We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasurable dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #3 of 4 Llangadog B&B and Inns
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasurable dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We had been staying in Babel in a self catering cottage doing our own cooking.
As a group of eight friends we chose to eat out for Sunday lunch as a treat and it was certainly that.
A warm welcome,good food served by pleasant staff ,nothing was too much trouble.
Would definately recommend and dine there again.
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill14251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

All in all very different to the usual chain hotels i normally use for business trips. From the moment i phoned to book until the time i left the hotel i was made to feel welcome and treated as an individual as opposed to just another customer. The home cooked food and breakfast were of the highest order and i would recommend the lasagne to absolutely everyone. The bedroom was comfortable with some novel touches such as the free wine. The hostess Sara was charming and nothing was too much trouble, I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed here after a recommendation from a man that mended our car in North Wales! It was therefore a bit of punt to book in but we were not disappointed. We were the only people staying. Food was very good and the beer was even better - they are in the Good Beer guide! Staff were very friendly and chatted away to us whenever they passed by. Only criticism was that as we were the only people staying the service was a little too quick and at breakfast the cooked part arrived while we were still eating cereal a minute or 2 later. The room also overlooked the main road which can get quite busy with morning traffic. Overall a good place to stay and would happily visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1QualityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindySkone, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments.
Cindy Skone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed in the Red Lion for two nights prior to our daughters wedding & could not have been more comfortable or well looked after. Kevin & his lovely wife Cindy make wonderful hosts and although unobtrusive, are always on hand to offer advice or make sure everyone is being looked after. We had dinner on both evenings & all dishes were exceptional. Rooms were very comfortable with great showers and everywhere was spotless. We would highly recommend the Red Lion to anyone & if you are fortunate to have the lovely Sara on duty, then your stay will be memorable.
A huge thank you to Kevin, Cindy & Sara for making what should have been a fraught few days of wedding planning, into a memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariem60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We came across The Red Lion by accident but what a pleasurable one. We only ate here but the staff where friendly/efficient which personalities too, the food was first rate plenty of choice & well priced in comfortable lush surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hacketlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

This was really our lucky weekend - we had booked a B&B outside Llandovery but the landlady cancelled our booking with just a day to go............................ so on to the net and we struck it lucky with Lletty Cottage at Yew Tree Farm in Llansadwrn (www.llettycottage.co.uk) an absolutely beautiful small cottage and the friendliest owners you could meet with all the nicest touches including a bottle of wine as a welcome gift!) We wanted to have a nice meal on Saturday night not too far from Lletty Cottage and Marianne and Jim recommended the Red Lion in Llangadog. Their recommendation was spot on. We got a lovely table beside the fireplace straight away and the food was so tasty - each course had something a little bit different. The starter we shared was the Pate but with walnut bread and red onion marmalade - the walnut bread really made the difference. Then I had the Mushroom and Brie Wellington which would turn you into a vegetarian even if you weren't one - it was gorgeous. For dessert we put the diet on hold and had the Sticky Toffee pudding - it was served warm and was delicious. Staff and Management were so friendly and didnt even mind that we (Irish) had beaten them (Welsh) at the Rugby earlier in the day!. Definitely would recommend it - we ate in the Kings Head Inn in Llandovery the following evening and they had the Wellington on the menu there - having never heard of it before I was wondering if it was a local dish but Jim and Marianne at Lletty Cottage were able to tell us that the Inn is owned by the same person so it was no surprise that the food there was lovely as well. Definitely, a most enjoyable weekend in a lovely part of the world and some really lovely people.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

Room & stay:
Stayed here for B&B. We had a lovely comfortable room, nice flat screen tv, but no iron or hairdryer. Also the packet of 3 custard creams gave it a slightly cheap "not quite there yet" feel.

The rooms overlook the high street in Llangadog, and unfortunately the traffic noise is pretty awful from very early on in the morning (from about 5.00am), which is a killer if you are a light sleeper like me. The double bed however was great and very comfortable.

Food:
The starter (pate) and mains (steak & chips) in the restaurant were good quality, but way too expensive for what it was. £18 for the steak!!

The puddings we had were average. Sticky toffee pudding was ok but the berry cheesecake was a really horrible texture.

The service in the evening was friendly, but on the wrong side of laid back, to the point of nonchalant disorganisation. We had pre-booked for 7pm but when we got there, we were told that we couldn't sit in the restaurant as there were only two of us and they only had group tables! We sat in the bar in the end, which wasn't a problem, but we did think "what's the point of booking?"

Starters came without cutlery, and 20 mins after ordering our puddings, the waitress came and said "sorry for the delay, but your desserts are being made now" but without telling us why!

Breakfast in the morning was a brilliant redemption- fabulous cooked breakfast with delicious sausages and thick cut bacon, and great attentive service. Much better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wngstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangadog
6.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
6.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Goose & Cuckoo
The Goose & Cuckoo
#1 of 4 in Llangadog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
5.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Level Crossing
The Level Crossing
#1 of 5 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Church Street, Llangadog, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llangadog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llangadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Llangadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing