We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good solid Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sole Mare

Sole Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good solid Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I went for an early dinner. They have an early bird which is worth it if you come off the beach early or the weather is bad. The seafood is good if you eat local and fresh (grouper, etc., but not salmon). The restaurant is a basic red sauce Italian and is no frills. The fresh salads are OK and you can see that the greens are imported. Cost wise, the early bird is a good value, but the regular menu is about average for Aruba. Also, they have a good, inexpensive child's menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    181
    70
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bring your apetite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was told in advance that I must try Sole Mare's sangria, and that's all the encouragement I needed to go there. I wish I had been hungrier, because I couldn't finish either the filet of fish or the side of pasta - but when I return, I will definitely order their special pasta for 2. Prepared at the table, they bring out an enormous wheel of cheese, flambe something on top of it, toss a large portion of pasta on top, and mix and scrape all the yummy bits off of the cheese. They then roll it out into pasta nests and place on two plates - my neighbors had it, and it smelled divine.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nbuttercups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had the scampi sole mare & it was very good (huge shrimp (6)). wine prices are high. service was good & they did not add sc to bill. we went on 2/21/13 thurs and they were busy. have been there prev on sat & not so crowded.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best Italian food in Aruba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Best Italian food in Aruba. Great service, they are always there to clean up your plates and refill your drinks-never have to ask. Also very friendly. Make sure to make a reservation as they are very busy and ask for the special (it is a three-course meal) because they don't advertise it on their menu!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahunt084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Luisa was our server we had no reservation am restaurant full but were still seated immediately. Luisa by far was the best server I have ever had on the island. Never waited for a drink refill and new drinks were at table before we finished our others...food was on time and she was very attentive. Only thing negative was seeing the manager smoking cigarettes out in front of restaurant....very unprofessional!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gfayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sole Mare also viewed

 

Been to Sole Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing