We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have kids, go elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsn
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“If you have kids, go elsewhere”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked here thinking it was connected to the Surf Club, which is super kid friendly etc. The way it seemed online made us think that while they weren't physically connected, we could still go to the Surf Club since we were staying at the Marriott - not the case. This hotel is really not kid friendly and since we were traveling with our 2 year old, it wasn't a good fit. I think the hotel might be a good fit for couples or those traveling on business. The food prices here are very high though so I would recommend going the all-inclusive route instead. We have stayed at the Divi before and would have stayed there again but it was literally all booked.
Pros: Nice beach front and ideal location for being a little away from the action if you are looking for a more relaxing vacation. The breakfast buffet is fine but they don't change it at all from day to day. We also had an evening buffet there as well - which was alright but pretty pricey.
Cons: Not family friendly, expensive for what you get, 'ocean views' are not really such given the way the hotel is set up - if you are in a room at a certain angle you get a sliver of ocean from your room. The hut system they have is insane in my mind and a huge waste of time.

Essentially we weren't happy and wouldn't stay here again. A few tips I have about Aruba in general though:
-Rent a car before arriving and they will meet you at the airport and then meet you there upon your return to get the car. We went with Wheels2Go and we were super happy with them - $180 for an entire week of car rental, which is a great deal especially bc Aruba is very safe to drive in and explore so you'll want to use the car.
-Good places to eat are Flying Fishbone, Barefoot Flipflop, and Madame Janette. We have tried other places but those are our favs. Book your reservations before your trip and if you go to a place that offers beachfront make your reservation at least 1/2 hr before sunset is scheduled. So we would go at 5:30pm and then the sun sets at 6:15p...this is important because you want to get nice sunset pictures and once it's down, it's down for the night!
-Explore the island on your own! If you rent a car you can be on your own timetable and have some fun.
-Shopping downtown is fun and they have a new trolley that runs from 10am-5pm. Now keep in mind it's "island time" so when we went one day for the 10am trolley it came at 10:35, no joke.
-We have purchased numerous diamonds while in Aruba - Noble jewelers is the only place I trust there

Have a great time - I'm open to answer questions or help with trip stuff if you private message me your questions. Bon Bini!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cms531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaMarriottResort, Hotel Manager at Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Cms

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our resort. I am disappointed that our resort did not fit your needs, and I will certainly review our website for any mentions of the Surf Club, as you are right we are separate properties with different styles and our intention is certainly not mislead anyone. We do cater to many families throughout the year, but we do not have a kids club, so we are not a match for everyone. You also mentioned the beach palapa’s, and I have to say that it certainly is difficult for all of the major beach hotels to manage this area, all of Aruba’s beautiful beaches are public, and as such the number of palapa’s we have is not regulated by the hotel. We do feel that we offer a very fair approach to getting a palapa, which allows some to be given out in the morning for the next day, some in the afternoon and some at a small price. Of course the system is not perfect, and not everyone may get a palapa every day during peak season, but we do restrict the resort Palapas to resort guests only. Recognizing this we did add an additional pool last year, which has become very popular with our adult guests. Again thank you for your review, and even if you do choose to stay elsewhere on your next visit, I do hope you still get to enjoy our island and I am sorry that we were not what you were looking for this time.

Matt

Matt Knights, Hotel Manager, Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,669
    1,478
    346
    142
    62
See reviews for
1,484
2,888
85
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,682)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Normally I would not take the time to do a review of a vacation or of a particular resort but Marriott Stellaris is the exception. For starters the resort is consistent with the Marriott experience. By that I mean no expense is spared in creating a beautiful resort with all of the expected amenities and more. The staff is very friendly and I do not remember one staff member who did not speak or ask what they could do to make our stay enjoyable. Which brings me to why I am taking the time to write this review. On our first night we ate at the La Vista restaurant, we were waited on by Agustin. He took very good care of us all week long, from navigating the menu to giving pointers on the menu. I've been to a lot of five star restaurants but have never been made to feel as special as this waiter he is top notch. If you are making this trip and you go to this resturaunt do yourself a favor ask for Augustin for a great dining experience. We will go back thanks in no small part to Agustin.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaMarriottResort, Hotel Manager at Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Russell

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our resort, it is very much appreciated. Your title did make me smile this morning “Best in Class”. Love it! It sounds like you had a great stay with us and I am happy to hear that Augustin made it happen for you in La Vista, he is certainly a superstar and I will be sure to personally thank him for you. Again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Matt

Matt Knights, Hotel Manager, Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I returned to Aruba, where we went on our honeymoon 30 years ago. We chose the Marriott as our friends gave it rave reviews. We were more than delighted when after we checked in Dave at the front desk knew of our 30th anniversary and gave us a gift of delicious chocolate.
We walked around the beautiful grounds and had lunch at the pool. When we returned to our room to get ready for dinner, champange was waiting in our room, chilling with glasses. Dave at the front desk sent it up with congrats from Marriott.
We had a wonderful time, concierge desk so helpful with advice as to where to go and see the sights.
Remember to reserve your hut at the beach each night for the next morning...be there by 4PM to reserve.
Casino pretty crowded at night, try to arrive early to get best machines and tables.
Food delicious but pricey. Cafe in the lobby excellent choices along with a sushi bar.
Had a wonderful time, thank you Marriott....

Room Tip: Request room not near the elevator...if looking for balcony room, 4th floor and higher to see the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenayD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaMarriottResort, Hotel Manager at Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Benay

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our resort, it is certainly appreciated. Also Congratulations on your 30th anniversary, and thank you for choosing our resort for your celebration. You commented on Dave, who really is stunning at what he does, I will be sure to pass along your lovely comments. Again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Matt

Matt Knights, Hotel Manager, Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

What can I say? This place is paradise. My fiance and I recently visited to plan our wedding. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very accommodating. Simone, our wedding planner, took great care of us. She made sure that our trip was both relaxing and incredibly productive. We were able to spend a day bouncing back and forth between the pool and the beach. Both are fantastic. There is no shortage of activities or bars/restaurants in the resort. The Marriott is also within a 10-15 minute walk of countless other bars, clubs and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and clean with huge balconies. Great stay. We cannot wait to come back next year and stay much longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaMarriottResort, Hotel Manager at Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Joe

Thank you for your great review of our resort, it is very much appreciated. I love the way you started your review: “Perfect” Love it! Also congratulations on your wedding, and thank you for trusting us with your special day. You mentioned Simone, who I have to say is exceptional at what she does. I will be sure to personally thank her for you. Again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Matt

Matt Knights, Hotel Manager, Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was my first stay at the Aruba Marriott. It sits at the north end of the "High Rise" area of Aruba. It used to be the last high rise resort in the Palm Beach area but the new Ritz sits right next door and further north now. The reason I mention its location is that the entire high rise area has become overcrowded. Whereas, 20 years ago, when I first visited Aruba the beach was referred to as Fishermans huts area of Aruba because there were only a few hotels and the beaches were pretty pristine. Since then, one hotel after another has been built and palapas now dot the landscape as far as the eye can see and it seems to be "infested" with humanity. So by going to the "end" of the high rise area, you can still see what the beaches used to be like. The Marriott has two pools. The main pool was very noisy during the day. The adult pool was nice and quiet and tranquil. The rooms were clean and somewhat Spartan. The carpeting appeared very worn and tired. The bathrooms were clean and modern but with very amateurish grout work (yeah, I notice those things).

Pros: (1) right next to the pristine end of the beach; (2) 24 hour lobby café serving doughnuts, coffee, and sandwiches (came in very handy for quick breakfast); (3) beautiful and quiet adult pool; (4) clean rooms (5) Simply Fish restaurant was very convenient and had delicious food;(6) Close to shopping areas and many restaurants.

Cons: (1) most convoluted system for reserving palapas (if you're willing to pay for reservation then you can reserve a palapa for 3 consecutive days starting at 10:00 AM, but if you don't want to pay then you get in line for next-day reservations at 4:00 PM, and people actually got in line starting around 3:15) (2) 3 out of 8 days of our stay the adult pool closed at 3:00 PM for a private party. It seemed to me that I paid for pool privileges and I shouldn't be denied my fun because the Marriott wants to make even more profit. I've been to Ritz-Carlton and Four Seasons in Maui and when they had private parties they only closed a part of the pool and NOT the whole pool. (3) overcrowded beach. (4) Nice high definition TV but with no high definition. Low def pictures stretched out to fit the TV screen is one of my pet peeves; (5) having to pay for internet. Come on let's be a little classy and provide free internet and free local calls. (5) In room safe positioned in such a way that you had to contort yourself to make sure you retrieved everything.

Overall (despite my complaints), we had a nice stay at the Marriott but we would probably opt to stay at the low rise areas next time where the beaches didn't seem overrun with palapas and people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phloidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaMarriottResort, Hotel Manager at Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Phloidee

Thank you for your review of our resort, it is very much appreciated. You are right in saying that the island changed a great deal over the last 20 years. Aruba certainly has hotels to suit a variety of guest tastes, and I agree that our hotel is luckily situated on a pristine part of the beach. You mentioned the beach palapa’s, and I have to say that it certainly is difficult for all of the major beach hotels to manage this area, all of Aruba’s beautiful beaches are public, and as such the number of palapa’s we have is not regulated by the hotel. We do feel that we offer a very fair approach to getting a palapa, which allows some to be given out in the morning for the next day, some in the afternoon and some at a small price. Of course the system is not perfect, and not everyone may get a palapa every day during peak season, but we do restrict the resort Palapas to resort guests only. Recognizing this we did add an additional pool last year, which has become very popular with our adult guests. Again thank you for your review, and even if you do choose to stay elsewhere on your next visit, I do hope you still get to enjoy our island.

Matt

Matt Knights, Hotel Manager, Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire County
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

NOT SURE WHY THIS DID NOT GO TO Marriott Aruba Resort and Stellaris Casino BUT that is what this review is for and that is the link I clicked on. hotel was very nice. The adult pool was gorgeous and very zen like. The hotel's signature restaurant, lovely. Called Simply Fish, it is a white table cloth dining experience on the beach. Worthwhile and relaxing. We had ocean view pool side. Nice rooms, comfortable and lovely views. Service however was very good. Maid service, lobby bar and house managers very accommodating. We travel a bit and stay with Marriotts. The service was what you would expect in a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Marriott Stellaris Resort I would opt for adult pool room views. Though we had ocean views, the palm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolchange5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaMarriottResort, Hotel Manager at Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Coolchange

Thank you for your excellent review of our resort, it is very much appreciated. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Adult pool, which really is a nice touch of Zen, very quiet. Thank you also for commenting on Simply Fish, it is one of my favorite restaurants, there is something special about dining with your toes in the sand. Priceless. Again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Matt

Matt Knights, Hotel Manager, Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stay in Marriott hotels at least 50 nights a year and was very excited for our trip to Aruba. When we got to the hotel and were sent to the Tradewinds floor to check-in the staff member at the desk did what you would expect. She greeted us with a smile and asked "are you checking in? Name please" What seemed like a few minutes later her response was that "I don't see your reservation until next week and we are completely booked this week" Needless to say my wife and I were horrified. Luckily, we had a email copy of our reservation reminder from Marriott and presented said receipt.

It is at this point where sweet and lovely Reshma stepped in and saved the day...well week! Reshma took ownership of the scheduling mistake by the hotel and did everything she could to make up for the stress we experienced at check-in. Reshma was warm and very comforting and followed up with my wife and I the entire week we were there. She was able to upgrade us to a very special room facing the ocean where the sunsets were just amazing. I can't thank her enough for that! It really made us very happy.

The tradewinds food area was excellent and offered plenty of healthy choices. We were never hungry afterwards. Out of 6 nights we only ate 2 dinners outside of the trade winds floor. What I especially liked about the trade winds food area was the intimate feel and how easily it was to meet other guests. The view in the dining area is nothing to write home about and on the 8th floor but other than that it was great.

Most of our time was spent at the adult pool or beach. The adult pool was lovely and not over crowded. The ocean water was 83 degrees!!, and my wife and I spent at least 2 Sunsets literally bobbing in the calm, calm ocean with drinks in our hands. It was spectacular. There are virtually NO waves at the beach which makes for a bathtub-like experience!

All in all, I would definitely go back to this hotel and when I do will make sure I reach out to Reshma. She saved our vacation!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaMarriottResort, Hotel Manager at Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Mark

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our resort, it is certainly appreciated. It sounds like you really enjoyed our Tradewinds lounge; sometimes it is nice to treat yourself to a bit of adult luxury. I do however, have to apologize for the glitch on your arrival, it is certainly not the way you should have started your vacation with us. This said; I am happy to hear that Reshma was able to make it work; she really is one of our superstars, I will be sure to pass along your comments to her. Again thank you for your review (and some great pictures) and I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Matt

Matt Knights, Hotel Manager, Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,876 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
467 reviews
4.1 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,328 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 101, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on Palm Beach, our Aruba getaway is essential to your alluring Aruba vacation. Enjoy comfort and relaxing Aruba accommodations featuring the resort, adult exclusive pool, and the exclusive Tradewinds Club - an upscale hotel-within-a-hotel concept on the top floor of this Aruba resort. Savor in the upgraded amenities, five daily dining presentations in the private lounge, a member-only beach area, and full access to the Tradewinds Concierge Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Aruba Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott Aruba Hotel Stellaris
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing