We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite for breakfast and lunch”
Review of Salt and Pepper

Salt and Pepper
Reserve with OpenTable
Salt and Pepper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
st louis mo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite for breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Local staff and very friendly. Reasonably priced and wonderful selections...fun to hear Dutch spoken among the staff

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank parkergriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    936
    864
    429
    114
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious tapas and tasty sangria”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We love that you get a free sangria if you bring in a pair of salt & pepper shakers! The menu is tapas and the olive tampenade is outstanding. Ask for extra bread! We love the atmosphere of gazillions of unique salt & pepper shakers adorning the wall and some local fare. On the downside, there's a lot of smoke and the menu is lopsided with very heavy fare. Still worth it!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank julielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cozy Spot”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Good value with friendly staff.Many menu choices...Fun bar as well!!

Helpful?
Thank Tuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Sq, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First nite ritual”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

For the past 5 or 6 years, this is where we go our first night. After a long travel day, I just don't feel like getting dressed and eating a big meal, so this fits the bill as the DH wants something heavier than I do.

I get my usual Onion Soup and Garlic Shrimp tapa, this is just fine for me and love both of them. DH gets a cheeseburger. 1 wine & 1 cocktail $34 before tip. How can you go wrong with this!!???

We went a second time during our vacation and we both had bacon cheeseburgers, their burgers are really good!! 1 wine & 1 cocktail $34 before tip. Again a great bargain!!!
We will continue to go here at least once every vacation, we love it and the setting.

Teanne

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not great, not terrible”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We went for a late breakfast, early lunch around 11am. They had just stopped serving breakfast, but were happy to serve us eggs cooked any style, with hashbrowns which was nice for those of our group craving breakfast still.

The eggs were slightly overcooked. Scrambled had a slight brown color to them, but weren't burnt. Sunny side up had overdone yokes that were nearly solid. The hashbrowns were alright, somewhat like what they serve at Arby's - premade in a perfect triangle shape, but definitely frozen and then heated or fried. The chorizo & egg tortilla off the tapas menu was pretty bland and seemed to have been a day or two old, again reheated. Someone else ordered a BLT sandwich, which wasn't bad as far as BLTs go, but the fries that came with were pretty terrible.

On a side note, regarding fries - we weren't able to find any place with good fries in Aruba, so keep standards low!

The ambiance of Salt & Pepper is cool. Nice little outside patio, huge collection of salt and pepper shakers. Didn't go inside to check out the bar area, but it seemed nice, and the advertised happy hour and drink specials weren't bad at all.

Overall, it was alright. I'd give it another shot, maybe for lunch with a big group so we could order a bunch of different tapas.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt and Pepper also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Salt and Pepper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing