We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite for locals”
Review of French Steakhouse - CLOSED

French Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Closed for a renovation starting April 25, 2016 - June 17, 2016. The French Steakhouse presents an innovative menu in a trendy and cozy ambiance serving fine South American cuts of beef, local delicacies and international favorites. Patrons can enjoy either indoor dining featuring live piano music as well as outdoor dining on the wooden deck right under the stars. Offering excellent service and an extensive wine list the restaurant has been a popular scene on Eagle Beach for tourists and locals alike.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

I've dined many times at the French Steakhouse. We like the food and the ambience (most nights there is live entertainment i.e. piano player). It's very reasonably priced as well.

I've had the Filet Mignon and the Parmesian Chicken, both were very good. My husband likes the fish dishes.

1  Thank aruba1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 622 of 700 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2008

Please do not try the early bird special here!
It is diabollically bad!

The only thing that is not super bad is the Churrasco steak.

But only eat here if you happen to stay near and don't feel like taking a taxi.

This place does not warrant a special trip to go there.

1  Thank ChrisZegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We decided to eat at the French Steakhouse; it was right next to the Bucuti where we stayed. Because we were not planning on fine dining, we wanted to eat somewhere close by and weren't planning on spending a lot. We were delighted to hear live piano music as soon as we got there; this helped set the mood for the evening. My husband ordered the "catch of the day" ( the grouper) and was pleased with his meal. I ordered the onion soup and bleu cheese salad which was excellent. We shared the apple cobbler for dessert and found it to be average. Overall, we would recommend this place if you are in the vicinity, but it's nothing to go out of your way for.

2  Thank chuggin_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We ate here on the recommendation of a friend whose been coming to the island for many years. We had the ambassador's deal -- appetizer, soup/salad, steak, dessert, tea/coffee -- and it was a tasty and very satisfying meal.

After a nice glass of sangria, we enjoyed the seafood crepe (tasty, if slightly soft) and a big Caesar salad. We ordered three different steaks - Sirloin, tournedos, and filet mignon -- and asked for them medium-well, since we like our beef not-bloody. the sirloin was fine, flavorful, just slightly pink on the inside and tender. but the filet and tournedos were thinner cuts so the extra cooking made them tough. So keep in mind that medium-well is really more like well done with these cuts -- stick to medium. That said, we enjoyed the potatoes and fresh steamed veggies that came with.

For dessert, the apple strudel and chocolate cake were quite nice. Service was good, and the lively piano player lifted the mood.

All in all, a pretty good deal on a solid meal.

2  Thank bronxgrenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We had dinner here in September 2007. We were supposed to eat at Passions, but Hurricane Felix forced us elsewhere.

We really wanted to like this restaurant. We'd read okay reviews, and we weren't expected outstanding. But I didn't even think it was passable for the money.

We both had the Ambassador's special: appetizer, salad/soup, dinner, and dessert for about $40pp after service charge. My fruit cup appetizer was okay, but my husband's shrimp looked awful. Our salads were terrible. Our steaks were okay, though their Churrasco wasn't as good as other places. Dessert was downright awful. The chocolate cake wasn't even mixed properly; you could see the flour and taste chunks of all the ingredients. The apple strudel tasted like frozen ones.

The atmosphere wasn't that great. "Oceanview dining" means sitting by the Manchebo pool. Since no one really swims in it, at least you don't have screaming 5 year olds with your dinner. The service was also pretty poor.

I'd skip this place.

1  Thank MrsKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing