We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cannot wait to return! Perfect dog friendly...”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
221 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 221 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nikki_bar...
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to return! Perfect dog friendly holiday.”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a dog friendly holiday destination look no further, there's literally nothing negative about our time here that I can tell you-just that we did not have enough of it! We went from Monday to Friday and we came away wanting to move there. If you are reading this review and you want the quick version-Nikki and Jay are amazing hosts (and such lovely people generally), they will make your stay superb from the moment you book it, the accommodation is gorgeous and comfortable - we stayed in Bay Tree Barn but looking to book any of the barns/bike shed on return later this year! The views are breath taking and so many lovely walks. Nikki's food is scrummy. Loads of pubs and lovely towns!!! Book it!!!!!!! More detailed review below if you can be bothered to read with tips and places we recommend to go.

We asked Nikki for a meal the evening we arrived and one other evening too. We also had some of her breakfasts and she had made us a delicious lemon cake for our arrival. I really recommend having her food, she is a fantastic cook! Her lasagne is something else, best lasagne I've had. Also, it was so nice not cooking the night we arrived. Seriously such a wonderful start to our holiday.

There are shops not too far away and Tescos will deliver but we didn't want to spend our holiday time food shopping so we brought our weeks shop with us in cool bags in the car. If you have room I would recommend this. But the shops (and everything else you could need) are all listed in Nikki and Jays (extremely detailed) information booklets of the areas. They're so helpful and great for planning where to go and what to do!

There are loads of dog friendly pubs about but my husband and I didn't really go to these. We found some beautiful walks. The areas surrounding the Barns are free to walk around and if your dogs are fine with sheep it's good round there. Our Macy, 7 months old, had not been around that many sheep before so barked a few times but Jay said the local farmer is incredibly understanding and within a minute was fine. Bechfa forest is a good walk too and only a short way up the road but our absolute favourite was a day at Pembrey Country Park.

Pembrey is a 30-40 minute drive away but so worth it. The beach is stunning and there are woods to walk in too, archery, Segway, mini golf...so much to do. Just a lovely place and a lovely feel. So many dogs. If your dog loves to interact with others, as ours does, this is the perfect place!!! We went again on our way home.

The accommodation is perfect. So comfortable. The kitchen has everything you need in it. The living area is so comfy and it's the perfect end to a day of walking snuggled up round the log burner on the comfy sofas watching the flames flicker ( if you're me) or something on the tv (like sport or a comedy if you're my husband).

The gardens attached to the barns are great and secure for the dogs to run around freely in and the cars are parked right outside. It is so well designed. Like I said, we cannot wait to go back. My husband and I have never been back to the same place, we are already looking at getting two more trips to Brechfa Forest Barns in before this year is out and thinking about next year. We are so pleased we found it.

I hope this is helpful to anyone who has read it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2015
WOW! Just wow... What an incredibly helpful review for those reading and how very flattering for us here that all was perfect for you. Nothing, absolutely nothing, makes us more pleased when our guests go home with a big grin on their faces and promised to rebook. You are, of course, very very welcome and we hope to see you soon. Thanks again for taking the time to write this :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlykay
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

the besy dog friendly holiday weve taken. Good value lovely location. Nikki was understanding that our rottie is quite nervous around new people. Very helpful wheb we arrived alot later than expected due to car breaking down and helped settle the other member of our party until we arrived. We never go to thr same place twice but looking forward to booking here again just hopefully minus the broken down car

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2015
Brilliant. Thank you Charly. Yes, let's hope your wheels are more reliable next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally O
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing,Cosy break and super dog friendly.”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Really great location with lots of lovely walks on your doorstep or a short car journey away.
So many things to do in the local area. We stayed in the Old Bike Shed and found it very warm and cosy, everything you could need was there. We chose to eat in every night with Nikki's home cooked meals which were delicious and delivered to your door. Nikki and Jason
were lovely hosts really friendly and welcoming.The only slight niggle I had was there was no outside light to the enclosed garden which made it difficult to see my pup at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed and dog friendly
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2015
A million thanks for this lovely, lovely review. Point taken about the outside light - I will go out this very day in search of some good solar lighting which should do the job. Thanks for pointing that out. Really hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trip-AB12...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bike shed.”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Me and my partner stayed in the bike shed over Easter and it was great. A cute and cosy place, with gorgeous views. The place had everything you could need (shower room, heater, TV, cooker, microwave, fridge)

The hosts, Nikki made a great fry up and lasagne, and Jason was great for all things MB related. I rented one of their bikes for the weekend - suggest you do the same! Very friendly hosts.

The MB trails were nearby too. 10 minutes down the road were the blue/ green and black trails (raven), and slightly further along the road was the red trail (Gorlech - recommend this one).

Only downside was the wifi wasn't working whilst we were there (not that I had time to browse the web), but that could have been annoying if it was needed for work etc.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2015
Thanks Amie - really pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Old Bike Shed plus the food and mountain biking! Gorgeous weather you had too! We're sorry the internet was down when you were here. We do offer free wifi to guests but are at the mercy of BT if there is a fault which, if there is, we report immediately. Sadly, being 8km from the nearest exchange the wifi will never be fast here and future guests reading this should be aware that, whilst it is usually fine for emails, general internet and social media access, it is not suitable for streaming etc. Our local pubs have wifi though so, in the case of emergencies, it's a great excuse to go and grab a pint ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephMacc
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rustic Accommodation with great views - just what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent Easter in The Haybarn - 3 adults, 2 teens, a 9 year old and 2 beagles! The Haybarn was rustic and full of charm if getting a little shabby but with it being so popular time to titivate is probably at a premium :) The views were great, the garden is secure if you don't have a 'jumper' but we solved that by coupling our two together whilst in the garden and that worked for us.

We were greeted on arrival by Nikki who went through all the details of the barn and was available at the end of the phone if we'd needed her (fortunately we didn't) Comprehensive guides were available to show us walks (we visited beach on Saturday and forest on Sunday) nearby pubs (a must on this type of holiday) as well as lots of other local information.

For the kids TV was available and WiFi so they could connect with their friends and a hamper full of games to appeal to all ages. The kitchen was well equipped and Nikki gave us the loan of her slow cooker so I didn't need to take mine meaning all fussy eaters could be catered for - if we were to go without kids we would have had Nikki's food I'm sure.

This was the perfect break for us - no time off since Christmas - in a perfect location and the kids had 2 pollution free days of fresh air (and bonus sunshine) which is worth a lot in this modern day and age.

We will definitely be returning :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peace and quiet (no noisy traffic)
Liked least: The grill ... it took an hour to make bacon and sausage sandwiches for everyone as it didn't heat up very well.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2015
So pleased your family and gorgeous Beagles enjoyed your stay. You certainly had the weather! I'm sad to hear you found The Hay Barn was getting a little shabby. It is, as you say, rustic and we don't shy away from that fact. We do try very hard to keep on top of things and replace fixtures and fittings when time and money permit but, being very busy, it is time that is more of an issue! We aren't graded by Visit Wales (by choice) but believe we are 3-4 star equivalent. I point this out mainly for others reading our 5 star reviews in case they think that means we offer 5 star accommodation. We are always thrilled when guests say they would like to return and look forward to seeing you again should you decide to do so. Give those lovely Beags a hug from us :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey K
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal Dog Friendly accommodation”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay in the Hay Barn at Brechfa Forest Barns. Our four dogs absolutely loved all walks which you are spoilt for choice over.
We had Nikki's lasagne and apple crumble on arrival, and really enjoyed both, especially after a long journey and not wanting to cook ourselves.
The cottage was well equipped and had everything we needed. Lovely to find somewhere we could actually take four dogs, as we have struggled to find other places, which often limit numbers. I would recommend this accommodation to other friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location and views from the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2015
And what beautiful dogs they are! Thanks so much for the great review and your kind words regarding the cottage, walks and my catering. We very much hope you'll return soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelynnah
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab Break”
Reviewed March 12, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Thanks so much Nikki and James. We travelled with both sets of our parents and rented both barns. We requested the barns be open so we could all share. Nikki had it laid out so that one side was all the kitchen dining, and the other had most of the lounge furniture, so that, too made a huge difference. We had our 5 whippets with us, and it was great to find a property that would accept that number of dogs.

Lots to do in the area - almost too much! A very thorough welcome pack describes everything in detail. And if you are staying any length of time the local Tesco delivers!

We all had great nights' sleep on the comfortable beds.

Thanks for a wonderful break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything.
Liked least: Unfortunately the private road in was quite rough with potholes.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2015
It was a pleasure Wendy. Thank for choosing us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing