We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott A Must!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2005

Just got back from a wonderful stay at the Marriott Aruba Resort. The rooms are very spacious and have great balconies. It has a fun Casino and great service at all levels and even turn down service! The fabulous wet bar and the special service from the waiters bringing our Carnival Coladas straight to our beach chairs on the water is what seperates this hotel from the others.

Aruba is a great little island with such kind and hospitable people. Definite musts on the island are jeep rentals at more 4 less jeep and car rental (ask for Ricky). They have great prices on rentals and impeccable service. I read the previous reviews and have to differ with recommendations to eat dinner at Le Dome. My party of 4 agrees Le Don't eat at Le Dome. The food was not great at all. The service is wonderful, but what is service without great food.

The Flying Fishbone is a great restaurant. Highly recommended and take note that it is a little far so give yourself enough time to get there.

I hope this helps.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Dramarix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,386 - 5,392 of 6,004 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Lindenwold, NJ
111
Reviewed May 24, 2005

We stayed at the aruba marriott stellaris the week of May 16th and cannot say enough good things about our experience. The staff was very friendly and checked us in immediately. Our rooms were very large and the balcony was perfect. Also the maid service was great as they came around 2 times a day to clean the room.

The pool was very nice and the beach in front of the marriott was better than the other hotels b/c it is the last beach of the high rise hotels so it is less crowded. Beware the sun is very strong and unfortunately we didn't have much wind the days we were there so it was very hot. wear sunscreen!

We ate at the Tuscany restaurant when there and it was decent. very pricey. the other nights we mostly ate outside of the hotel. The one thing they do need is a better priced breakfast selection. the breakfast at La Vista was $19/person for the buffett.

Overall, aruba was great. the restaurants (el gaucho, madame jeanettes) were outstanding, the people are the freindliest of any island, and the marriott did a great job. The weather is dynamite as well.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Woodside, New York
125
Reviewed May 24, 2005

Aruba is a great place to relax and unwind. I'm a New Yorker and I definitely have my fair share of stress but all was forgotten once I reached this island/hotel. I would definitely recommend going to this hotel as it has amazing service, great restaurants, a Casino and Mandara Spa.

I stayed at this hotel for eight days and seven nights and I had an absolutely magnificent time. The weather is the best. It has mild winds and the sun is strong but pleasant.

As far as restaurants are concerned, my boyfriend and I went to several restaurants on the island and a typical meal for 2 ranged anywhere from $80-$125. The best places we ate at were Texas de Brazil, Tuscany, Sunset Grille, Blossoms and Le Dome.

Texas de Brazil - is a Brazilian steakhouse that has a wide array of meats ranging from beef, chicken, lamb, and pork. The food could keep on coming if you choose and it was by far one of the best places we ate on the island.

Tuscany- Italian food in the Marriot was very good. Nice portions and a very nice environment. There was a piano player on the premises which was a nice touch

Sunset Grille- food is a la carte and was very good although a bit pricier than usual for smaller portions of food. We sat outside and it was a very nice tranquil environment

Blossoms - had amazing Chinese food and it was a nice break from eating beef many nights

Le Dome - was a very romantic setting and had amazing food a definitely must go to restaurant. The food is Belgian/French and prices for food were very reasonable.

Ok as far as Casino's are concerned none are huge but the Marriot's did have a relaxed environment which was very nice and I gambled a couple of nights and made some money!!

Mandara Spa is a very tranquil spa that I think every couple should go to. My boyfriend and I went for a couple's body exfoliation, foot massage, Vichy shower and body massage which was very relaxing and it was a 90 minutes procedure that left us walking on air.

I would recommend Aruba and the Marriot hotel to anyone and everyone who wants to get away from it all and have a nice relaxing time away from home. It is definitely better than the Bahamas and other Caribbean islands. As their motto goes - It is one Happy Island.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2005

My family and I just got back from a weeks stay in Aruba and enjoyed our stay at the Marriot. The resturants are a bit more than what we wanted to spend so we found other ones not that far away (highly recommend iguana joes). The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing which wasn't really a problem for me was that the water temperture in the shower fluctuated between really hot and cold. The hotel and ongoing scheduled events that we didn't take part in, instead we went off to enjoy the island.
If you want to go on a snorkelling trip go with the jolly pirates or the blue melody (sunset), both weren't overcrowed as other boats and were tons of fun.

6  Thank the1blurose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kinnelon, NJ
19
Reviewed May 20, 2005

For the first time we visited Aruba, as we exchanged one week from onother Marriott location. The one bedroom suite that we had was great, with the standards of the Marriott time share organization; the service was equally good, rooms very clean and the people great. The restaurants at the hotel were very good to excellent with good food and very good wine cellar plus superb service, but note that they are not inexpensive. As a matter of fact everything is expensive in the island (understandably so because they do not produce anything locally and all is imported).

We rented a car to have the mobility and indenpendence. They were from Hertz and they were not in good shape and not too clean. We were told that the local company " rents" the brand name but they are independent; therefore you do not get milage, discount or upgrades as you would normally do mostly everywere else.

We were somewhat dissapointed with the beach in front of the hotel, eventhough the water had a nice color it was not as transparent as other island or other beaches in Aruba; I will venture to "speculate" that the break water structure located inmediately to the SE of the hotel is the reason, as it not allows the water to flow nicely.

Aruba is a place to rest, as there is nothing much to see. The prevailing winds are a blessing as they keep the humidity low, but it becomes an annoyance after a while.

If you like golf you will have a good time. If you like flyfishing for bonefish, you may be for a surprise. I only fished one day, early in the morning and had couple of hits and runs and after 10 minutes they cut the leader. The location is just couple miles to the north in the flats almost just in front of the remains of the steel structure of a beached ship. Overall it was a good vacation but by far the most important assets of that "Happy Island" were the local pleople, both "Arubianos" and "Arubeans".

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
117
Reviewed May 18, 2005

My wife booked this trip as a last-minute deal from travelocity and I believe it came with a garden view room on the 2nd floor.

Rooms: The accomodating front-desk was able to give us a partial beach-view room after we had voiced our concern over the noisy air-conditioning unit below our balcony in our original room. Once in our new room on the 4th floor we had a beautiful view of the ocean, and the partial view was still a gorgeous panoramic view of the beach and ocean. That being said, try to request for partail view rooms higher than the 2nd floor if possible.

Cleanliness: The rooms were very clean and the beds were made twice a day. We know this because we went to the beach around 8 AM most days and came back to a made bed around 2 PM. We took a small nap mid-day after we got enough sun. We would leave the room again around 5 PM to go out for dinner and found that the beds were made again when we got back around 10 PM, this time with 2 small chocolate squares on our bed!

Beach: The beach was very clean and if you're on such an extravagant vacation, do yourself a favor and wake up early (8 AM) to get a palapa. We always got one, and the one time we did not get one outright, we were able to speak to either the towel desk or the beach personnel to see if any one had left their palapa for the day. You can reserve a palapa for 3 days in a row but we never felt the need to do so.

Pool: The pool was beautiful and warm although we did not spend a lot of time around it. Try the raspberry mudslides at the swim-up bar, they're very tasty!

Concierge: Very helpful, they can book any sightseeing tour or activity for you. We were planning to go horseback riding one day and see the natural bridge on another day, and the concierge (Elodia) was able to book a horseback riding tour TO the natural bridge, which was great. One word of caution: Horseback riding will leave your back sore so plan it toward the end of your trip. My wife is 28 and I am 31 so we are by no means old, so you will be sore, trust me!

Restaurants: We ate at Simply Fish and La Vista. Simply Fish is ON THE BEACH where the Marriot beach bar is, and there are no huge signs to tell you where it is, my wife had the Chilean sea-bass and it was very delicious. La Vista is an all you can eat buffet. If you walk east toward the other hotels you can sample thier restaurants as well. We had lunch at Moomba Beach Bar on time (by the Holiday Inn, a 5 minute walk by the beach). We also ate at the Amazonia Churrascaria (Steakhouse) where you can have your fill of brazilian style food, it is an all-you can eat salad bar and steak-house. You will have to cab it to the Oranjestad restaurants. Plan to spend $40-50 per person on average for dinner just about anywhere for a 3 course meal (No, it's NOT CHEAP in Aruba unless you go to Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, or Wendy's which you will have to cab).

Nearby Stores: This is the one biggest drawback, there are none. If you forget your sunblock plan to spend $23 at the Marriott Bazaar for a regular bottle of coppertone sunblock, and if you leave your contact lens case at home that will cost you $8. A bottle of water (1 liter) $4, and sutter home zinfandel is $20. These prices are at least 300% of our prices at home. Don't forget your sunblock and buy your liquor from the duty-free shops at the airport where a bottle of absolut is only $7 in Aruba (costs $12 here in the US).

Hope this helps! Have fun in Aruba!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pennsylvania
128
Reviewed May 16, 2005

As background, my Significant Other and I, along with his parents, stayed at the Aruba Marriott in late April 2005.

We had pre-booked two rooms, each with a king size bed. Upon check-in, we were not asked which type of room we would prefer (two double beds vs. King Bed). It was assumed by the staff that two men would be assigned two double beds. From personal experience as a gay couple, this presumption has not occurred at Hyatt Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, or W Hotels (Starwood Group) on previous trips throughout the US, Canada and Caribbean, which we frequent. We are always given an option upon check-in with no discrimination or prejudice. The front desk staff was noticeably uncomfortable.

Throughout our stay at the Aruba Marriott, we were harassed, presumably due to our sexual orientation, particularly at the Stellaris Casino (Stellaris Casino employees are actually Marriott employees). We were subjected to verbal harassment frequently. Feedback to management went on deaf ears.

We left the Aruba Marriott feeling utterly disgusted with the lack of customer service and discretion toward hotel guests. I can perhaps understand if one isolated incident occurs during a trip but there seems to be a pervasive tone of prejudice and discrimination at the Aruba Marriott, particularly toward gay guests.

It would also appear from our stay at the Aruba Marriott, that any diversity policy or training of this nature is nonexistent.

We will most likely never stay at a Marriott again due to this issue.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,289 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard #101, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $301 - $1,197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on Palm Beach, Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino is an essential getaway to your alluring Aruba vacation. Enjoy comfort and relaxation at our oceanfront resort in Palm Beach, Aruba featuring an adult exclusive pool, and the exclusive Tradewinds Club - an upscale hotel-within-a-hotel concept on the top floor of the resort. Savor in the upgraded amenities, five daily dining presentations in the private lounge, a member-only beach area, and full access to the Tradewinds Concierge Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Aruba Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Aruba Hotel Stellaris
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing