We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, expensive”
Review of Sole Mare

Sole Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food, expensive”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good italian food located in Palm Beach, about a 5 minute walk from the strip. Prices are very high for what you get and it is actually very insulting. $25 for basic pasta dishes and close to $40 for more elaborate plates. Wine list is mediocre at best and service is painfully slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    182
    70
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Better than before!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have always liked Sole Mare and have special memories of going and watching the kids stare in awe over the flaming pasta they make (but at $46 for 2 people, we skipped it this year). The food is a bit expensive but consistently well-cooked and yummy - the mushroom pasta this year was amazing. Looking forward to next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FL_BabyMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food! Even better service.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A wonderful and delicious meal. Service was efficient, friendly and attentive. One of the best meals we had on the island. Don't miss this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kpknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After reading how great the pasta was here we decided to try it. Honestly
It wasn't very good. I've had worse meals but after eating at so many great restaurants here in Aruba this was kind of a disappointment. The lasagna was really salty and the cheese on it was burnt. The pasta dishes were average. Definitely not a place I would return to. The atmosphere ? There isn't really any. The people that reviewed it as the best Italian food ever ...well that is just sad because I have no idea what they are comparing it too. I would advise you skip this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best pasta in Aruba”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Every time we visit Aruba, Sole Mare is a must!!! They have a pasta dish that is made in a giant wheel of cheese and it is fabulous!!! At least two people have to order it. They serve you enough for three! Expect leftovers! For dessert we had the flan and it was smooth, creamy, and delicious. Their wine by the glass was more economical and they give a good pour. This restaurant is family friendly but also nice for a romantic night out! We look forward to going back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sole Mare also viewed

 

Been to Sole Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing