We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing visit”

Passions on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $46
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: From the sea to your table, the freshest reef cuisine served right at the island's shore. The island's incomparable dining experience on Eagle Beach, one of the world's award-winning beaches.
boston,ma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Passions has a very romantic setting but we had a disappointing meat, partly due to a disinterested waiter. In addition the food was spotty with some being excellent and some being mediocre, which was disappointing given the reputation and price of the restaurant. We would not return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,601
    757
    260
    105
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The beach location simply can't be beat. Book a sunset dinner time, dig your toes in the sand, and enjoy wonderful fresh fish, wine, and live music. We will definitely be back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nbuttercups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still very good, but slipped a little since last year”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our fifth annual trip to this very good restaurant. We have been going to the island for the last 15 years and discovered Passions about five years ago. First, the ambiance is wonderful with your toes in the very, very soft sand and the sunset over the gorgeous Carribbean waters. A wonderful place for couples and the two tops for couples have the prime upfront seating. There are larger tables that are set back from the front row, but still wonderful seating. Our server as very nice and attentive. The food was very good, as we had the same Grouper with a side Banana sauce and it was a good as last year. The one disappointment this year were the desserts. First, the selection is simply not the best in comparison to the wonderful dinner choices. We did decide and unfortunately what we chose was not very fresh tasting and the whipped cream and ice cream were already 75 percent melted. We will return next year and hope that we can review it with five stars like we have in the past.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrangeYellowJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Passions on the Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your honest review and sharing this information. We're sad to hear the desserts disappointed you as these should be the cherry on top. We just made some changes to our dessert menu and it's good to receive feedback. We're glad though that again you did enjoy the rest of your meal and came back for a lovely romantic evening on the beach. We're happy to see you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having a romantic dinner right on the beach, with sand as your flooring and the sunset as your background is fabulous. The environment is incredible and the food is outstanding -- not cheap but very good. I highly recommend anyone visiting Aruba to enjoy at least one dinner here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“recomended”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very good food on the beach, good service, delicious food, good wines. The lobster, shrimps and soups were all very good tasting. Desserts also very tasty.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passions on the Beach also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Passions on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing