We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good snorkeling.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmok Reef

Malmok Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Afternoon Pirate Sail and Snorkel Cruise in Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great dive, not just because of the Debbie II wreck but because of ample brain coral and schools of barracuda patrolling the area.
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Clean and a lot of fish to see. Not a lot of current and a good place for the beginners to try. Wear fins so you can stay up close to the rocks along the beach. You wave to walk to the south a little ways to get in safely. The rocks are slippery so be careful. This is a place you can take younger kids. Just start them out a little farther out and work in. But still be careful,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Toddbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    68
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Sea Turtle and Squid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have snorkeled this reef so many times and have loved it each time. This review is for a morning snorkel which I highly suggest. We were in the water at 9:00 am and were searching for a sea turtle which we found. We also saw a school of squid, needle fish, trumpet fish and a cornetfish (look it up its crazy). Go in the morning before the boats get there and you will have a whole new experience. Later in the day, we saw an octopus.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KSaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“mega fish spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

if you are a snorkeler, you will love it there. just wear water shoes and watch for the shallow coral so you don't get your belly scraped.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank theislanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not much marine life”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Entering the water with bare feet is very easy. There is enough sandy area to put on your fins and mask without difficulty. The visibility was limited and marine life basically non-existent. The reef is patchy and in terrible shape, although there are a number of fish, I noticed their colors were bleached out. Definitely not the type of snorkeling you would find in the other Caribbean islands. Do not recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

For all the hype I read on line it was just okay. But I will tell you that the coral around Aruba is dead anyways so don't expect much.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malmok Reef also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Malmok Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing