We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of French Steakhouse - CLOSED

French Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Closed for a renovation starting April 25, 2016 - June 17, 2016. The French Steakhouse presents an innovative menu in a trendy and cozy ambiance serving fine South American cuts of beef, local delicacies and international favorites. Patrons can enjoy either indoor dining featuring live piano music as well as outdoor dining on the wooden deck right under the stars. Offering excellent service and an extensive wine list the restaurant has been a popular scene on Eagle Beach for tourists and locals alike.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

One is in heaven here! The service is excellent. The food beyond expectation. Harold took care of this past trip and he and his help made sure nothing was lacking. 3-4 people constantly making sure you have everything. Thanks!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    192
    79
    38
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirtland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Aruba right in our backyard!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

On our 20th visit to our favorite vacation paradise-Aruba-we again visited the French Steakhouse at Manchebo Beach Resort. Our timeshare is right next door at Costa Linda Beach Resort and we usually eat at the French Steakhouse at least once during our December visits. After so many visits to Aruba and so many meals all over the island, from downtown to the high rise area and all in between, we find the best food and ambience right outside our door! The best steak, seafood, and homemade apple strudel (definitely the best strudel) anywhere. And the beef stroganoff, an unusual item on a dinner menu. The best! Great food, service, and atmosphere in Aruba!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirtlandvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caldwell nj
Level Contributor
227 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Just not the same....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have loved this restaurant for about 8 years, and we go there every trip to Aruba, generally twice a year... So in July, I went for my birthday, enjoyed the Ambassador menu with the churasco steak, and thoroughly enjoyed the dining there. Well, I was just there 3 days ago, Nov. 30, and they have changed up the menu, and the restaurant no longer offers the churasco steak which made them famous! An old tradition of the restaurant was that when someone ordered churasco steak, and it was being delivered to the table, the wait staff would ring a bell and yell "oh la la" indicating that it was wonderful. They had done away with the bell ringing a year or so ago, but still offered the steak until now!!! Since they no longer offer it, we'll be searching for other places to enjoy this terrific steak dish. It truly was a wonderful dish, and I can't imagine that it is off the menu! Also noted this last visit, was that some of the wait staff seemed different, so I am wondering if the place is undergoing changes.... Bring back the steak that made you famous!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elitetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Not the best steaks we've eaten in Aruba”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Located in the low rise area as part of Manchebo resort at the back of the Alahambra casino and mall. Fillet steak was slightly tough and T-bone steak quite thin compared to others we've eaten. Service was ok. Good crab cakes to start but calamari not as good as others we've enjoyed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heulwen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Suggest you avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Unfortunately our experience disappointed. Things started well with a good wine and appetizers but by the time the steak dinners were due the wait staff was missing. After chasing someone down the food appeared cold and poorly prepared, it would seem most of the guests are using a voucher and not there by a definitive selection over other choices. You can certainly do better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gvcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing