We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not care Marriott Status”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We are Marriott's highest elite and are supposed to get a superior room with upgrade to suite if available regardless of price of room paid for. Arrived and got low room just above parking lot next to construction next door. View was of them looking in our window. Complained and TOO BAD until started to call Marriott headquarters, Then were moved to low floor garden floor which was ok. Most Marriott's have a concierge floor which they upgrade their elites to. Not here, they changed it into $150/night extra.

On the good side, all of the staff with few exceptions were wonderful and the Ruth Chris had one of best steaks ever and the all you can eat lobster was good.

Second problem, Unless you get up early and get a chair, their are none. I saw one that was folded back from 8 am until 4 pm when a fat New Jersey couple came out to use it. They need to patrol this beeter

Room Tip: demand a garden (ocean) view or pay extra for concierge lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,977 - 3,983 of 6,171 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for a week in early March and are kids are the perfect age for beach and pool play so the ability to walk out and be right there was priceless. There are kids and families, but its not overwhelming, and no "college spring break" feel. Water and weather were great, we've seen clearer water but we were pleased with the beach & kids had no trouble in the ocean. Other details:
1. It can be pricey! But by the second day we found the kids were splitting kids meals at about $10, so $5 a kid is not bad!
2. Room service and house cleaning was excellent. And the worked around our napping/kid schedule. We did have a problem with our hot water - but it was handled. Our only complaint was the towels! For a five star we expected a better grade.
3. It's the little things that add up! Snacks, extra sunblock, gelato, etc. everything can be charged to your room so be ready at check out!
4, Palampa system. With kids we didn't sit around the pool much - we were in it! At the beach we did reserve a few days - @$25 and guaranteed shade for the kids we thought it was worth it! Our 1st day we reserved for our LAST DAY and then 2 others moving back toward the present. No problems with availability and I just walked up midday Sunday (got Friday, Thursday, Wednesday). Those days were perfect for moving back and forth from the beach and pool!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimelball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Typical Marriott quality: nice lobby, lots of amenities, good location, clean rooms and friendly staff. Now the issues: the lobby smells like smoke all the time; they constantly push the timeshare offering at the ocean and surf clubs, the palapa reservation system takes away from your time(need to line up an hour to get one); the decor is tired and dated; and the concierge is not incented for your best interests (basically only sells one tour operator).

Given that is a level 7 and comparing it with others I have been, this one falls short. If not for the Aruba location, this would be a level 5 hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Juni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It has now been an annual visit for us. We look forward to ARUBA in February--not because its cold in the US, but we see the same visitors and the staff hardly changes.
The weather was great, the MARRIOTT was great and everyone on the island treated
us like royalty. They are near completion of a new RITZ CARLTON next door--would think about trying it, but the folks at the MARRIOTT make us want to return.
If you eat at LA VISTA, ask for one of the following servers:
FRANCIS--NATASHA--AUGUSTINE--KEITH
you'll enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegierons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

So this was a nice hotel, very clean and exactly what you'd expect from a Marriott. That was actually my only complaint about the hotel - it was just like any other Marriott in the states, nothing tropical about it. The only thing that made me feel like we were in the Caribbean was that we were greeted at check-in with fruit punch. Outside of that, the appearance of the hotel is a bit business like (may or may not be a problem for you). The adjacent Marriott properties (Ocean Club and Surf Club) were much more tropical looking. I didn't see the rooms but if I went again I would probably stay at Surf Club. You can go back and forth between the properties and use the amenities in any of them regardless of which one you stay in it seems.

Drinks - they are not cheap. There is a 2 for 1 happy hour at the pool bar in the afternoon but that means 2 for $11, still not that cheap. I would suggest buying alcohol at the duty free shop in the airport (great prices) and bring a soft cooler with you and bring your own drinks to the beach and pool. That worked out great for us and we saved a lot of money.

Food - we didn't really eat much at the resort because it was so expensive but we didn't have to because there was so much nearby. We did eat at the pool bar a couple times - great fries and grilled cheese and prices are reasonable. We also ate at the cafe in the lobby and my BF had the best pastrami and swiss sandwich he can remember. I had an egg and cheese croissant which was very good and also reasonable. We ate at Smokey Joe's (famous for ribs) which was pretty good although the service was very slow. We also ate at Moomba Beach (great place on the beach within walking distance with breakfast buffet for $11.99) and Hadicurari - a bit more expensive for dinner which we didn't enjoy much but the breakfast was fantastic - I had pancakes for just $5 and they were yummy. The service was also very good here. Both Moomba and Hadicurari are walking distance- just walk through Ocean Club and through Surf Club and it is on the beach outside of Surf Club. Or you can just walk down the beach. 5 minute walk.

Room - very clean but business like as a mentioned. Great amenities however. Also, if you have Marriott rewards you get free wifi. Was very useful. Do not stay in room 352 - we stayed there and it was fine except you have no view at all and your balcony while huge, looks out to the roof of the building and nothing else - literally nothing. Very private though. We didn't bother moving since we didn't spend much time in the room.

Casino - pretty crowded, decent size, has a small stage with live entertainment. Many people have complained about the smoke in their reviews. Yes, you smell smoke in the casino but we did NOT smell smoke until we went inside.

Beach - the water is gorgeous and warm. There is a rough spot of sand that has a lot of shells and tough to walk on when you enter the ocean so you have to get past it to reach smooth sand again, and there is a significant dip so be careful walking in. It is very windy in Aruba and it caused the sand to smack us in the face so we only spent one day at the beach and the rest at the pool. Regarding the palapas, it is true they were a bit hard to come by unless you are out there very early or wait until the afternoon.

Pools - There is a main pool with a swim up bar and an adults only pool. We spent one day at each and enjoyed both. The adult pool is definitely more quiet but the main pool wasn't extremely loud either. The adult pool is smaller so it's harder to find a seat but certainly easier to find chairs at the pool vs. the beach. The chairs at the adult pool had cushions and were much more comfortable.

Location - this resort is at the end of the beach so the location wasn't the best but not horrible either. You can walk to the area with the shopping, bars and restaurants but it is probably a 20 minute walk. However, the resort has a guy that will drive you in a golf cart to the end of the Marriott properties which gets you more than halfway there. We did that each night. It is free and we just tipped him a couple bucks. Shaves a good ten minutes off your walk. One night we came back too late to catch the ride home though. If I ever went back to Aruba I might choose to stay at one of the hotels a little closer to the nightlife.

Service - lobby personnel were very friendly and helpful. Everyone was almost always smiling.

Speaking of nightlife, they have several bars and restaurants nearby. Senor Frogs seemed to be the most fun with the biggest crowd. Moomba Beach is fun at night as well (5 minute walk as mentioned earlier). They have a live band at night.

Transportation - Booked DePalm Tours for $20 per person round trip. Excellent service, they were right outside when we exited the airport and ride was smooth with no problems.

By the way, we did not do Tradewinds and I can't say I missed it at all. I think it would have been a waste of money other than the fact that I would have had a better view.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank T13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The resort was wonderful, clean and well appointed. Our view was beautiful, ocean @ sunsets The casino was very nice and nice to us !! The beach is to crowded, the water is warm and the color is sooo incredible it does not seem real. They really say there are no sharks, that made me very happy. I do not know who told the sharks they could not come but that's OK!!!. Be ready to break the bank for food and drinks though, so bring plenty of money. No one warned us so we ate a lot of popcorn, it was fun. They island is not beautiful, lush. It is a desert. The beaches more than make up for that. Best of all are the people Lovely, friendly helpful, a true delight. Go with lots of money and enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Curleyq50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was the first time my wife and I visited Aruba. If we return for the second it will be due to the friendly staff at this beautifully appointed hotel. Their beach tends to be a bit overcrowded, however, we stayed at the pool which was very nice with an ideal water temperature. The rooms were of good size and our view of the ocean was fantastic. I've been disappointed by inadequate air conditioning in my previous stays in the Carribean. Not here, it was quite up to our standards. We noted that families with children seemed to be enjoying the facilities.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with an ocean view on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,478 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard #101, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $291 - $1,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on Palm Beach, Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino is an essential getaway to your alluring Aruba vacation. Enjoy comfort and relaxation at our oceanfront resort in Palm Beach, Aruba featuring an adult exclusive pool, and the exclusive Tradewinds Club - an upscale hotel-within-a-hotel concept on the top floor of the resort. Savor in the upgraded amenities, five daily dining presentations in the private lounge, a member-only beach area, and full access to the Tradewinds Concierge Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Aruba Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott Aruba Hotel Stellaris
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing