We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Upscale Seafood Restaurant ”
Review of Aqua Grill

Aqua Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $83
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Aruba's Premier Seafood Restaurant. The world's freshest seafood brought daily to you table and prepared by our award-winning culinary chef.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Upscale Seafood Restaurant ”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Made a last minute restaurant on a Thursday night. An upscale seafood near the high rise area. Great selection of seafood options including many appetizers. The blackened cobia, a local fish, was delicious. Great sauce accompanied the dish that was both sweet and spicy. Good selection of martinis - prices definitely on the high side for Aruba. All in all, a good dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank haras690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    433
    187
    71
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turramurra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is one overrated restaurant”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ate there last night. It was promising to start with as the ambience is upscale.
The food was very disappointing, the fish tasted and smelt odd and most of our party left our main meals uneaten. The food was unimaginative and pedestrian and unfortunately this was our worst meal in 8 days so far in Aruba. The meal was $230 for three people and I have eaten better quality food in a diner.

On top of that the service was indifferent and there were problems with the bill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank An38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had the best seafood at a restaurant that we have ever had. Ordered the Black Grouper and the Red Snapper from the grill menu. Chef cooked them perfectly. Moist! Flakey! The waiter was very attentive but did not hover. He also did not rush us. Highly recommend sitting outside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
309 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Upscale yet Casual in Aruba”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Aqua Grill is one of those places you want to go to at least once while you are in Aruba. It's a classy, upscale restaurant right down the street from the high-rise district. Great fresh seafood naturally. We enjoyed a dinner mid-week, while on vacation, so we were already spoiled and softened by the vacation glaze. Good food, sun and relaxation does that to a person.

The layout and style reminded me of the old Lundy's seafood restaurant in Brooklyn, NY. Although I haven't been there in many years.

My wife had their Seafood Tagliatelle Provencal a pasta and seafood concoction worth it's weight - or the weight you will put on by eating it. Tasted like home made style pasta and very fresh seafood with a light tomato based sauce. Very good - yes, I tasted her food.

I ordered a Blackened Cobia, a special that night - also very good. The sauce they put on the side had a slight sweetness and a pretty good bite - I liked the combination, and appreciated that they didn't soak the fish in it.

Their wine list was pretty good and a wide enough selection so there were good selections in many different price ranges.

The server was very good as well - attentive, professional, listened to us, etc. - overall a very nice dining experience. It was a bit of a step-up in price from the average restaurant, but worth the splurge. GO FOR IT!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corptool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My wife and I both had the swordfish, and it was outstanding. Mashed potatoes were also great, but the portion size was slightly larger then a thimble. We also had key lime pie and brownie sundae and they also were outstanding. Overall our best meal in Aruba.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevedunn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Grill also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Aqua Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing