We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Italian Restaurant”
Review of Sole Mare

Sole Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Macomb, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The best the restaurant has to offer for my taste is the Parmigiano Reggianno Pasta. They bring a wheel of it to your table, melt it, and stir the freshly cooked pasta in it..sooo good. If you like seafood then you must also try the Sole Mare pasta (recommended by the waitstaff to me). It contains shrimp, lobster, clams, and calamari...all fresh and delicious.

The restaurant was a little pricier than we felt it deserved, but still very good. Most everyone we know who has visited Aruba claims it as the best Italian restaurant on the island (but that is a title I reserve for Hostaria da Vittorio).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    187
    76
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Decent Italian Cuisine at Inflated Prices”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Quattro Formaggio (a dish of rigatoni with a blend of four cheeses) will set you back approximately $25. I consider the cost a bit steep for pasta, even in the Caribbean. The dish, however, was flavorful and satisfying. Adequate for those die-hard pasta lovers seeking to satiate a pasta craving.

Appetizer of proscuitto and mozzarella was generous, though the tomatoes served with the dish were woefully under ripe. Again, not completely surpised, as fresh produce is imported, but when serving under ripe produce, better to omit from the dish in its entirety.

Go with reasonable expectations, and you should not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arubamasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top 3 italian”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Let's make this simple. When you are in Aruba this is 1 of the top 3 italian restaurants on the island. If you like seafood, have the sole mare special. Comparably priced with all other in the category.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank americana515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Make sure you are hungry”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to Sole Mare as a backup for a restaurant that was closed due to a kitchen problem. We loved it. The service is great. There is a large choice on the menu. One comment is that you need to be prepared for very large portions. The Parmesan wheel is a great piece of table side entertainment, but for me the the large mixed seafood and spaghetti plater was the winner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OMG, the parmesan wheel !”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Love this place for Italian food. They have a cheese wheel in which they cook up the pasta, flamed, and it makes quite a statement when they turn down the lights so people get the full effect of the presentation. Great garlic bread and polenta --complimentary. We love their sangria.

Service excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoLeChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sole Mare also viewed

 

Been to Sole Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing