We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like Mexican food”
Review of Iguana Cantina

Iguana Cantina
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you like Mexican food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First off, I must say it was my first experience with 'real' Mexican food, so that must have had its influence on my experience. Personally, I was not really blown away by the taste of the food, it was just ok. The portion size was good though. Because my husband and I were not sure about what to expect, we decided to order one dish, and see how that would be. You get 2 sides with the main order. For sharing one dish between 2 people, you have to pay $6 for the extra plate, which is a little steep, in my opinion. If you really are into Mexican food, then give it a go, but otherwise, go to Smokey Joe's or Tony Roma's a little further down the road.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    272
    186
    76
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Garden Variety for a...”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

If your from Texas or California, this Tex Mex restaurant will not impress. If you are from the northeast, this is garden variety "Mexican".

Pros
• Extremely convenient location to Palm Beach High Rise area (second visit on arrival night in 3 years)
• Hot entrees (Plato Mexicano was good)
• Waitress during this visit was extremely helpful and friendly (__?__ Mary)

Cons
• Cold condiments (chips and salsa, pico de gallo, and guacamole)

If this was back home, I would most likely not visit again, unless they were the only game in town, and I had a craving for Tex Mex. However, considering the convenience in Palm Beach, and the overabundance of overpriced mediocre restaurants with the same menu items here in Aruba, this is likely to be our arrival night dining option for awhile.

And for those that think Taco Bell is better, it's just not true.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillyScrapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mexican Food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had dinner here on a sunday. The refried beens did not seem to be refried, they came in a cup, whole beens in a liquid/water with some spice. Service was good, price cheap compared to other places, but not very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank henry2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but food is just okay!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The resaurant sits upstairs in the mall area and has a pretty cool theme with all the iguana's inside. However, when the chips and salsa arrived at the table I knew then the the food was not going to be top notch! The salsa was not homemade and had little flavor and the chips a little greasy for my tastes. We were there on a Wed night and it was all you could eat fajitas. I had the mixed fajitas and they were okay...the added lime slices added some flavor but the beans and rice were a total disappointment. Overall, I would rate this slightly below a Taco Bell in terms of true Mexican food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average - get what you expect”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Use this place for a quick dinner when you're tired and don't feel like going out for a long dinner far from your hotel. The food is average, at best, but it's not crappy and you will enjoy it. It's just nothing special - a typical Mexican restaurant. I will say that the portions are very generous, so don't worry about being stiffed on your plate. I had the fish tacos last time and they were actually really good. Again, use this place when you're looking for a quick meal and don't plan on going far or waiting long for your dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguana Cantina also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Iguana Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing