We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant”
Review of French Steakhouse - CLOSED

French Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Closed for a renovation starting April 25, 2016 - June 17, 2016. The French Steakhouse presents an innovative menu in a trendy and cozy ambiance serving fine South American cuts of beef, local delicacies and international favorites. Patrons can enjoy either indoor dining featuring live piano music as well as outdoor dining on the wooden deck right under the stars. Offering excellent service and an extensive wine list the restaurant has been a popular scene on Eagle Beach for tourists and locals alike.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Ate two days at this restaurant - liked Appetizer: TUNA WITH CITRUS SAUCE; Salad and soup are OK; both catch of the day (wahu) and seafood neptune were so-so. In general this is a decent restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    192
    79
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purchase NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This would be a "good" restaurant on most islands....here in Aruba it is comparably "OK". Service was quite good, but the meal didn't impress.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BobRPurchaseNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The French Steakhouse: Excellent Food! Fantastic Warm & Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just walking into this warm and cozy restaurant allowed us to feel quite comfortable. You are served honest and good quality food Each dish is beautifully presented and served by a charming staff member. We had fabulous appetizers, crispy fresh salads , entres cooked to perfection and desserts that were nothing short of outstanding! A great deal of Ambiance for a perfect enjoyable meal. We are looking forward to eating there again! Thank you, Ellen & Marvin Rose

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“French Steakhouse: Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

While enjoying another wonderful vacation at Manchebo Beach Resort, the entire family dined at the Steakhouse for three of our six nights. We were here 2 years ago and I was very pleased to see our familiar and friendly servers still on the payroll. As always, the steaks, chops, and seafood were cooked to perfection and the service was second to none. My daughter commented that she was pleased that the menu had not changed much due to she was looking forward to enjoying some of her past favorites.

On our last night, Harold, our lead server went well out of his way to make it a very special evening. He and I had discussed earlier that the art of preparing dishes table side was a dying art and at the end of our meal, he suggested that he would like to prepare us Banana Foster at our table side...even though it was not on the menu! Well, Harold exceeded our expectations with the flaming carmalised bananas drenched in liquors and served with a high quality vanilla ice cream! Wow, what a special treat and thank you Harold so much.

The dining room is beautiful and perfectly lighted. Table clothes are clean and crisp with shining silver ware. The servers are very well dressed and so on top of their game. The air conditioning is very welcomed after being on the beach all day long!

All I can say to sum it up was this has been the best dinner experience that I have ever witnessed and the food and service was executed to perfection!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guillowfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well, you can walk to it from a few resorts. Thats a plus. The staff was friendly enough, but honestly this was about as average as you could get......Not bad, but again, not special in any way.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Steakhouse also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing