We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect weekend away for both two legged & four...”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
236 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 236 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura S
Shepshed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect weekend away for both two legged & four legged family members!”
Reviewed January 25, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a fab find this place was! After stumbling upon Brechfa Forest Barns while browsing Facebook I was immediately entranced by their wonderful cottages set out in the stunning south Welsh countryside and most importantly Nikki and Jason's clear love for animals (woofies especially!) ... The first excuse I could make for a stay (other half's birthday) and I was booking our weekend away!

When we arrived both the location and welcome we received did not disappoint! The cottages are set in such a beautiful area of Wales and we viewed our first Welsh sunset from our private patio area, it was simply stunning.

Nikki and Jason have put a huge amount of thought into the set up of the cottages, each is very private with a dog friendly garden area for those all important doggie toilet breaks and the interior of The Old Bike Shed was both quaint and charming. It felt calm and cozy and was the perfect size for our little family.

A big positive I must mention about Brechfa Forest Barns is the information guide... I have never seen one so informative and thorough, it allowed us to head straight for all of the best dog friendly beaches, woods and pubs which meant we really got to see the best the area had to offer!

To put the icing on the cake for our first night at the cottage I ordered a home cooked three course meal and it was completely delicious, the ingredients were fresh and of premium quality and all three courses were mouthwatering and tasty. Obviously a lot of thought and care has gone into the menu planning and food preparation!

My advice for anyone who is reading this is book now and see what you are missing! You will not regret it! :)

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2017
Right. You just made me cry! Do you know Laura, reviews like this make all the hard work 110% worthwhile. A million thanks for taking the time and trouble to write this - it's made my day and is hugely informative for anyone reading it. Thanks too for your email - recipes on their way. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithshar...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Beautiful cottages with stunning views,we booked the bbq Hut for our anniversary and it was fantastic,very cosy and beautifully decorated inside with lovely food. Will definitely be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2017
Hoorah! Another lovely review. Really pleased you enjoyed everything Sharon, particularly the BBQ Hut which is proving to be a big hit with out guests. Can't wait to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydroMac
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect dog friendly retreat”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The perfect getaway whether you just want to relax or explore the countryside. Either way, you are surrounded by stunning scenery and there is plenty to do and see all within a 45 minute drive in any direction. These cottages are decorated and arranged to a really high standard and have that lovely cosy home from home feel.
Nikki's cooking is delicious and to a high standard and if you want the ultimate ending to your break i highly recommend you hire the BBQ hut out, that really made our very short visit and a lovely way to spend our last night there. Everything we wanted was catered for and a lot of thought and time has been put into the brochure that mentions places of interest and all the dog friendly places to visit so you can maximise your stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2017
Thanks a million for this super review Katrina! Particularly thrilled our new BBQ Hut gets a mention. Hope to see you all soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey63...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing few days”
Reviewed December 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a wonderful find - Just returned from a 4 day break with a friend and our two beagles who are now exhausted. Bay tree barn is one of the best accommodations I have stopped in, perfectly equipped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday with your pooch. Nikki's cooking is also a definite must. Fully enclosed garden so busy beagles can come in and out without worrying of escape. Great forest walks just up the road and fab beaches within a 40 minute drive away and well worth it. The barn is fully equipped with everything you need to self cater and chill out with the added bonus of a scrumptious menu on offer from Nikki the owner if you don't want to cook, comfy beds which gave me a great nights sleep. Loved everything about this place and look forward to returning. A big bonus was the weather no waterproofs were required.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm cosy feeling of the barn
Liked least: That I had to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2016
Yay! Thank you for the lovely review Tracey. It's always a bonus when the weather is kind to our guests, especially in December! Delighted you loved your stay with the Beags. Hope to see you back here soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabahbear
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Book your break now!”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have just returned after a lovely 4 day break in the Old Bike Shed. We had our GSD with us. The accommodation is very airy, and full of light, even though it is lovely and cosy. Amazing walks at the end of the drive, or further afield if you wish, mainly well signposted. The beaches are about 30 mins away, but oh so worth going. We ate at the Daffodil, a super dog friendly pub, with amazing food. That is not to say that Nikki's food is not- it is fabulous!

We were lucky with the weather, bright sunny days, but very cold. A really lovely break away from the hustle and bustle. Very strongly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2016
That's very kind Marilyn. We're always pleased when the weather is kind to our guests as it's the one thing we have no control over! Here's hoping to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minimin
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday for you and your dog”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have just returned from an amazing weekend here with our dog. The location was stunning - a stones throw away from Brechfa forest and the mountain, with miles of lovely walks. We also popped over to the beach which was fab.
We stayed in the Old bike Shed which is the smallest of the 3 rentals, but with ingenious use of space, this tiny property felt spacious. It was fully equipped with everything you could need (we even cooked a roast with no problems).
We treated ourselves to a meal cooked by Nikki for our anniversary, and it was gorgeous!
The one and only small niggle I had was not realising the bedroom clock didn't work - it reads 12:30, which upon waking the first morning I thought said 6am and it wasn't until I was up and dressed I realised it was 4:15am....oops. But it did mean I was up in time to watch the sunrise which was amazing!
We will definitely be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Oops indeed! So sorry about the clock. We removed the battery when a previous guest said the ticking kept her awake! I didn't want to take the clock down as it looks so lovely. Eek! I'm glad the sunrise (and everything else) was worth it!! Thanks so much for this lovely review - it means a great deal to us to hear how much our guests enjoy their stay and are so helpful to those reading them and considering a visit. Happy Anniversary :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will be back... truly stunning”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

To all doggy families this is a must for your holidays. Ellie,teagan,grace and Darcie (our 4 legged gang) had an amazing time. We were Greeted like friends by Nikki and Jason , the hay barn is extremely well equipped and scrumptiously cosy. Walking is stunning in the forest... take a good map though footpath signs are a little few and far between!!! beaches are breath taking and from Sept to may many are completely dog friendly with no restrictions. I can not recommend this highly enough it is a beautiful place to completely switch off and relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2016
Please bring those 4 gorgeous labradors back again! Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave this review Amy. Hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing