We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruinas del Mar

Ruinas del Mar
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruinas del Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hyatt Regency Aruba
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely dining experience sitting outside by the pond. Felt the food was good but based on our 6 night dining experience, ranked it below Aqua Grill, Madame Janette and Papillon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank spotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    78
    40
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch - unclear what the hype is about”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were disappointed on the whole.
Here's the good = there is an amazing selection of options. Legitimately impressive. If I were ranking that only, we'd be up into 4 territory.

Here's the less good = nothing is truly bad in quality (let's say, 3), but also, nothing is really stand-out, and for the price you'll pay, it should be. To be fair, with such a huge spread, we didn't try everything, but, what we did was broad enough to be representative.

Atmosphere - I think if you get one of the tables with views it's probably quite nice. But most of them don't.

Service - honestly, the greeters were rude, the drink monitors and food monitors inconsistent. The ladies making omelettes were lovely though.

If you've never done a diverse Sunday brunch, perhaps go, definitely likely to be better early or maybe somewhat better late, don't go peak time.

If you've done a diverse Sunday brunch before, better to avoid. There are better options for far less.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Apps but the main course needed help!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The appetizers we amazing but the main dish was over cooked and dry - I ordered the lobster and tortellini and the Lobster had no taste and was hard as a rock. The service was really slow as well we waited 45 minutes between the apps and the main course...i would pass on this rest. next time

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNeh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Resturant at the Hyatt was perfectly prepared and and beautiful setting

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mooresoflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our meal was wonderful, perfectly prepared, and the portions were nice sizes too. I had a unique salad with kalamata-caper vinaigrette, plus a stuffed zucchini appetizer that were both delicious and equally filling. My date got the NY strip sirloin, with spinach infused mashed potatoes and a lovely mushroom sauce that he couldn't even finish. The restaurant is very nice, the waiters certainly attentive and professional, though it is busy and somewhat noisy. Look for the black swans that swim up to your window while you're eating! The July 4th display outside of our window was perfect timing and quite an elaborate firework show!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedkeliRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruinas del Mar also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Ruinas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing