We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ty Mawr Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Brechfa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A true gem of a hotel in a great location. Warm welcome, accomodating and friendly proprietors, lovely rooms and stunning locally sourced food. The overall feeling was of care and attention to detail with nothing being too much trouble. What more could anyone ask for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We are a group of old friends who meet every year to walk in different parts bof the country.Ty mawr was perfect, warm welcome, Hot drinks on arrival back from walks, excellent food served by charming & attentive young ladies. Rooms spacious & comfortable, The surrounding countryside is breathtaking, & if unlucky with the weather places of interest nearby.

Room Tip: All are spacious, ours was room 4 & no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this lovely part of the world,then Ty Mawr fits the bill perfectly. Friendly welcoming hosts. Spacious comfortable rooms,nice lounge,pretty garden,and excellent food. Close to great walking country and National Trust properties.
Go there,you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwentdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our third visit to this delightful hotel & we were as pleased as ever - and we take some pleasing! After too many mediocre hotels, it is good to discover one that is totally satisfying -
Looking forward to our next visit. We would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2-often-disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Big House sits in a very nice village within minutes of some fabulous country walks. Public rooms are quaint and comfortable. The very attractive hostess, Annabel, is friendly, helpful and attentive. Portia the dog is a sweetie.

The bedroom was large, well furnished but rather gloomy. The bathroom was more than adequate. The single twin beds were standard hotel size which means you could easily fall out if you you have a bad dream. I understand the pressures of space in hotels but I wish they could get single beds which were at least a few more inches wider.

Breakfasts were hearty and tasty and the coffee was good. Mixed somoked fish plate, stuffed portobello mushrooms, gravadlax were all very good starters. Main courses of braised lamb with mung beans (a bit dry) and lambs liver with onion gravy (a tad overcooked) were less successful though still quite satisfying . It was our impression that the chef and co-proprietor is trying too hard to be like the TV celebrities, instead of allowing excellent ingredients to speak for themselves. Alas, this is an all too frequent phenomenon these days.

For a shared twin room for two nights, two breakfasts and two dinmners plus two bottle of wine, we paid around $600. Goodish value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Every time I go back to Ty Mawr, the experience is better than before. Maybe it's the care which goes into the room decor; maybe it's the amazing food, which was always excellent but seems to surpass my expectations; maybe it's the great service and friendly welcome. Whatever it is, this hotel is special and even in the dismal summer of 2012, I arrived fraught and left serene. I would certainly echo all the sentiments in other reviews and especially the one which said: 'If it isn't on your route, make a detour'!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank JanjoNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Can only reiterate all that has been said by previous reviewers. The service was exemplary, food excellent and probably the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in.
Lovely unspoilt area of Carmarthenshire. Great for walking and cycling.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brechfa
0.0 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Country Hotel

Address: Brechfa | Near Carmarthen, Brechfa SA32 7RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Brechfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brechfa
Price Range: $131 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Mawr Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th-century converted farmhouse with many original features remaining including wooden beams, thick stone walls, wood burning stove, tiled floors. Good food using seasonal produce from the local area to provide a daily-changing menu. Very conveniently located for visiting the many attractions the area has to offer including Aberglasney and the National Botanic Gardens plus Dinefwr Park, Dylan Thomas' Boathouse, Carreg Cennan Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ty Mawr Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing