We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Food at its best”

Palm Beach Refreshment
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Local Food at its best”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Local food served here only and it's filled with locals. I had the fresh fish platter which was grouper and my girlfriend had the grilled chicken platter. Both served with rice, mashed potatoes and salad. Large piece of fish and good sized piece of grilled chicken. 3 bottles of water--$23. You cannot go wrong. Delicious. Perfect lunch spot. We will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Garden State
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OMG!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Local food made here! We were the only tourists here, the food is delish and very reasonable.We will be back. Went for lunch and alot of the food was sold out be sure to get there early in the day for the homemade goodies!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First authentic Aruban meal we've had and it was awesome”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

It has been pretty hard to find anything that is authentically Aruban around here, but when we saw a local chowing down on this food we had to enquire. Palm Beach refreshment is really good and the service was awesome. My friend and I weren't familiar with everything on the menu so they brought a few things to our table to try before we chose a meal. The food was great and the portions are huge. It was nice to finally go to a place where there were more Arubans than Americans. I would recommend the curry chicken with the pancake thingy on the side. We will def be back here if we find ourselves in Aruba again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamar120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed lunch with great service and food. We love the atmosphere. The manager took time to chat with us which was very nice and informative. He shared the evening menu and wine list with us, so we were excited about coming back for dinner on our next trip, in December.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank awayfrommd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent local eatery”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Found them by accident. We were walking in the area and my wife said, pointing at the row of parked worker's trucks: "Must be a good local food here". We went in and weren't disappointed.
Aruba's famous goat stew and fried fish were excellent. Total bill came at $30 (with tips!)
Family atmosphere where everyone knows everyone - people were coming and leaving greeting each other. Nothing like touristy establishments near hotel row.
Will definitely go there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank igost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Beach Refreshment also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Palm Beach Refreshment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing