We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved the Hyatt”
Reviewed November 17, 2007

We stayed at the Hyatt for 6 glorious days. The Hyatt gets it right with accommodations, food, and great hotel service. We went on a business trip, so breakfast and dinner were included.

Tips:

- Get to the towel shack early (it opens at 7:00 am) in order to reserve a spot under the many huts that they have on the beach. We preferred hut #36.

- There are plenty of restaurants in the area (Benihana, Smokey Joe's are right across the street).

- There are mini markets down the block for snacks (when you exit the front of the hotel, go to your left about 3 blocks).

The hotel renovation is almost complete (just minor repairs going on right now), so the noise is not bad at all.

The hotel staff are wonderful; rooms made up in the morning and evening. TV is better than I expected (got local NYC news in Aruba).

I highly recommend the Hyatt for a perfect stay in Aruba.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCdweller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,057
    914
    305
    107
    68
See reviews for
1,094
1,548
47
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Hi guys -

Short & sweet - here's my two cents...
It was fantastic! The Hyatt hotel is by far the nicest hotel on the high rise section. The renovations are AWESOME! It's pretty much all complete - when my boyfriend and I were there, we barely noticed ANY construction. We didn't hear a thing (our room was on the 4th floor).
The juice bar by the pool is amazing...food was good - but I would recommend eating outside the hotel only because you are in Aruba...
Use De Palm tours for any/every activities - there awesome!
Have a great time! Hope this helps!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCTripGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

We spent 5 days and 4 nights at the Aruba Hyatt in early Nov 2007.

Hotel:
The renovations are great. Our room was nicely color coordinated and the king bed is firm. The window that everyone talks in the bathroom about is really no big deal. We thought the frosted part went up high enough to offer privacy. The open air lobby is spacious and bright. The grounds are beautifully maintained.

Beach/Pool:
The Hyatt has 30+ straw beach umbrellas. We never had a problem getting one. When you ask for towels, they help you to find an open spot. You can order food right on the beach (Helena was our server everyday and she was great). The Hyatt's pools are nice. They have a swim up bar for the adults and a kiddie pool. This seems to be a very family oriented hotel as we saw lots of families, even with very young children in strollers. Don't forgot to try the steam sauna. There are two next to the pool area and no seems to ever use them, so we had them to ourselves everyday.

Restaurants:
I'm sure you have read other reviews about the restaurants, so i'll just mention a few. Ruinas del Mar at the Hyatt has a nice buffet breakfast. It's pricey at $21 per person, but ok to try once. Tomato Charlies across the street has delicious thin crust pizza at a reasonable price. Iguana Joe's (downtown) was a great spot to eat fast food, watch the cruise ships come in and just sit and people watch from the 2nd floor open air balcony.

Misc:
i'd recommend getting a small refrigerator and buying water and snacks from the mini-mart down the street or from the shop-n-go (about a 10 minute walk from the hotel next to Wendy's). Eating at the Hyatt is expensive, but fortunately there are plenty of eating spots within a 10 to 15 minute walk if you're not a picky eater. For special occasions, consider the dinner on the beach at sunset (called paradise dinner or something --it's on the Hyatt's website). It was great, although pricey.
If you go downtown to shop, make sure to bargain, they expect it and you save $$$$.

Hope this helps.

  • Liked — the rooms were comfortable
  • Disliked — our room didn't seem to get cool one night
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bogie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We just loved loved loved the Hyatt!! We spent a fabulous 8 days and 7 nights at the hotel for our honeymoon and it was just spectacular! The renovations have made this a very clean, comfortable and modern hotel. Yes there is just a little construction going on still, but nothing that can't be tolerated. Besides....you're on vacation people....get out of your room during the day and enjoy your beautiful destination! Nevertheless, it wasn't that much and it didn't take away from the fact that the Hyatt is THE best hotel in Aruba. The property is meticulously maintained, the staff goes above and beyond to make sure you're having a wonderful stay, and the beach was beautiful. The people that help with the beach chairs and rafts were wonderful as well. We always staggered on to the beach at about 10 or 11 in the morning after breakfast, and there was always palapas and chairs available. Maybe because it wasn't summer - family - vacation time but whatever the case, it was available and it was free. I've been to many a places where you have to pay for those luxuries, so to those that are complaining, they should get over it.

I think the problem with many people on these boards is that they expect the world to be offered on a silver platter. Look, its a lovely hotel, with nice people, it isn't St. Regis or the Plaza hotel....it's not cheap, but it's also afordable. Take it for what its worth, don't sweat the stupidities, and realize people are working for YOU as you lounge around and get a tan. Be happy there's even people willing to do that for you. So many of you nay-sayers are a bunch of spoiled brats.

Anyway, I digress...it just agrivates me to see negative things said because the hotel was spectactular! Loved every minute of our honeymoon and we can't wait to come back. We even met a couple that had been going to the hyatt for the last 25 years.....lovely couple who truly looked like they enjoyed 25 years with the hotel. I'm hopeful we can do the same!

Don't bother looking elsewhere...the Hyatt in Aruba is THE place to be!!!

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to say
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SandieSometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, MD
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt from October 14 – 20 and we had a fabulous, relaxing time! The renovation was almost complete and they did a beautiful job. There was some occasional drilling but it never bothered us. The Hyatt is centrally located along Palm Beach and it is a quick walk to numerous restaurants and shops. After taking a tour of the lobbies of the Westin, Riu, Radisson, Occidental Grand and the Playa Linda, we knew we had made the best choice in selecting the Hyatt. The Riu was gorgeous but you could smell strong smoke as soon as you walked into the lobby. First I’ll share some quick tips and then I’ll go into more detail.

TIPS
- Taxi rides from airport to Hyatt (and vice versa) are $20 Monday – Saturday and $22 on Sundays and holidays.
- Ask for a refrigerator to be delivered to your room upon check-in. It’s free!
- The tap water in Aruba is good. No need to pay for bottled water at a restaurant unless you normally do that at home.
- US dollars are accepted everywhere.
- Don’t buy water, sodas, beer or munchies at the Shoco Market at the Hyatt. Walk to the Minimarket at the Paseo Herencia mall across the street from the Holiday Inn. 20 oz. soda or Aquafina water is $1.30 there.
- Reserve a beach hut before you go to breakfast (ask for rafts too). People who waited until 11:00 sometimes couldn’t get one.
- Pack a soft lunch tote from home. Fill it with ice and a couple drinks to take to the beach/pool.
- Wait until sunset to eat dinner. Most restaurants outside of the hotels have mostly outdoor seating and the sun is hot!
- If there are bathrobes in your closet, hang them side by side over the wood frame of the funky window b/t the bedroom and bathroom!
- Check your restaurant bills to see if gratuities are already included (even though you may want to add more).
- Drink refills (even iced tea) are often not free.
- Beer is often served in smaller portions than you would expect.

ROOM / BATHROOM
We had originally booked a king room on the Regency Club level. We had read complaints that the regular rooms were small and cramped so we upgraded to a Family Suite and received special permission from the reservation manager to take advantage of the Regency Club. We didn’t find out until check-in that the Club level was undergoing renovation and was closed. Upon entering the suite, there was a hallway with a wet bar and a coffeemaker. At the end of the hall the living room was on one side and the bathroom and master bedroom were on the other. The living room contained a sectional sofa with a pull out bed, a chair and ottoman, a dresser, a desk and a 32 inch flat panel TV. Also, there was a French balcony that faced the ocean. The master bedroom had a king bed, chaise lounge, dresser, small table and 2 chairs, a 32 inch flat panel TV and a clock/radio with an iPod docking station. The closet safe was large enough to hold a pocket book and a laptop computer. The bathroom was not well thought out and I can only assume that they were working with existing plumbing during the renovation and didn’t want to move things around. The toilet was right in front of the sink and I can see how a large person would feel cramped while using the sink. The wall mirror was only as wide as the sink. The rest of the wall was taken up by that ridiculous window. Two nights in a row when my husband used the bathroom while I was sleeping, enough light flooded the bedroom to wake me up. That’s when I decided to hang the bathrobes up in front of the window and it did the trick. Since it was only the two of us we had no problem hanging our bath towels back up on the bar. If we had children with us there would have been no place to hang additional towels. The bathroom vanity had generous counter space and a drawer and lower shelf for storage. The shower was oversized and had both a rain shower head and a massage wand that you could toggle between. The only really bad thing about our suite was the stench coming from the bathroom sink. We notified the front desk about the problem 3 times before housekeeping was called to look at it. The next day (this was our 4th day) when the stench persisted we asked to speak to the manager (Ady). She was very apologetic and asked us to have lunch “on the Hyatt” while someone else checked out the problem. The next morning we told her that there was no improvement, so she comp’d our room for 1 night. We thought this was fair, but before we left someone really should have resolved the problem.

POOL / BEACH
The pool was well shaded and I like the way it was separated into levels. This made it so that any single area was never crowded. Our favorite part was the water slide and we used it more than most of the kids. My husband even entered a speed contest and came in 3rd! We reserved a beach hut each morning that we planned to spend the day at the pool and the beach. We did this right before breakfast (around 8:00) and never had a problem getting the hut of our choice - #27. It was low to the ground which let no direct sun in and it was located right by the beach walk which made it central to both the pool and the ocean. We really enjoyed floating in the ocean on the rafts!

FOOD
The breakfast buffet at the Hyatt was reasonably priced ($21) and the food was fine, but not outstanding. We tried Le Petite Cafe next door at the Playa Linda resort. They have all you can eat for $7.99 (eggs, pancakes, potatoes, bacon, sausage, melon, toast, oj, tea and coffee). They bring you small portions but you can ask for more. I didn’t wish to return there because I don’t like when money handlers also handle food without gloves. Breakfast on the Beach at the Playa Linda has a really good buffet for $10.99. It includes omelets, French toast, pancakes, waffles, bacon, sausage, corned beef hash, toast, melon, juice, coffee and tea. Dushi Bagels in front of the Playa Linda was good too. We tried Salt and Pepper (across the street) as well. My husband liked his omelet and hash brown patties. I did not like how they prepared my oatmeal and they forgot to bring my English muffin and oj. There’s also a Dunkin Donuts across the street. We ordered our lunches from the beach waiters at the Hyatt’s Balashi Bar and Grill. Our favorite was the ¼ lb. kosher hot dog. For dinner we tried a pizza at Tomato Charlie’s, ribs and a cheeseburger at Smokey Joe’s, chicken parmesan and gnocchi at Gianni’s, and a brick oven pizza and penne carbonara at Casa Tua. All of the food was very good and the service was friendly and prompt, except for our absentee waiter at Gianni’s.

ACTIVITIES
We took a snorkel trip through Red Sail to the Antilla ship wreck. It was great, except that there was an initial snorkel stop near by that took up most of the time and did not have as many fish. There were free drinks (soda and mixed drinks) on board the whole trip and on the way back they served beef pastechies and chicken wings. Another day we rented a Jeep through the Avis desk at the Hyatt so that we could explore the island on our own. The Jeep was dirty, had damp seats, balding tires and was not well maintained. We found that it wasn’t necessary to actually have a 4x4 vehicle to see the sites and I would recommend renting a car perhaps from the Toyota rental shop in front of the Playa Linda next door. Also, if you’re interested in the history behind the sites and are not adventurous and don’t want to get lost, by all means sign up for a guided tour. We ended up seeing the California Lighthouse, the Alto Vista chapel, the Ayo rock formations, the Ostrich Farm and the Natural Bridge. On the main roads you would see signs pointing you in the direction of the major sites but once you turned off the main road there usually were not additional signs indicating where to go. We got really lucky for most of our day and only ended up driving in a circle once and having to turn back twice to go in the right direction. If you go to the Ostrich Farm do not pay the extra $2 for the feed. I made this mistake and the guide had me feed them with my bare hands. One ostrich tried to bite my pinkie off! OUCH! At the end of the tour everybody gets a chance to feed the birds out of a bowl for free. Note that if you admit to U.S. Customs & Immigration at the airport that you visited the Ostrich Farm they will have you sanitize the bottom of the shoes that you wore to the farm. It’s no big deal as long as you’re actually wearing them at the time.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank BambiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

October 15, 2007
Just returned from Aruba last night and we had a great time. The hotel is the best in Aruba. Our only complaint was the construction still going on at the hotel. We were supposed to stay at the Marriott, but switched due to the construction there. The Hyatt said that their construction ended mid September, but they were still working on the upper floors and the outside of the building. They gave us some free brunches and a free night to help make up for the inconvenience, but it truthfully wasn't enough given the noise from 8:30 - 5:30 everyday.

The remodeled rooms and lobby are very nice. The only complaint about the room is that they used a half smoked/half clear glass to give the bathroom light which exposes anyone in the bathroom to anyone standing in the room. Fine if you are married, but not much for non couples. Also, they have a smoked glass door with no lock.

The hotel grounds are beautiful with lush vegetation. We were on the beach everyday and had no trouble getting chairs. Huts were usually taken, but freed up by midday if you wanted one. They have free rafts for the guests, but they don't have enough. We asked other guests to borrow theirs and never had a problem. The pool is nice and has a water slide, but we didn't like the fact that the area where the swans swim feeds down into the swimming area of the pool.

As far as hotel amenities, the gym is open 24 hours and is adequate. The business office is the only place for internet and is only open mon - fri until 5:30. Just go across the street and their is an internet cafe, but they aren't truly high speed. The food at the Hyatt is pricey and so are the drinks. We walked next door to Playa Linda where there was happy hour at the outside bar everyday from noon - 5:00 and drinks were 2 for 1 at $7.00!! They pour a very heavy drink. There is also a store where you can get sodas for $.99.

The hotel casino is very nice, but we had more fun next door at the Holiday Inn. The brunch at the hotel is not to be missed on Sundays, but it is $40 a person. Great food all around the hotel...Dunkin Donuts across the street and a bagel place next door. If you like ribs, Smokey Joes across the street is amazing.

All in all great hotel, but watch the construction!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — construction
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RARPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon in Aruba. We stayed at the Hyatt and had a wonderful and relaxing time. Check in was very easy, we didn't have to wait in line and our room was ready on arrival (we arrived at 5:00 pm). The grounds are incredible. Beautiful landscaping. The pool seems endless, and the water slide was a lot of fun. The talking parrot, black swans, iguanas and other wildlife were very exotic. The rooms were really nice, and the bathroom issue that everyone has been talking about is really not an issue at all. We rather liked the openness of the see through window, but then again, we are newlyweds. :) I loved the waterfall shower head, need one for our house! My husband really enjoyed the flat screen tv. The construction is still going on, but we were aware of that when we booked our honeymoon. It seemed to start later as the week went on, but I would say the earliest was 8:00, with hammering and drilling. I'm an early riser, so I didn't mind. But my husband wasn't too pleased.
Food and drink: We asked for a refrigerator and it was delivered very quickly. We made a trip to the grocery store (Kong Ping) and filled up on beer, liqour, and lunch items. We thought that the prices for food in the Hyatt restaurants were very reasonable. The prices for drinks, on the other hand, were definitely not. Martinis start at $14, and beer at $7. Be ready to pay for alcohol if you like to drink. However, my husband and I found a way around this, and took advantage of the free drinks served at the resort casino. We're not big gamblers, so we played the quarter and nickel slots and drank for free! We did find a great happy hour at the Playa de Linda right next door to the Hyatt, which was from 12-5:00, 2 drinks for $7. We ate at the italian restaurant at the Hyatt which was really good. Other restaurants we tried included Salt and Pepper (great breakfast! reasonable $), Burgers and More (at the Playa de Linda, good for lunch), Tomato Charlie's (pretty good), Benihana's (good japanese), The Pelican Pier (our favorite seafood place! you can feed the fish right from your seat! the grouper and coconut shrimp entrees were amazing!), Iguana Joe's (downtown Oranjestad, yummy mexican!), Texas de Brazil (all you can eat brazilian steakhouse, awesome salad bar, great experience!).
Overall, the Hyatt was a beautiful, but very expensive resort. We walked around to the other neighboring resorts, and thought that the grounds of the Hyatt were the most beautiful, by far. Unfortunately, we didn't see a sunset the entire duration of our trip, clouds were always in the way. We would definitely recommend renting a car for a day and exploring the island yourself. Travel down to Eagle Beach (rated one of top 10 dream beaches of the world, you'll quickly see why!), Baby Beach, the Natural Bridge. We also did the Jolly Pirates snorkeling trip, this was a blast--three different stops and a rope swing, open bar, and just a really cool ship.

Helpful?
5 Thank cjoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,973 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,118 reviews
3.4 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.3 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino

Property: Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 85, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an oasis of gracious elegance and warm hospitality. This jewel among beachfront hotels in Aruba offers a welcoming combination of superb amenities, ideal location and outstanding service. Discover countless ways to spend your days at our luxurious Aruba hotel and spa. Play tennis, relax on the white-sand beach, race down the waterslide, or pamper yourself at Stillwater Spa. Savor delicious cuisine from around the world. Take a chance in the casino. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled family vacation, a romantic getaway or a memorable business gathering, this year-round Palm Beach Aruba hotel destination is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, West Indies, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort And Casino Palm - Eagle Beach
Hyatt Palm/Eagle Beach
Palm/Eagle Beach Hyatt
Aruba Hyatt
Hyatt Hotel Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing