We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you ride a mountain bike, you should come here”
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks Cadair Idris - just one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
144 reviews
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Cadair Idris - just one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
MudTrek accommodation
Transportation to and from your guided rides at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Groups welcome at at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Amazing riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Doethie Valley - just one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Ride from the door! - one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Bring your own bike or hire from our fleet at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great guiding from the door at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Beautiful views from the accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Incredible riding options at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic food at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic food at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic food at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Good times at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks!
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Good times at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks!
Chalet girl service at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic off piste guided rides at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 144 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Neil J
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“If you ride a mountain bike, you should come here”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Having visited late last year with a smaller group I organised a larger group. The concept and the hosting is simply superb. The food, accommodation and welcome is pretty much perfect if you are looking for a weekend to ride a bike and chill out. The location is lovely, it's out of the way and very peaceful so ideal for a bit of a recharge. There is no food or anything else to sort out, just enjoy the welcome, the facilities and the riding.

Brechfa Forest itself is a bit of an undiscovered gem for most mountain bikers and there is riding to suit pretty much all levels. The guiding is also excellent and this year we primarily explored off piste and we simply would not have found the trails we rode without a guide.

We visited Bike Park Wales on the way home, which is also worth a visit if you are making the journey down though we were pretty tired by the Monday.

8 very happy blokes by the end of the weekend, and we are pretty certain to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2016
OMG! - 3 x 5 star reviews from your group! You've spoilt us guys. Really hope to see you next year for trip no.3 :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
1 review
“First but not Last”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Old Bike Shed does not disappoint it is quite simply adorable, set out with everything you might need for a self catering getaway or the highly recommended fully catered service. Mr & Mrs M offer a great individualised service, we chose our meals from the hearty menu offered and could select a guided ride of our choice during our stay, only thing is there's so many to choose from we'll have to return to play some more!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Brilliant! Delighted we lived up to your expectations Suzy & Bill. We'd love to have you back and hope to see you soon. Thanks for this kind review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen H
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3rd time and already looking forward to a 4th time”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was my third Mudtrek stay and it doesn't get old it only gets better. Mr and Mrs Mud were again ever so welcoming and hospitable makes us feel right at home. The barn was ever so comfy and the food from Nikki (Mrs Mud) was oooh so delicious! In May all the verges are in bloom which makes it even more beautiful when traveling trough Wales. The riding with Jay aka Mr Mud was awesome, we had 3 big days out on the mountainbike and a short film to prove it ; ) can tick another 3 rides from my wish list. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
And we can't wait to have you back Jeroen & Leonoor - all the way from Holland - for trip no.4! Thank you for this lovely review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Well this was my second visit and I can't believe how good this place is. Both Jay and Nikki go out of their way to look after you and make you feel at home and Nikki's cooking is just amazing . The weather didn't want to play ball for our guided ride but once Jay got us out on the bikes we had a great ride and the rain could even have made it better. Apologies to Jay as dangerous Dave did his best to kill him taking 3 of us out at about 40 mph but luckily failed so we can go back and do it all over again. Thanks guys can't wait to go again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Yay! So glad the rain didn't spoil play. Mrs Mud is made up that you enjoyed the grub. Mr Mud is out guiding today so he can't be too damaged. Great group. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“5th year of superb hospitality, and my mates were good as well!”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Twelve guys in three cottages all sitting down to hot grub after some serious mountain bike trails in a gorgeous part of wales! Fantastic food, accommodation, location.
The owners Nikki and Jay are great hosts and the extra staff Richard and Teresa make you feel like one of the family.
Brechfa Trail center which is not far is fast rolling with some nice technical bits to get the adrenaline pumping and enough to put a big smile on your face!!!!!!
As did the whole weekend! started training for next year already.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: smiling alot
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Absolutely can't wait for 2017 already - Mr Mud had better get training too! Thanks for your fab review Mark - we couldn't wish for a better group :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon070
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Older Men Having Fun !!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our forth year & the best Yet. A group of 12 fit old men putting Mr & Mrs Mudtrek through their paces. Great banter all day & night. A few of the younger ones( 42 & 52 !) brought the rock music for the breakfast entertainment to get us in mood for forest runs -- great single tracks!!
Great Grub & good value-- booked for next year !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mr & Mrs Mudtrek !!!
Liked least: The Hills
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Thank you Gordon - it was your 5th year actually! Even better that you keep coming back. We love having you all here - long may it continue. Until next year... ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheikhnva...
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Six blokes, many hills, one epic weekend”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We are group of six forty-somethings who enjoy a spot of mountain biking. One of our group had been to Mud Trek before and came highly recommended. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome and met by the affable Jay, who showed us to our well-appointed cottage. Nikki brought us over a delicious meal of lasagne and bread & butter pudding, and then encouraged us to relax while she cleared up. After a good night’s sleep, a full cooked breakfast and some top class man-faffing, we were on our way guided by Jay. After 7 hours, 47km and 1400m (up) of thrills and spills around the beautiful Welsh countryside we ended up at the pub to regale stories of our adventure. Tam then kindly drove us back to cottage, where we once again dined like kings, before heading to Jay’s man-cave to watch a superbly edited video of the day’s biking. Too tired to even watch the end of Match of the Day, we finally crawled into bed to sleep like babies. Jay and Nikki have nailed it in terms of the right balance of professionalism and easy-going – to make for a very enjoyable yet exhilarating weekend. We will definitely return.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
Ahhhhh that is a fab review! Thanks a million. Can't WAIT to have you back - a fantastic group to have stay with us here on MudTrek Mountain :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing