entertainment. It was not uncommon that representatives from the hotel management came out and mingled with the guest during the happy hour, very nice touch. On New Years Eve the hotel had put together a really nice party with dinner, entertainment through the night and at midnight we all celebrated it together, guest and staff around the pool.Once again great atmosphere!

The Amsterdam Manor is located right on the amazing Eagle beach. The hotel provides comfy chairs and towels and it's not crowded with people like on Palm beach. Here you also find the hotels second restaurant and bar, Passions. The make the best piña coladas and at night they serve outstanding food, served at your white linen table right on the beach. Having dinner with the Caribbean sea as your view is just a little slice of heaven.

We have nothing but good memories from our trip and Aruba is absolutely amazing, can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week long stay (April 9-16) at Amsterdam Manor. Everything was outstanding and we enjoyed a great stay. We had a 2 bedroom suite (#208) which overlooked the pool and Eagle Beach in the distance.
This was our first visit to Aruba and I must admit I was a little concerned when the cab driver dropped us off at the back of the Amsterdam Manor and I was wondering if this was the same place I read such great thing about. But once we walked into the front desk and were greated by Napoleon who gave us rum punch everything was great. The room accomodations were outstanding and the service is top notch. The only negative was that we found the mattress a touch firm for our liking.
We enjoyed happy hour everyday with Peter and found this a great way to start the night. We ate breakfast one morning at Mangos and it just OK. On our last night we ate at Passions on the Beach which was an outstanding experience. The atmosphere can not be beat and the food and service match the view.
A short walk across the street and we are at Eagle Beach one of the best beaches in the world. We were amazed at the clearity of the water and the softness of the sand. We had no problem finding palapas even when we arrived later in the morning.
We look forward to returning to Aruba next year and will stay at Amsterdam Manor. You can't beat the location for a relaxing vacation and just a short bus or taxi ride to the high rise or to Oranjestad with many choices for activities.
Other activites included visits to Linda's Pancake and Pizza, Amuse Bistro, Rembrandt's,The Dutch Pancake House, Barney's, LG Smith's Steak and Chop House, Happy Hour at Bugaloe, Smokey Joes and stops at Crystal, Hyatt and Alhambra casinos.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BostonScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at the Amsterdam Manor for 6 nights with 4 friends. The 2 room suite was perfect. It had a king size bed in one room with a master bath and 2 beds in the second room which attached to a second bathroom - much appreciated since we were 5 girls. There were also plenty of closets. The kitchen was stocked with all the cooking tools we needed and we made several meals which we ate on the beach-facing balcony. Passions on the Beach is a must - the food is amazing and the sunset views are unbelievable! Eagle beach is clean with soft sand, no rocks or seaweed, and although it was fairly busy, it was a relaxed crowd, not much partying. We really enjoyed this hotel/beach compared to the ones we saw on Palm beach which is much more commercial.

The staff was friendly and helpful - they made some dinner reservations for us and also followed up to see how we liked the restaurants we tried. They also helped us book a catamaran snorkeling tour.

A few negatives (very minor): the rooms were a little dark, the floors seemed dirty sometimes, we would've liked to have a hot tub and a gym. There is a running path, but it's very short.

We did a couple excursions:
Kokko Canucoo - it's a party bus which takes you to dinner (pretty basic chicken, veggies, and rice) and 4 bars. You get tickets for free drinks at each bar. This was surprisingly really fun. The bus played great music and provided each passenger with maracas (please don't judge me by my spelling). Mama (the leader of the tour) kept the energy up all night. Really a great time.

We explored the other side of the island including the natural pool, rock formations, natural bridges, etc. on Madi's Magical Tours. Madi takes your group (we had a total of 7 people) in her jeep. It's a crazy ride, but it's worth it to see this side of the island and how different it is from the tourist area.

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just returned from an amazing 5 days in Aruba and already planning our next visit! We can't say enough good things about the Amsterdam Manor and the people who work there! Almost everyone we encountered was genuinely friendly, lots of smiles and so helpful (our first visit to the island).
The grounds are well groomed and spotless and the views amazing! We had a Superior Suite on the main floor and it was as nice as the picture shown on the website! So nice to have coffee on the terrace outside the room every morning and dinner by candlelight at night. We loved the kitchenette, well stocked with everything you could need. This is the perfect spot for a relaxing vacation-absolutely quiet in the evening(they do have a show that looked wonderful one night-we had other plans though) but close enough to the highrise district if you want some night life and music.
The beach is definitely the best beach we have ever been to! White powder sand, turqouise water and plenty of shade if you want and clean. I am not sure if this is unique to this hotel but we participated in a Beach Clean up for an hour one morning with some of the staff-what a wonderful way to give back to this beautiful island!
Getting around Aruba is very easy and safe-hop on the bus across the road to go downtown and in front of hotel to go to "high-rise" hotel area. The buses run every 10-15 min(last run at midnight) and cost $3.00/person round trip. Bus drivers are very friendly and helpful too!
We recommend the Safari Jeep tour-a great way to see the whole island and learn some history of Aruba.(Thanks Tony!) The full day tour is well worth it and includes a delicious lunch and a stop at Baby beach (if possible, the water is even more turqouise there). Bring some small bills as there is a charge for restroom/changeroom at some of the stops.
Can't wait to return, we may even bring the kids next time! :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravelWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
2.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,007 reviews
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,565 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
875 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $234 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing