We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocore” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dutch Pancake House

The Dutch Pancake House
Ranked #11 of 220 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In May 2003, The Dutch Pancakehouse opened its doors at the beautiful Renaissance Marketplace,downtown Oranjestad. This family friendly restaurant is ideal for breakfast, lunch and dinner with your whole family. The Dutch Pancakehouse offers a wide selection of Dutch pancakes, poffertjes, eggs and other delicious menu items such as special dinner pancakes, schnitzels, and desserts. Their authentic Dutch pancakes are all handmade and baked with only the best fresh ingredients available on the island. They proudly received Aruba's first 'Best Breakfast in Aruba' award. The Dutch Pancakehouse crew is looking forward to welcome you and your family in their recently renovated restaurant for a wonderful and unique dining experience.
Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mediocore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just know when they say silver dollar pancakes they really do mean the size of a silver dollar. They're tiny!! Which is fine, just so you know that. Food was good, we had breakfast. Thought it was a little high for the quantity of food you got, but wasnt so high that we didnt order =)
Wouldnt make the trip to Oranjestad just to go there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jillianrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    400
    126
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We thought we were back in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

After experiencing Dutch pancakes in Amsterdam last summer, my wife and I could not wait to try The Dutch Pancake House. Needless to say, we were more than satisfied with our experience! As a matter of fact, during a four day visit to Aruba we went there three times. Not only were the pancakes scrumptious, but the Poffertjes were to die for (especially when dipped in melted chocolate). My wife had an apple and banana pancake (awesome) and a ham and cheese pancake (tremendous), while my personal favorite was the Egyptian pancake with a delectable dipping sauce.

As for cost...You will leave The Pancake House with a full stomach and money to spend elsewhere. Very reasonable prices for a great meal.

Service was excellent, too! On the second visit, our server left an entire pitcher of water at our table for me after remembering how much I drank the previous day. A nice little touch considering how many people they serve on a daily basis - nice to see she remembered us.

I dude this is any visit to Aruba...you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The place for dutch pancakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you want to eat dutch pancakes you have to go to this place. Ginger pancakes are my favourites.
You can have your own favourite one freshly made.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace_Aruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
246 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“We eat breakfast here every year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

on the last day of our trip. My husband loves the Poffertjes (which are little round pancake balls in powdered sugar), and they have great coffee..I had a fried egg on toast. It's in the downtown area and has nice outdoor seating to watch people wandering by. Not expensive.. coffee/juice/egg on toast/poffertjes total of $16.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gkealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our first attempt @ Dutch Pancakes and the results were worth it. We will definitely hit it again when we are back in Aruba. It was Delish!!! D.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DYoung0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dutch Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to The Dutch Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing