We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good local style food, reasonable prices”
Review of Tulip

Tulip
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Caribbean, Dutch, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good local style food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

we go to Tulip every year and enjoyed it again. local style dishes are excellent and the only little gripe is that I ordered Keeshi Yeena and it was the smallest portion that I had on the Island. usually a plate full, this year it was served in a onion soup crock. very small and disappointing. won't order that again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    213
    91
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We've been going to Tulip for many years and enjoyed it immensely. We had a very disappointing dinner last night. Had to send the Grouper back three times as it was mushy (like it was not cooked but it was) and not fresh. The salmon on the salad was dry at the ends and raw in the middle and not as fresh as I expect. The menu changes were not at all to our liking....no choice of sides now and much higher prices. We we're not offered any compensation at all for our terrible meals and may not go back. Too bad.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RhodeIslandPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Tulip, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience at our restaurant. We have put a lot of effort into our new menu and we do our utmost best to provide our guest the best experience possible. We have addressed this issue immediately to our food and beverage staff to make sure that this will not happen anymore in the future. In regards to your comment about our pricing we have a diverse opinion, as we still provide very reasonable priced items on our new menu. We hope that despite the inconveniences we can still welcome you back one day to leave a good impression comparable to the previous years you have been coming to Tulip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Value on the Island”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I took my family here for dinner over the Christmas holidays. All 5 of us enjoyed our meals. Service was attentive but not intrusive and portions were more than sufficient especially for the prices charged. We also like that there was something for everyone on the menu. Save room for dessert though the apple pie is not like your Mom's it was delicious nonetheless.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bnjaruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable price”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Tulip gave us delicious supper- I had the mixed grill with lamb, filet mignon, chicken and 2 sausages...had to take the chicken back to our condo for lunch the next day! Very lovely service

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanRN1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I wanted a casual meal and since the sign said they are inexpensive we thought we would try Tulip. Have to agree with Pittsburgh that they are very pricey for the level of food they serve. They were very attentive but the meal just was not at the level we hoped.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calgaryconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulip also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing